Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Russell returns for bookend victory at Boone Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 29, 2001 04:41 PM UIN: 16262997
Russell returns for bookend victory at Boone Speedway
By Kelly Becker
BOONE, Iowa (May 28) - Gary Russell added the bookend trophy to his collection Monday night, winning the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at the Boone Speedway.
Russell, from Biggsville, Ill., had also taken the checkers, along with an I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Model Super Nationals championship, when he visited Boone last September.
Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown might have had the fastest car near the end of the Memorial Day Weekend special, but he ran out of time to catch Russell and finished second.
Brenton Slocum of Burlington, Mike Smith of Jewell and new series point leader Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, Ill, rounded out the top five.
The defending series champion, Smith led the first 30 times around the track. His first challenge came from persistent Terry Ryan of Davenport, who dogged the leader the first half of the race before falling back to finish sixth.
Russell was the next to pick up the chase. He'd started seventh and picked off cars one at a time, following a line that went lower and lower. Russell caught up with and passed Smith a couple times, but caution flags erased both moves to the front.
He got the lead for good after a lap 35 re-start, then checked out on the rest of the field. The feature victory was the second of the season for Russell, also the winner April 20 at Davenport.
Heat winners were Jason Friesen of Sutton, Neb., Slocum, Russell and Brian Hetzler of Davenport. "B" feature win-ners were Kelly Tapper of Boone and Randy Havlik of Madrid.
Next stop on the Deery Brothers Summer Series schedule is Wednesday, June 13 at Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa.
Feature Results - 1. Gary Russell, Biggsville, Ill.; 2. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 3. Brenton Slocum, Burlington; 4. Mike Smith, Jewell; 5. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill.; 6. Terry Ryan, Davenport; 7. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis; 8. Randy Havlik, Madrid; 9. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun; 10. Kevin Kirkpatrick, Waterloo; 11. Chris Richard, Mount Pleasant; 12. Cale Sponsler, Clive; 13. J.J. Scott, Dallas Center; 14. Lavern Carey, Ionia; 15. Dale Stolte, Springville; 16. Brian Hetzler, Davenport; 17. Jason Friesen, Sutton, Neb.; 18. Rob Toland, Hillsdale, Ill.; 19. Kelly Tapper, Boone; 20. Les Verly, Wellsburg; 21. John Bridges, Columbus, Neb.; 22. Dave Schrader, Monroe; 23. Steve Borts, Ames; 24. Mike Cothron, Moline, Ill.

Back to the Archives