Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Reigning Track Champion Andy Dill Wins 4TH Cleveland Race
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 28, 2001 01:55 PM UIN: 16262997
Reigning Track Champion Andy Dill Wins 4TH Cleveland Race

Reigning Cleveland Speedway Track Champion Andy Dill of Georgetown powered his “Big Orange Machine” # 39 Suttles Trucking & Construction, Renegade Trucking, Port City Racing South” Chevrolet Monte Carlo Super Late Model to it’s fourth win of the 2001 Championship Season. Dill made a clean sweep of the preliminary events starting with setting the fast time in Budweiser: King of Speed, qualifying time trials, following with a victory in the heat race before taking the win in the 30 lap “A” Main feature. Second fastest qualifier Shawn Chastain finished a strong second in his quest for his second victory at Cleveland Speedway. Chastain held off 1999 Southern All-Star series champion Jamie Perry after overpowering 15 year old rookie sensation third fast qualifier Todd Morrow. Randy Burrows raced by Morrow for fourth to round out the top five finishers. Shane Breeden of Chickamauga GA took his first win of the season in the Claimer Late Model race. Murphy’s Jim Twiggs reconnected the NCC – the “North Carolina Connection” by winning the Hobby feature for the third time this season. Defending Pony Stock division champion Justin Winters of Benton took his first win of 2001. And in the Street division finale Donald Forgey of Cleveland raced to win the 12 lap “Anything Goes” feature that wrapped up action of round #8 of the 2001 Championship season Saturday night.

Super Late Model:
1.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown TN
2.Shawn Chastain (# 11) of Murphy NC
3.Jamie Perry (# P4) of Ringgold GA
4.Randy Burrows (# 95) of Chattanooga TN
5.Todd Morrow (# T1) of Cleveland TN *
6.Kent Hicks (# 15) of Cleveland TN
7.Dewayne Smith (# 21) of Cleveland TN
8.Kevin Gibson (# M45) of Ringgold GA
9.Jake Lowry (# 44) of Georgetown TN
10.David Smith (# 22D) of Chattanooga TN

Claimer Late Model: Winner – Shane Breeden (# 12) of Chickamauga GA
2.Chris Powell (# P9), 3.Glen Seaton III (# 92), 4.Elgin Gray (# 32), 5.Chad Anderson (# 17)

Hobby: Winner – Jim Twiggs (# 99) of Murphy NC
2.Doug Works (# 35), 3.Richard Dixon (# 3), 4.Lee Hogan (# 1), 5.Doyle Herron (# 77)

Pony Stock: Winner – Justin Winters (# J1) of Benton TN
2.Donnie Webb (# 77), 3.Wendall Ingram (# 24), 4.Mark Bishop (# 93), 5.Jimmy Brown (# 10)

Street: Winner – Donald Forgey (# 71) of Cleveland TN
2.Roy Nichols (# 00), 3.Anthony Hawkins (# 3), 4.Herbert Chambers (# 31), 5.Jim Erwin (# J8)

Back to the Archives