Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River (TN) Speedway results from Saturday, June 2
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 03, 2001 12:16 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River (TN) Speedway results from Saturday, June 2
> The Open Wheel main event was an absolute barnburner. Seventeen Open
> Wheels took time trials with Quick time going to Shelbyville's Chad Bone
> at 14.663.
> Chad Bone and David Gentry led the field down to the green flag not
> once but twice with the second time being a clean start. With Bone out
> front and Gentry running the high side, the Lewisburg charger went into
> turn two too hard and spun bringing out the caution flag on lap two and
> going to the rear for the restart. With David in the rear of a seventeen
> car field a sense of urgency was readily apparent and when the green flag
> came back out the charge was on. Gentry, running the high side began to
> climb back in contention and was in the Top 5 before the half way point. A
> couple of cautions bunched the field and about midway the two car battle
> of Chad Bone and Mark Haddon became a three car battle as Gentry joined
> the lead duo. With Bone on the bottom and Haddon and Gentry running the
> high line, the fans were in a frenzy. On several occasions this lead trio
> were almost three wide when on lap 15 Haddon finally forged by Bone for
> the lead with Gentry in tow. On lap 16 Gentry slipped under Haddon for the
> lead just before the caution flag came out. The lap 17 restart had Gentry
> as your leader but not for long. Gentry feeling extreme pressure from
> Haddon overcooked turns three and four and slipped up into the wall
> exiting four. This brought out the yellow flag again and on the lap 18
> restart it was Haddon back in front with Chad Bone all over Mark. Bone
> used the bottom to edge alongside Haddon on lap 19 and the lead duo ran
> most of the last two circuits side by side with Chad Bone taking the win.
> Haddon finished second with Tommy Davis coming from dead last to nip Bob
> Jarrett at the finish line, for the fourth position. Barry Rochelle
> rounded out the Top 5. Josh Dement edged Jeff Stutts to win the "Dash for
> Cash".
> Open Wheel
> 1 Chad Bone
> 2 Mark Haddon
> 3 Tommy Davis
> 4 Bob Jarrett
> 5 Barry Rochelle
> 6 Bryan Reed
> 7 Jeff Stutts
> 8 Tim Demonbreun
> 9 Jason Maurer
> 10 Junior Daniels
> The 2-bbl. Late Model division was taken by David Seibers
> over seventh place starter and Points leader Josh Lunsford. Dean Travis
> had his best run of the year edging early challenger Tony Morris for
> third. Billy Barnett rounded out the Top 5. Seibers also won the 10 car
> heat race.
> 2-bbl Late Model
> 1 David Seibers
> 2 Josh Lunsford
> 3 Dean Travis
> 4 Tony Morris
> 5 Billy Barnett
> 6 Jason Gregg
> 7 Brandon Scott
> 8 Allen Carter
> 9 Jackie Hambrick
> 10 Dwayne Waid
> In the Super Stock feature it was heat winner Larry Landers that
> battled early with Jaybird Marlin then withstood a late race push by Jay
> George to grab the win. George settled for second ahead of Mike Johnson
> and Shawn Mitchell. Chad Williams had his best run of 2001 by taking the
> fifth spot. A very high attrition rate developed early on as only six of
> the original starting field of 18 cars were on the track by the half-way
> point. Several returned to action but last weeks winner Clyde Bruce and
> six time winner Marlin both failed to finish, tightening up the points
> battle. George also won his heat race.
> Super Stock
> 1 Larry Landers
> 2 Jay George
> 3 Mike Johnson
> 4 Shawn Mitchell
> 5 Chad Williams
> 6 Butch Pruitt
> 7 Jarred Ward
> 8 High Harper
> 9 Torre Gaye
> 10 John Fletcher
> The Outlaw Pony feature saw Johnny Crowell get the better of Gwinn
> Jones and Steve Kennedy to win his fifth main event of the year. Jeff
> Roberson and Keith Layne were forth and fifth as Jones and Crowell were
> the heat race winners.
> Outlaw Pony
> 1 Johnny Crowell
> 2 Gwinn Jones
> 3 Steve Kennedy
> 4 Jeff Roberson
> 5 Keith Layne
> 6 Johnny Dale
> 7 Blake Carter
> 8 Mike Dale
> 9 Jason Coggins
> 10 Jason Averitt
> The Pure Pony division appeared to be an Anthony Seibers benefit
> early on before Billy Davidson and Michael Chumbley, who came from a 19th
> place start, challenged the leader late in the race, but could not make
> the pass. Dudley Rogers and Seibers were the heat race winners
> Pure Pony
> 1 Anthony Seibers
> 2 Billy Davidson
> 3 Michael Chumbley
> 4 Jimmy Calahan
> 5 Dudley Rogers
> 6 Doug Chumbley
> 7 Andy Rogers
> 8 Gary Reid
> 9 Eddie Hartley
> 10 Joe Morgan
> In "Rookie" Pony action Don Lester joined last weeks winner Gary
> Reid and Andy Rogers as three time winners in the "Rookie" division. This
> means Don must now move up to the Pure Pony ranks beginning next Saturday
> night. Joshua Nichols was second with recent high school graduate Tiffany
> Jones showing the boys how its done to finish a very strong third. Lester
> and Nichols were the heat winners.
> "Rookie" Pony
> 1 Don Lester
> 2 Joshua Nichols
> 3 Tiffany Jones
> Racing continues this Saturday night with the return of the Late
> Model division in a special $1,500 to Win feature event. The 362 All Steel
> Late Model race will guarantee $100 to start the main event.

Back to the Archives