Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 04, 2001 12:53 AM UIN: 16262997

Round four of the "Gary and Denny Show" took place during NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model action at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway as Gary Webb and Denny Eckrich once again battled for the victory on Sunday June 3rd, with Webb taking home is third victory of the season and Eckrich finishing second once again.

Darren Miller jumped out the early lead while Eckrich and Webb fought their way through traffic from the sixth row. Eckrich found the quicker way through traffic during the opening laps, first challenging for the lead on lap six. Miller used the top side of the high-banked track to fend off Eckrich's charge, remaining successful until lap ten when Eckrich found a little extra traction on the bottom of the racetrack to cross start/finish line slightly ahead. Miller fought back, actually retaking the lead on the backstretch but being forced to surrender the top spot when a yellow flag slowed the pack and reverted the running order to the last completed lap. Webb lined up in the third spot but alongside Miller in the second row of the double-file restarts, thwarting the resumption of the battle for the lead. Webb got the jump on Miller on the restart, and began hunting Eckrich, still cruising around the bottom of the racetrack. Two laps later Webb caught Eckrich, with the two cars running side-by-side for the next four laps before Webb could gain a clear advantage. Eckrich took Webb's cue and began circling the 3/8's mile oval up on the cushion behind Webb, but was unable to capitalize on heavy traffic late in the race to mount a challenge for the lead. Miller finished a distant third ahead of Mark Merfeld and Ace Ihm.

Ryan Dolan also found the topside to be the fast way around the racetrack to post his first Modified feature win of the season. Mike Garland took control of the race away from Jason Schueller following a lap five restart and looked to be a shoe-in for the victory lane photo's when caution once again flew on lap eighteen. Dolan lined up on the inside of Bob Dominacki for the restart but quickly worked his way up to the cushion, running down Garland and making the winning pass as the two cars exited the fourth corner on the final lap. Dominacki held on to the third spot ahead of Rich Smith and Steve Wetter.

Jeff Kennedy took early control of the Pro Stocks away from Tommy Garner and went on to post his first win of the season in convincing fashion. A restart with five laps ago allowed Ty Kleiner to sneak into the second spot, but he was unable to challenge for the lead. Garner held on for third ahead of Jeff Valentine and Kevin Schroeder. Duane Ahmann also found victory lane for the first time in 2001 by topping the Hobby Stock feature event. Ahmann held off a lap seven charge by Jeff Reinert by holding his line around the top of the racetrack. Reinert slipped to fourth behind Jerry Merkes and Mark Massey at the checkers. Kelly Welter posted the Fun Car feature win ahead of Chad Hallahan and Ray Fawcett.

Racing action continues this Sunday at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. The event will be the final tune-up for the big $6,000 to win Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout on Wednesday June 13th. More than 60 of the nation's top Late Model drivers are expected to sign in for the Shootout, dominated this year by West Liberty Iowa's Steve Boley. The National Kidney Foundation "Tour for a Cure" Modifieds will also be doing battle. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at

1.. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
2.. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
3.. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
4.. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
5.. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
6.. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
7.. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
8.. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
9.. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
10.. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
11.. 35 Dave Englekens Clinton
12.. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
13.. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
14.. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
15.. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
16.. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
17.. 72 Terry Huizel Freeport IL
18.. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
19.. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
20.. 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
21.. 9 Curt Hansen Dike
22.. 15 Cameron Granger West Union
23.. 33 Dan Galant Davenport

1.. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
2.. g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
3.. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
4.. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
5.. 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
6.. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
7.. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
8.. 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
9.. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
10.. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
11.. 63 Scott Olson Preston
12.. 89 Tom Pestka Dubuque
13.. 39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
14.. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
15.. 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
16.. b1 Jeffery Larson Freeport IL
17.. d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL
18.. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
19.. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
20.. 41 Dennis Dugan Delhi
21.. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
22.. 24d Daron Oberbrockling
23.. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
24.. 2c Greg Chapman Dubuque
25.. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque


20 Cory Burmiester Glen Haven WI

2** Jan Messer

35 John Burbridge Delhi

08 Mike Miller

0 Jeremy English

00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque

1.. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
2.. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
3.. 43g Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
4.. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
5.. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
6.. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
7.. 90 Bo Richard Platteville WI
8.. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
9.. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
10.. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
11.. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
12.. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
13.. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
14.. 88 John Ward Dubuque
15.. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
16.. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
17.. 23 Jim Amos Peosta

1. 98 Duane Ahman Epworth

2. 8k Terry Merkes Farley

3. 30 Mark Massey Farley

4. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley

5. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI

6. 31 John Peters

7. 98j Jason Rauen Farley

8. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque

9. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque

10. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon

11. 6 Jed Freiburger Dubuque

12. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville

13. 23 Jason Udelhofen Platteville WI

14. 20x Jarvis Eastlick

15. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi

1. 89 Kelly Welter Farley

2. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque

3. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI

4. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque

5. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque

6. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque

7. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque

8. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque

9. 38 Russ Yonkovic Dubuque

Back to the Archives