Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Paris tops first-ever Midwest Series race at Boone
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 29, 2001 04:41 PM UIN: 16262997
Paris tops first-ever Midwest Series race at Boone
BOONE, Iowa (May 28) -The third installment of the Midwest Motorsports Best of the Midwest Series produced an-other different winner.
Skeeter Paris raced to the Memorial Day victory, winning the I.M.C.A. Sunoco Stock Car feature event at his home-town Boone Speedway. He took the checkered flag ahead of Brian Blessington of Breda and new points leader Jeremy Christians of Horicon, Wis., in the first series race held at Boone.
While Paris was able to put some space between his back bumper and his pursuit late in the race, Blessington and Christians were almost side-by-side at the end, crossing the finish line in the midst of lapped traffic. Larry Silbaugh of Jefferson was fourth and the fifth spot went to Kellogg's Rick Brown.
Paris started on the outside of the second row and took the lead for the first time on the fourth circuit. Mechanical mis-fortunes sidelined Marshalltown's Jeff Wollam on the fifth lap, bringing out what would be the only yellow flag of the race.
Blessington took the point back for the next five times around the track, relinquishing the point when Paris took a faster path on the low part of the track. Christians passed Silbaugh for third on lap 18 and the top five ran in that order the final seven laps.
Paris also went home with an extra $200, earning the Champions Challenge bonus offered by JR Motorsports with the victory.
Heat winners were Brown, Blessington, Shane Stoneburner of Boone and Steve Jackson of Des Moines. The "B" races were won by Todd Kearney of Garwin and Craig Elliott of Boone.
The Best of the Midwest Series travels next to the Audubon Speedway for a Tuesday, June 5 outing.
Feature Results - 1. Skeeter Paris, Boone; 2. Brian Blessington, Breda; 3. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 4. Larry Silbaugh, Jefferson; 5. Rick Brown, Kellogg; 6. Dustin Vis, LeGrand; 7. Mark Elliott, Webster City; 8 Steve Jackson, Des Moines; 9. George Reeh, Missouri Valley; 10. Jeff Anderson, Atlantic; 11. Jeremy Grady, Story City; 12. Matt Stoneburner, Boone; 13. Randy Andreason, Lytton; 14. Todd Kearney, Garwin; 15. Cliff Gray, Waterloo; 16. Shawn An-derson, Haverhill; 17. Craig Elliott, Boone; 18. Shane Stoneburner, Boone; 19. Ray Hill, Marshalltown; 20. Todd Luther, Laurel; 21. Jay Schmidt, Malcom; 22. Rick Campbell, Boone; 23. Lonnie Hodges, Boone; 24. Ryan Rose, Boone; 25. Mike Albertsen, Audubon; 26. Jeff Wollam, Marshalltown.

Back to the Archives