Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 28, 2001 01:57 PM UIN: 16262997
From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley
May 26, 2001
Than Mitchell
The start of Summer, Memorial Day Weekend, and Dirt Track Competition converged at The Greenwood Valley Action Track on Saturday generating enough excitement in Greenwood Valley to keep foul weather at bay.

While rain dampened activities elsewhere in Eastern Pennsylvania, not a drop fell near Millville where Denny Rinehimer, Bloomsburg, won the Annual Racers Tribute Memorial Race for 270cc Micro Sprints at The Action Track. Rinehimer, a former kart and current Slingshot pilot, jumped into Billy Puderbaugh’s Micro Sprint and lead from the pole to the finish in the forty lap Feature. Close on Rinehimer's heels was Brayden Winters, Easton, who earlier in the evening claimed the show position in the Rookie Micro Sprint Feature. Finishing third was Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills, fourth was Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove, and fifth was Brian Kishbaugh, Nescopeck. Sixth place went to Matt Miller, Sunbury, seventh to Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove and eighth to Joey Finan, Milton. Rounding out the top ten were Shane Penny, Berwick, and Joel VanBuskirk, Selinsgrove.

A small field started the Sportsman 250cc Micro Sprints Feature and a smaller field finished! Attrition reduced the number running at the finish to four cars with Colby Womer taking first place. Shane Penny was second, Rick Morris, Catawissa, was third and in fourth, Kyle Rhoads, Sunbury.

Sean Good, won his Rookie Micro Sprint Feature event and was welcomed to Victory Lane by a well-placed bucket of water. Even soaked to the skin, Good was elated by his first taste of victory. Second place went to Phil Weinsteiger Jr., Green Lane, third to Brayden Winters, Easton, and fourth to Jesse Remensnyder, Mocanaqua. In fifth place was Joel Thomas, Bloomsburg, Dillon Stein, Auburn, was sixth, Greg Spangler, Wapwallopen, finished seventh and in the final spot was Deb Arner, Berwick.

Next week the gates at The Greenwood Valley Action Track will open at 2:30, warm-ups will get underway at 4:30 and full fields of Karts, Micro Sprints, and Slingshots. June will be another action filled month at The Action Track, located 3 1/2 miles east of Millville just south of route 254. See you there!.

May 26, 2001

1. Kyle Glass, Selinsgrove
2. Adam Zimmerman, Middleburg
3. Joe Remaly, Millville

1. Brian Woodruff, Danville
2. Randy Boston, Berwick
3. Mike Swist, Millville

1. Scott Weirick, Sunbury
2. Eddy Miller, Sunbury
3. Jon Grenier

1. Josh Gauger, Watsontown
2. Ross Perchak, Hazelton
3. Janelle Badger, Lewisburg

1. Neil Bardo, Orangeville
2. Colby Helt, Millersburg
3. Todd Latteer, Millville

1. Kris McKeown, Bloomsburg
2. Derrick Bowersox, Milton
3. Ricky Ross, Mountain Top

1. Paul Faus, Rohrsburg
2. Scott Faus, Coal Township
3. Denny Faus, Millville

1. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills
2. Shane Penny, Berwick
3. Rick Morris, Catawissa
4. Kyle Rhoads, Sunbury

1. Sean Good, Millersburg
2. Phil Weinsteiger, Green Lane
3. Brayden Winters, Easton
4. Jesse Remensnyder, Mocanaqua
5. Joel Thomas, Bloomsburg
6. Dillon Stein, Auburn
7. Greg Spangler, Wapwallopen
8. Deb Arner, Berwick

1. Denny Rinehimer, Bloomsburg
2. Brayden Winters, Easton
3. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills
4. Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove
5. Brian Kishbaugh, Nescopeck
6. Matt Miller, Sunbury
7. Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove
8. Joey Finan, Milton
9. Shane Penny, Nescopeck
10. Joel VanBuskirk, Selinsgrove

Revised finishing order; 5/18/01
1. Shane Penny, Berwick
2. Michael Ruttkamp, Wilton, CT
3. Colby Womer, Mt.Pleasant Mills
4. Bob Puterbaugh, Millville
5. Rick Morris, Catawissa
6. Hoss Uhrin, Freeland
7. Jay Horvath, Allentown
8. Chad Phillips
9. Denny Faus, Millville
10. Kyle Rhoads, Sunbury
11. Paul Faus, Rohrsburg

Back to the Archives