Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 04, 2001 12:03 AM UIN: 16262997
Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Results

Jun. 2, 2001

Contact: Jeff W. Thornbrough


Danny Smith takes home Checkered Flag in Winged Sprint division at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark

Danville, Ill resident Danny Smith, took home the top honors in the Winged Sprint car division Saturday night at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark in Benton, Mo. Greg King of Sikeston bested the field of Limited Late Models while Larry Hull won the Open-Wheel Modified feature, Gene Fowler crossed the finish line first in Pure Streets and the team of Jason Pennington and Eric Allison cruised to victory lane in the Cruiser Car division.

Starting from the pole position in the Winged Sprint car main event, Danny Smith jumped out to an early advantage and fought hard with Tommy Worley JR for the lead. Worley made the pass on Smith for first on the second lap but couldnít make it stick.

Smith jumped around him on the third circuit for the lead. The two front runners battled out hard for the next nine laps putting on a classic battle for the lead. Problem would strike the second place car as steering problems forced Worley into the wall in turns 3 and 4. Worley pounded the wall putting him out of action for the night.

Jimmy Moughan, who was in third at the time of the accident, moved into second as the caution flag was brought out for Worley.

As the green flag was brought out for the restart of the event the field was set with Smith, Moughan, Robbie Standridge, Todd Rowland and Joey Montgomery making up the top-five frontrunners.

Smith would continue to maintain the lead with Moughan within striking distance as the front runners diced through lapped traffic for the next nine laps.

On lap 16 Rowland would lose the fifth position as Terry Babb moved around for the spot.

The top-five would stay the same for the next two circuits.

Terry Mize brought out the final caution flag of the evening on lap 18, spinning in turn four. The caution flag would bunch up the leader clearing the heavy lap traffic that the front runners were encountering.

At the restart Babb put pressure on Montgomery for fourth and made the pass but would not be able to advance further as the next seven circuits would go caution free.

Smith held on for the victory over Moughan with Standridge, Babb and Montgomery finishing out the top-five.

The victory for Smith was his second at the track. Smith is a former World of Outlaw and All Star Circuit of Champion competitor who is widely recognized throughout the United States.

Greg King made it two for two in the Limited Late Model division. King outran Terry James and Charles LaPlant to the checkered flag picking up his second win on the season.

Starting the race from the fourth position on the start King immediately fell back one spot to fifth as the driver crossed the line for the first lap. It didnít take long before King started to gain ground and quickly moved into third by the completion of the second lap.

Henry Nash jumped out to the quick as polesitter Junior Cornell dropped to second on the start with Scott Gibbs holding onto third.

On the third lap King had moved into second while Cornell started to struggle. The Battles Communication sponsored car of King was trying to gain ground on the leader who had moved into a five car-length advantage.

Coming around for the sixth lap the number 50 car of Gary Kinder brought out the caution and collected the leader Nash.

King moved into the top position while Nash would drop back to sixth.

When the green flag came out for the restart Terry James had moved into second and Charles LaPlant, who started 11th, moved into third.

The next 14 laps would be rather uneventful as King dominated his way to victory lane sometimes putting a straightaway advantage on the second place car.

Scott Gibbs was able to get around Junior Cornell and Henry Nash to nail down the fourth position on lap 15 and would hold on to finish the night in that spot.

King led all drivers to the stripe with James, LaPlant, Gibbs and Cornell rounding out the top-five.

In Open-Wheel Modified racing action it was Larry Hull nailing down his second victory of the year.

Chuck King earned the right to start on the pole of the feature event after winning the first heat race event of the evening.

King could not hold onto the position very long as the outside front row starter of John Barnett moved into first on the initial circuit.

On the second lap, Shawn Haynes slid around King for second while Hull was in fourth and starting to climb toward to lead.

Hull battled into third on the fourth lap and would move into second just two laps later.

Barnett at the time had put a healthy distance between himself and the second place machine of Hull.

Hull began to close the interval between the leader as Barnett suffered mechanical difficulty, which would drop him out of action for the remainder of the evening. Hull would take over first and hold on to the lead for the remainder of the event.

Second place runner Haynes held on to the position with Danny Sissom and Terry Johnson rounding out the top-five.

The Pure Street class found a familiar name in victory. Gene Fowler jumped out an early advantage over Johnny Houart and Mark Morgan.

Houart and Morgan would dice around for the second and third positions while Fowler was making his way toward victory lane.

As the crossed the line it was Fowler with the win, Houart finished second with Danny Hampton third, Dennis Shelby in fourth and Pat Davidson finishing in the top-five.

Picking up the Cruiser division win was the team Jason Pennington and Eric Allison. Second place went to Darrin and Travis McFall; finishing third was Alan Shaw and Bradley Felps.

Winged Sprints Feature Results

1. Danny Smith Danville, Il
2. Jim Moughan Springfield, Il
3. Robbie Standridge Springfield, Il

4. Terry Babb Decatur, Il
5. Joey Montgomery Fredericktown, Mo
6. Jerrod Hull Sikeston, Mo
7. Todd Rowland Jackson, Mo
8. Steve Short Farmington, Mo
9. Tim Montgomery Fredericktown, Mo
10. Lee Dunn Dorena, Mo

Limited Late Models Feature Results

1. Greg King Sikeston, Mo

2. Terry James Jackson, Mo

3. Charles LaPlant East Prairie, Mo

4. Scott Gibbs Scott Gibbs

5. Junior Cornell Brosely, Mo

6. Jeff Asher Middlebrook, Mo

7. Leo Keifer Perryville, Mo

8. Gary Owens Chaffee, Mo

9. Henry Nash Middlebrook, Mo

10. Gary Kinder Chaffee, Mo

Pure Streets Feature Results

Gene Fowler Hayti, Mo
Johnny Houart Gideon, Mo
Danny Hampton Sikeston, Mo
Dennis Shelby Bell City, Mo
Pat Davidson Jackson, Mo
Patrick Naeger Perryville, Mo
Jamie Robards Brosely, Mo
Darrick Bruce Morley, MO
Leo Kiefer Perryville, Mo
Cline Myers Jr. Scott City, Mo

Open-Wheel Modifieds Feature Results

Larry Hull Old Appleton, Mo
Shawn Haynes Malden, Mo
Danny Sissom Cape Girardeau
Terry Johnson Benton, Mo
Chuck King Sikeston, Mo
Joseph Giesler St. Mary, Mo
Chris Hall Charleston, Mo
Terry Baker Scott City, Mo
Matt James Jackson, Mo
Tony Palmer St. Gen. Mo

Cruiser Feature Results

Jason Pennington/Eric Allison Qulin, Mo
Darrin McFall/Travis McFall Scott City
Alan Shaw/Bradley Felps Poplar Bluff, Mo
Kyle Snider/Adam Brown Qulin, Mo
Allen Smith/Tim Adams Wickliffe, Ky
Scott Austin/Darrell Ham Qulin, Mo
Paul Vanpool/Brian Hahs Benton, Mo
Jim Rowland/Sam Rowland Kaiser, Mo
JR Baker/Ryan Baker Scott City, Mo

Back to the Archives