Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Scott Dedwylder Takes Two in a Row at Columbus Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 28, 2001 06:00 PM UIN: 16262997
Scott Dedwylder Takes Two in a Row at Columbus Speedway

Columbus, MS-Scott Dedwylder of Vossburg, Mississippi once again made the
long tow to Columbus Speedway and was a repeat winner in the Super Late
Model division. Dedwylder driving his secondary car, which is a GRT Grand
Prix sponsored by Mindbender New Media set fast time with a 14.393-second
lap during Pole Qualifying on the high banked 3/10's mile
clay oval. Dedwylder would draw a six for the inversion factor relegating
him to outside third row at the start of the 30 lap main event. Corinth's
Ronald Dunn was second quick during qualifying and would start in the fifth

The 30 lap main event would see Tuscaloosa, Alabama's Danny Hayes jump out
to an early lead using the traditional high line around Columbus Speedway.
Action was furious in the top five as Dedwylder and Dunn began their march
to the front of the pack using the bottom and middle of the speedway. A
caution on lap 15 would bunch up the pack with Hayes leading, Dedwylder in
second, and Dunn in third. On the subsequent restart Dedwylder would jump
below Hayes in turns one and two to take the lead and never look back for
the remainder of the event. Hayes would slip off the top of turn one and be
relegated to the rear of the field on lap sixteen after running a flawless

The final fourteen laps of the main event would see Dedwylder on a Sunday
drive with Dunn working the bottom of the speedway, Northport's Tony Gray
having another consistent run and finishing third, Todd Gray having a fine
outing in a newly acquired ride in fourth, and Louisville's Shawn Edwards
having another fine top five finish as Edwards reclaimed the Columbus
Speedway Super Late Model points lead.

The Mississippi Modified saw Pickensville, Alabama's Jason Hollis claim
another victory at Columbus Speedway. Hollis also received his own bounty,
as he went five consecutive weeks without defeat and earned the additional
$250 bounty that was placed on him by Terry King. Needless to say Hollis
fended off all Bounty Hunters and protected the home turf. Following Hollis
across the stripe were brothers of David Eaton and Robert Eaton. Columbus'
Randall Reedwood, and Brian Hollis completed the top five. The Mississippi
Modifieds will have their Spring Championship this Saturday night June 2nd.

The Pro Street Division had a repeat winner as Tupelo's Paul Robinson took
the checkers for the Heavy Metal warriors. Billy Franklin was second with
Steen's Bill Sudduth third. Mike Dexter of West Point was fourth and Terry
Atkins rounded out the top five.

The Street Stock class winner was Columbus' Lee Ray. Ray came into the
night's action tied for the point's lead with Tim White but Ray would top
the nineteen car field for the win and regain the point's lead as well.
Jonathan Edwards of Vernon, Alabama was second; Johnny Cook was third
followed by Danny Gable and Steve Maykowski rounding out the top five. The
Street Stock pilots offer some of the best racing in the South plus plenty
of excitement as witnessed by cars getting into the catch fence on separate
occasions and a wild barrel rolling accident involving Tommy Gore and Chris
Hagler during one of the heat races.

The Mini Stock class saw Bill Thrash top a fifteen car field to take the win
in the competitive 4 cylinder race car class. Following Thrash across the
stripe were Vernon's Buddy Glover, Ryan Rigdon, Nick Deese, and Greg Glover
who also picked up a heat win.

The Two Person Cruiser division continues to grow at a rapid pace and
provide fun and entertainment for all. The team of Lance Wilson and Tuffy
Crawford took the win in the wild and entertaining race followed by the team
of Jason Brock and Brian Brock in second, Richard Barton and Tommy Barton in
third, with Mark Weathers and Brad Price fourth, and Will House and Nick
House completing the top five finishers in the ten car field.

The Pro 4 division win went to David Goins of Northport, Alabama. The
remainder of the field were Jimmy Beachler, James Blakney, Steve Lowe, and
Wyman Blakney.

Columbus Speedway will host a Full Racing Program Saturday night June 2nd
with main event of the evening being the Spring Championship event for the
Mississippi Modifieds. Columbus Speedway will also be hosting two special
events during the month of June as the United States Sprint Car Series
thunders into Columbus on June 9th and the legendary Southern All Star Super
Late Model Series invades Columbus Speedway on June 23rd. For event
information please visit or call the speedway event
hotline at 662-241-5004.

Back to the Archives