Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Watts From Green to Checkered for the SUPR win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 27, 2001 06:44 PM UIN: 16262997
Watts From Green to Checkered for the SUPR win
Sue DuRoy May 25, 2001 Baton Rouge Raceway
David Knight blasted into the lead in the first heat from the pole.
Only one yellow flew when a spinner in four brought it out. Knight followed
by Marlon Wild left the rest of the field by several car lengths. Knight took
the first heat win. Donald Watson led every lap of heat two and put distance
between him and second place and took the win. Heat three Eric Courville led
it all the way followed by a three wide battle for second between Bill
Gordon, Rob Litton and Bubba Mullins. Courville led every lap and took the
win. Heat four started with Dwight Falcon leading the way from the pole. A
lap later under the flag stand Kevin Watts took over the lead and went on to
score the win. Terry Henson took the fifth and final heat win. First of two
last chance races after two laps Danny McFadden flew off the back bringing
out the yellow. Kent Taylor led every Lap and took the win. Bill Gordon led
every lap of the second last chance race And took the win.
Kevin Watts started from the pole in the 50 lap feature. On the start
Watts and Dennis Duncan ran wheel to wheel to turn two where Watts took the
lead followed by Marlon Wild. Donald Watson came flying into the infield .At
the same time Dennis Duncan went sailing off the back and was the first car
to leave the race. Duncan had mechanical problems and something broke. Only
two lap in. Lap 6 into the race Terry Hensen and Kent Taylor tied up. 8
laps down and another yellow when Bill Gordon coasted down the back
straightaway. On Each restart it was Watts and Wild leading the train. 28
laps in and Kent Taylor wheel hopped on Dave Siegert and Dwight Falcon got
caught in it too. Halfway sign and another yellow when Terry Hensen spun.
Watts, Wild, Litton, Courville and Mullins and every restart. Kevin Watts
scored the win, followed by Marlon Wild, Rob Litton, Eric Courville, Bubba
Mullins, Alan Smith Odie Green, David Ashley, Ryan Plaisance, Kelly Bowen who
started 24th with a provisional. Raymond Marrell, Kennith Crowe, Towell, Bill
Avant, KI Davis, David Knight, Dave Siegert, Dwight Falcon, Kent Taylor,
Chris Wall, Terry Hensen, Bill Gordon, Donald Watson, and Dennis Duncan.
Mark Hardwick and Butch Jenkins took the heat wins for Pure stock.
Darren Dean the only Ford in the field jumped into the lead and led every lap
being chased by a field of Chevy's! Dean had a couple car lengths of
breathing room. Timmy Moral took second, Michael Barfield came from the back
of the field and worked his way to third. Zane Barcelona took fourth and
Butch Jenkins fifth.
Conrad Cupit blasted into the Modified feature followed by Mark Chamel
till Mark spun in four and brought out the yellow. On the restart it was
Cupit followed by Jerry Cassano. Cupit held off Cassano as long as he could
then Cassano finally got the lead. Jerry Cassano took the win followed by
Conrad Cupit, Jeff Martelo, Mark Chamel, and Henry Lamonica. Heat winners
were Cassano and Chamel.
Scotty Covington and Richard Mathes took the mini stock heat wins.
Covington took the lead on the start followed by Richard Mathes. Wayne
Everett took over second then went after Covington. Covington had his hands
full after choosing the wrong tires. Everett was on his bumper lap after lap
even giving him a little tap in the bumper On the final lap Covington and
Everett split a lap car but Covington came out of that still leading.. But
Covington worked hard for that win and held Everette off and scored the win.
Everett second Richard Mathes third, Browning fourth, and Calvin Tyler
rounding out the top five.
Jason Wilks and Bobby Tate took top honors in street stock heats. Kerry
Vicknair took the lead followed by Bobby Tate and Scooter Paetz. Paetz took
over second from Tate. Third place Wilks, fourth Tate And fifth Ringo all
spun in three. On the restart the front three cars are nose to tail Vicknair,
Paetz, and Gene Brown and All nose to tail. On the last lap Scooter Paetz got
by Vicknair and took the lead followed by Vicknair, Gene Brown, Bobby Tate,
and Jason Wilks.

Back to the Archives