Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Danny Peoples Wins Coca Cola 40 at Green Valley Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 28, 2001 06:01 PM UIN: 16262997
Danny Peoples Wins Coca Cola 40 at Green Valley Speedway

Glencoe, Alabama-A large field of cars were hand at the beautiful Green
Valley Speedway to wage war in the Coca Cola 40 on Memorial Day weekend. A
star studded field of forty Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Models checked
into the 3/8's mile speedplant with intentions on claiming the $3,000 first
place prize.

Action got started with Super Late Model Pole Qualifying and it was Lenoir
City, Tennessee's Patrick Duggan earning the pole honor with a brutally fast
lap of 15.24-seconds around the semi banked red clay oval. Danny Peoples was
second quick of the forty drivers to take time with a 15.58-second lap. The
top sixteen qualifiers were locked into the field with the remainder of the
field to transfer from two B-Main events.

The forty lap main event would see Margaret, Alabama' Danny Peoples driving
his Peoples Racing sponsored Vinson powered TNT Monte Carlo jump out to lead
the first lap from the outside front row and never be challenged throughout
the entire event. Patrick Duggan ran a strong and consistent second the
entire evening with defending Southern All Star Champion Clint Smith
finishing third. Decatur, Alabama' Mark Mears was fourth and Sharpsburg,
Georgia's Joe Armistead Jr. was fifth.

The remainder of the top ten had young Shane Tankersly from Morganton,
Georgia charge from sixteenth to sixth, followed by Jody Summerville, Bo
Shirley, Mike Head, and defending Southern All Star Rookie of the Year Paul
Tims in tenth.

Official finish:

1-Danny Peoples
2-Patrick Duggan
3-Clint Smith
4-Mark Mears
5-Joe Armistead Jr
6-Shane Tankersly
7-Jody Summerville
8-Bo Shirley
9-Mike Head
10-Paul Tims
11-Jon Miller
12-Jason Hiett
13-Mark Bangs
14-Wayne McCullough
15-Lamar Haygood
16-Bucket Stewart
17-Keith Hayes
18-TJ Alford
19-Chris Mullinax
20-Jamie Perry
21-Tim Roszell
22-Greg Skinner
23-Freddie Lee
24-Taylor #1

Cliff Brannon was top dog in the Vinson Race Engines Sportsman division as
it was a race nobody wanted to lead, as the leaders would incur mechanical
difficulty. Brannon topped the twenty two car field and was followed by
Carrolton, Georgia's Tony Kemp, Brian Barno, Chad Smith, and Randall Walker.

The Weese Machine IMCA Modifieds saw Jamie Gowers cruise to victory followed
by Eddie Brannon, Ryan Tolleson, Kevin Waddell, and Gene Mince.

The Mountain View Ice Super Stock class had a familiar face in Victory Lane
as Greg Chumley won the main vent followed by Tim Bannister, and Mark
Tidmore completing the top three. The Pony Stock Main event went to John
Glaze with Fred Helms and Brian Dodgen completing the top three. Josh
Battles won the Pure Pony feature with Todd Bennich and Josh Morgan
completing the top three. The Sportsman's Paradise Bomber win went to Brian
Pruitt with Jodie Free taking the runner up position and Jeff Crane
finishing off the top three.

Green Valley Speedway will host a Full Racing Program this Friday night with
action at 8pm. The next special event at Green Valley Speedway will be on
Friday night June 15th as the Southern All Star Super Late Models will be in
town for the Kilpatrick Chevrolet 60. For event information please call
256-492-8550 or visit

New Track Record at Talladega Short Track!

Talladega, AL-A big crowd, super fast track, and large field of competitors
were on hand for the Memorial Day Weekend racing festivities at TST Saturday
night. Action got kicked off on the fastest track ever at TST, as nine of
the twenty-four Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Model drivers would time in
the 13-second bracket. But only one would lay claim to be the owner of the
fastest officially recorded Super Late Model lap in TST history. That honor
will go to "The T-Town Hustler" Jimmy Hudgins. The Talladega, Alabama driver
would trip the timing lights during Pole Qualifying with a
13.637-second lap around the hooked up 3/10's mile high banked clay oval.

Hudgins would draw a zero for the inversion for the Quick Six Dash for Cash
on go flag to flag followed by Danny Peoples, former TST Track Champion
Terry Smith of Oxford, The "Rim Rider" Ross Martin, the legendary Red
Farmer, and "Radical" Ronnie Norton.

The 30-lap main event would see "The Dominator" Danny Peoples jump out to an
early lead and go flag to flag to claim his second TST victory of the year
in his Peoples Racing sponsored Vinson Race Engines powered TNT Monte Carlo.
The victory made for a sweep of the racing activities in Alabama as Peoples
won a special event the previous night at Green Valley Speedway. Following
Peoples across the stripe were Jimmy Hudgins, Terry Smith in his Rocket,
"The High Plains Drifter" Ted Lackey, and Stacy Holmes in fifth. Rounding
out the top ten of the full field of cars were Leed's Jerry Goodwin, Tim
Roszell, Bubba Lackey, Robbie Bilbrey, and Michael Worthy completing the top

The next special Super Late Model event will be the 2nd Annual Alabama
Governor's Cup for the Southern All Star Super Late Model Series on June
16th. The 60-lap event will pay $5,000 to win. The SAS touring professional
will also be at Green Valley Speedway on June 15th for a $5,000 to event

The Sportsman division main was a barnburner as "The Iceman" Richard Ogle
charged for mid pack to take the lead in the late stages of the event from
Heath Farmer who would finish second. Ricky Cotton continues on the comeback
trail after an early season injury with a fine third place finish followed
by Gadsden's Ivan Meeks, and Stevie Waters completing the top five finishers
in the twenty one car field.

The Clausen Gulf Coast Region IMCA Modified class would see current region
point's leader "Mean" Gene Mince from Piedmont, Alabama win a war over a
seventeen car field and over Oxford's Scottie Hiett who is back to do battle
after a one years hiatus from racing. Petie Poe was third followed by Jamie
Gowers, and Eddie Brannon.

The IMCA Stock Car division saw "Chargin'" Charlie Chapman take the win over
Steven Forsythe with Jeremy Hurst competing the top three. The Pony Stock
winner was Odenville's Alan Glaze followed by Jonathan Chapman and Randy
Martin completing the podium. Robby Goodman was the Thunder Truck winner
with Cam Stephens and Dewayne Quick in tow. The wild and crazy Cruiser
division saw the team of Green and Green take the checkers.

TST will host a Full Racing Program this Saturday night with racing at 8pm.
For more information please call the TST event hotline at 256-831-1413 or

Back to the Archives