Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 09, 2001 02:35 PM UIN: 16262997
For Immediate Release June 8, 2001
STRONGSTOWN, PA - Jeremy Miller of Littleton made his first visit to Dog
Hollow Speedway a winning one as he picked up the #1 Cochran Late Model
feature win on Tire Express Trophy night. Dwayne Taneyhill of Bellwood won
his first Hugill Sanitation Limited Late Model feature, while Terry Benton
of Hollidaysburg won his first career street stock feature at the Hollow.
Bob Egley won the McDonalds School bus feature while John Kuzemchak of
Fallentimber won the pure stock main.
Dave Peterman lined up beside Miller as the late model feature headed for
Kevin Smyers green flag, with Miller taking the lead. He led the event from
start-to-finish with heavy pressure the entire distance. Scott Rhodes worked
his way to second early in the event and on lap eight took the lead from
Miller but before a lap could be completed the caution flew, and Rhodes was
put in second on the re-start.
Miller continued to lead and by lap 11 the top five were Miller, Rhodes,
Dave Satterlee, Mike Blose and Rodney Phillips, the top five were under the
proverbial blanket the rest of the way, with Rhodes trying everything he had
but coming up short at the end. The top five were: Miller, Rhodes, Blose,
Satterlee and Phillips. Mike Blose, Rick Strong and Dave Satterlee won the
preliminaries while Tony Raneri won the B-main.
The limited late model feature was a real shoot-out, between cautions. Rick
Steel and Louie Jacoby led the field to the start with Jacoby taking the
lead. He held the top spot for five laps holding Yvette Hahn at bay early
on, but the young lady muscled into the lead while working lap six. The
action came to a grinding halt on lap seven for a three car crash that sent
Dave Wells, Bob Kelly and Tom Shaffer to the pits early with severe damage.
As the race restarted, Hahn had two time winner Shawn "Sheets" McGarvey to
contend with. McGarvey gave Hahn all the pressure she could handle, and
handle it she did, as McGarvey went to the pits and Hahn continued to lead.
A late race caution with three to go gave Dwayne Taneyhill the break he
needed as he took the lead from Hahn and went on to get the win. Hahn was
second, with Jerry Lower, Jerry Timchak and Bill Krause completing the top
five. McGarvey, Lower and Taneyhill split the heats.
The opening lap of the street stock feature saw the front row grow to four
wide, with Tom Truxell taking the lead from his third place starting spot.
He held the top spot for ten laps before Terry Benton's persistency paid off
and he finally moved into the lead. Benton then went on to win his first
feature ever at the Hollow. Truxell got out of shape and lost several spots
giving second to Mike Laughard. The top five were: Benton, Laughard, Bill
Pluta, Truxell and Leroy Pershing. Heat wins went to Laughard, Jeff Enos and
Benton. Barry Lockhart won the consolation.
Charlie Boring and Tim Laughard led the pure stocks to the green with Terry
Nihart helping make things four wide and taking the lead before the
completion of the first lap. His time at the front was short lived as Ron
Hanna moved from seventh to the lead by the second lap. He led the event
until lap nine when John Kuzemchak finally made his efforts pay off and as
he took the lead and held Hanna at bay the final two laps. Hanna was second
ahead of Nihart, George Scanlan and John Mazey. Scanlan and Mazey split the
In bus action Dan Jones took the lead at the start with Mike McNish second.
Jones led until lap two when bob Eagley took the lead. On lap eight Jones
regained the lead but Eagly battled back and assumed the lead for good on
lap nine and took the win. The finish was Eagly, Jones, Mcnish and Jim
Alexander, who crashed on lap three. Eagly took the heat win.
DOG TRACKS: there were 104 cars in the pits, including: 28 late models, 24
limited late models, 29 street stocks, 19 pure stocks and 4 buses..Next
Friday the Six cylinder/small block modifieds return to action.Coming on
July 13 the MACS Late Models will race for the $5,000 top prize.A regular
show will also be presented.This week the modifieds will be joining the #1
Cochran Late Models, Hugill Sanitation Limited Late Models, street stocks
and pure stocks. The gates will open at 5 in the pits 6 for spectators and
racing begins at 7:30 p.m. For more information check the web site at


#1 COCHRAN LATE MODELS: 1. Jeremy Miller, Littleton; 2. Scott Rhodes,
Somerset; 3. Mike Blose, Dayton; 4. Dave Satterlee, Rochester Mills; 5.
Rodney Phillips, Punxsutawney; 6. John Britsky, Clymer; 7. Scott Haus,
Hamburg; 8. Dave Peterman, Home; 9. Steve Everhart, Canoe Creek; 10. Mike
Shoemaker, Hesston.

HUGILL SANITATION LIMITED LATE MODELS: 1. Dwayne Taneyhill, Bellwood; 2.
Yvette Hahn, Alum Bank; 3. Jerry Lower, Williamsburg; 4. Jerry Timchak,
Houtzdale; 5. Bill Krause, Houtzdale; 6. Denny Petyak, Gallitzen; 7. Jim
Parson, Bellwood; 8. Dwayne Bash, Clymer; 9. Dan Lee, Windber; 10. Heath
Gaston, Punxsy.

STREET STOCKS: 1. Terry Benton, Hollidaysburg; 2. Mike Laughard,
Strongstown; 3. Bill Pluta, Carinbrook; 4. Tom Truxell, Plum Boro; 5. Leroy
Pershing, Cookport; 6. Bill Lyons, Shelocta; 7. Jim Boyer, Indiana; 8. John
Weaver, Commodore; 9. Jeremy Zufal, Mt. Pleasant; 10. Tm Baun, Rossiter.

PURE STOCKS: 1. John Kuzemchak, Fallentimber; 2. Ron Hanna, Mundy's Corner;
3. Terry Nihart, Ebensburg; 4. George Scanlan, Ebensburg; 5. John Mazey,
Bolivar; 6. Tim Laughard, Strongstown; 7. Bill Sigafoes, Blairsville; 8.
Doug Reed, Cresson; 9. Scott Gallaher, Irvona; 10. Charlie Boring, Bolivar.

McDONALDS SCHOOL BUSES: 1. Bob Eagley, Kittanning; 2. Dan Jones; 3. Mike
McNish; 4. Jim Alexander, New Alexandria.

Back to the Archives