Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   McCaughey Cops Second Of Season At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 10, 2001 01:21 AM UIN: 16262997
McCaughey Cops Second Of Season At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (June 9) - Darren McCaughey of Oldwick, NJ, danced to his
second career win in the Modified main event during **** Greenfield Dodge's
Saturday Night Fever tribute to the '70s at New Egypt Speedway on Saturday

"When the sun was shining this morning, I knew it would be good. We just
love this slick stuff," McCaughey commented on the track and his new Teo Pro
car. The second win proved "it was no fluke the first time," the winner

In the 30-lap Modified feature, McCaughey took full advantage of his front
row starting spot to power into the lead by lap 3 and then cruise on home
uncontested. Behind him, the big guns had their fits with the surface and
each other. Current points leader Billy Pauch spun out of a top 10 spot on
lap 9 and never recovered, while feature winners Frank Cozze, Kenny
Brightbill, Keith Hoffman and Brian Weaver couldn't seem to find a fast
line. At the finish, it was McCaughey by a half-straightaway over Tim Tanner
Jr., newcomer this season Sam Martz, division rookie Ron John Koczon and
Hoffman, who took over the points lead.

In a long-winded Sportsman feature that was cut short at the 30-minute time
limit, Brian Godown of Frenchtown, NJ, also scored his second of the season
in a hot-and-heavy event that featured some great side-by-side action. What
looked to be another Godown Showdown between brothers Brian and Ryan came to
an end when Ryan hit the inside berm on lap 15 and spun in turn 4. Brian
held off a strong challenge by division points leader Matt Papiez for the
win. Jack Swain, Dave Hoffman and Doug Liedl completed the top five.

It was a wire to wire win in the Street Stock race for Al Cheney III of
Cranbury, NJ. Cheney held off a tough Rich Page II who finished second, with
Bill Gerber third, Ralph Gargiulo fourth and George Quinlan fifth.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by McCaughey (Mods, 18.614), Jeff Geiges (Sportsman, 19.604)
and Page (Street Stock, 21.386).

The Garden State Vintage Stock Cars were on display and in action on this
night of nostalgia. Of the 25 old-time cars in attendance, the restored #47
Gremlin driven by the late Mike Grbac was voted "Fan Fave" by the crowd. The
Grbac and Dooley families accepted the trophy, which was donated by
concessionaire Earl Megill.

Jake's Cree-mee Freeze of Millstone awarded trophies to all feature winners,
and $500 in bonuses to the third and seventh place drivers in the Sportsman
ranks. Swain and Mike Lyons split the bonus pot.

Next week, it's Dad's Appreciation Night at New Egypt Speedway, with great
Father's Day giveaways courtesy of Cream Ridge Golf Club. Big-block
Modifieds, Sportsman and Street Stocks will all be in action, and there'll
be a putting contest for the drivers on this golf-themed evening of fun.
Racing starts at 6:30 p.m., with gates opening at 4 p.m. Adult admission is
$13, children 7-12 are $4, and kids 6 and under are free. For more
information, call the track at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Pauch 2.VanGorder 3.Carberry 4.Bitner 5.Cozze 6.Grosso Jr.
2nd Heat: 1.McCaughey 2.Koczon 3.Dmuchowski 4.Brightbill 5.Drayton 6.Butler
3rd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Martz 3.Weaver 4.R. Infante 5.Bohn 6.Hoffman
B Main: 1.Hager 2.Moss 3.Worthington 4.Hendershot 5.Radd 6.R. Godown (Fan
Prov: Archer)
Feature (30 laps):
1.Darren McCaughey 2.Tim Tanner Jr. 3.Sam Martz 4.Ron Jon Koczon 5.Keith
Hoffman 6.Eddie Bohn 7.Kenny Brightbill 8.Rocco Infante 9.Brian Weaver
10.Rick Grosso Jr. 11.Billy Pauch 12.Frank Cozze 13.Steve Moss 14.Gary
Butler 15.Tom Carberry 16.Ryan Godown 17.Bob Drayton 18.Bob Worthington
19.Mark Bitner 20.Fred Dmuchowski 21.Donnie Radd 22.Mike Hendershot 23.Scott
VanGorder 24.Larry Archer 25.Tom Hager
DNQ: Gary Velenger, Carmine Infante, Doug Ostwald, John Miloszar, Art
Adams, Korey Keimig, Bob Bauma, Kenny Hammond, Bernie Kelly, Mickey Kessler.

1st Heat: 1.Hoffman 2.Ploski III 3.Pearson 4.Kessler 5.Morrison
2nd Heat: 1.B. Godown 2.Swain 3.L. Kline 4.Sarvis 5.Roth
3rd Heat: 1.R. Godown 2.Holsten 3.Geiges 4.Stravinsky 5.Search
4th Heat: 1.M. Papiez 2.Reutter Jr. 3.Lyons 4.J. Papiez 5.Carpenter
1st B Main: 1.Buffalino 2.Flesch 3.Janiszewski 4.Meisner Jr.
2nd B Main: 1.Liedl 2.Mears 3.Toth 4.Ely
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Brian Godown 2.Matt Papiez 3.Jack Swain 4.Dave Hoffman 5.Doug Liedl 6.Jeff
Carpenter 7.Mike Lyons 8.Mickey Kessler 9.Jeff Geiges 10.J.C. Mears 11.Stan
Ploski III 12.Dominick Buffalino 13.Mike Toth 14.Joe Papiez 15.Ryan Godown
16.Gene Stravinsky 17.Mick Search 18.Brien Ely 19.Rick Beavers 20.Chuck
Flesch 21.Stan Janiszewski 22.Rick Holsten 23.Mike Reutter Jr. 24.Kyle
Morrison 25.Brian Pearson 26.Kenny Roth 27.Larry Kline 28.Phil Meisner Jr.
DNQ: Brett Butler, Rick Raisner, Chris Wasson, Bruce Leote, Steve Ramsey,
Dave Woolsten, Mike Fattori, Mike Mongiello III, Tom Sickler, Keith Foster,
Keith Fleming, Doug Boyce, Dave Wisniewski, Scott Hyland, Donnie Kline, Phil
McCloughan, Rich McTighe, Rich Kuiken, Christiaan Van Schuyler, Bob Kaelin,
Rob Pfister, Anthony Moran, Tom Tomasko, Rich Scagliotta, Pat McBride, Jim

1st Heat: 1.Gargiulo 2.R. Page 3.Wagner 4.Unfried 5.Berardi 6.Miscoski
2nd Heat: 1.Cheney III 2.Whitehouse 3.Bauma 4.Melton 5.M. Page 6.Conaway
3rd Heat: 1.Quinlan 2.Gerber 3.Bifulco 4.Apgar 5.Collier 6.Jn. Hewitt
B Main: 1.Bubeck 2.Reed 3.Nixon 4.Ensinger 5.Jm. Hewitt 6.Holloway 7.Vaccaro
Feature (15 laps):1.Al Cheney III 2.Rich Page II 3.Bill Gerber 4.Ralph
Gargiulo 5.George Quinlan 6.Billy Bauma 7.Brian Nixon 8.Larry Bubeck 9.Tim
Apgar 10.George Unfried 11.Jim Hewitt 12.Mario Page 13.John Hewitt 14.Kevin
Bifulco 15.Bill Miscoski 16.Robert Melton 17.Bryan Reed 18.Carol Whitehouse
19.Tom Holloway 20.Spider Ensinger 21.Weldon Collier 22.Bob Vaccaro 23.Brian
Wagner 24.Evan Berardi
DNQ: Joel Quick, Jake Roveda, Jason Seredy, Pat Conaway, George Idell Sr.,
Billy Bauer, Art Avery, Gary Decker, Kory Fleming, Todd Dige, Pat
Freiberger, George McCall, Richie Byrne, Allen Hurley, Steve Barnes.
Get your FREE download of MSN Explorer at

Back to the Archives