Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 27, 2001 06:38 PM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA - The month of May ended with a trio of new faces in victory
lane Saturday night at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Last year's
Late Model Rookie of the Year, Keith Barbara of South Park, ended a sophomore
slump by rolling to his first QPI Tools Late Model feature of the season.
Carnegie's Al Atallah joined the new list of winner's in the Limited Late
Models. Larry Kugel of Calcutta, OH sailed to his sixth E-Mod victory of the
campaign. South Fayette's Charlie DiLoreto stopped Rich Apolito's four race
winning streak in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Joshua Langer of
Oakdale won his fourth Amateur Stock main.

The 18-car demolition derby ending the night went to Jim Maloy of Washington,
over Robbie Haught, Rod Pattison and Jeremy Wall.

Fourth starting Ben Miley jumped into the lead at the drop of the green in
the QPI Tools Late Model feature. Lou Bradich led briefly after a lap four
caution, before Miley regained the upper hand. Keith Barbara overtook Bradich
for second on the sixth circuit, and tenth starting Mike Cecere was up to
fourth two laps later. As the race wore on, Barbara shadowed Miley's every
move. Coming off the fourth turn to complete lap 21, Barbara dove to the
inside and passed Miley for the lead. Once in front, Barbara took the fast
lane to the checkered flag. Miley was second with 13th starting Jason Cisson
third. Cecere and Dave Wade completed the top five. Bradich, Jim Zarin, Rick
Heim, Jim Lepro and D.J. Miller were sixth through tenth respectively. Cisson
was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Miller and Zarin won the heats.

The Limited Late Model 20-lap feature was a barn burner. Al Atallah set the
pace for the first four laps before falling to fourth on a restart. Wayne
Tessean was the new leader with 12th starting Danny Rich a close second.
Atallah rebounded to third on lap six and moved to second on lap ten when
Rich retired with mechanical woes. Lap after lap Tessean and Atallah went at
it side by side. Finally coming for the white flag, Atallah moved to the
point for good. Tessean, George Kowatic, Jon Hodgkiss and Tony Musolino
rounded out the top five. Sixth through tenth were: Brian Laraway, Louie
Bradich, Kirk Young, Mark Kelly and Jim Rozum III. Monarch Oil Hard Charger
honors went to Tom Duratz. Bob Damron and Musolino were the heat race winners.

Larry Kugel overhauled Jeff Sharp for the lead on lap seven of the E-Modified
feature, and away he went to his second win in a row. Jeff Broniszewski won
the battle for second, with Scott Gunn, Sharp and Ralph Hysong Jr. completing
the top five. Rounding out the top ten were: Stush Sadowski, Jeff
Bametzrider, Kurt Halbedl, Mike Anderson and Bobby Bongiorni.

First Jimmy Arnold, and then Craig Kamicker appeared headed for their first
career win in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks. But when the checkered
flag waved, Charlie DiLoreto found himself edging Kamicker for his first win
in more than two years. Kamicker, Arnold, Stacie White and Apolito were
second through fifth. Brian Scheller, Darryl Robison, A.J. Poljak, Joe
Anthony, and Doug Foster completed the top ten. Apolito, who started last,
was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Heat races were won by Robison and Foster.

Joshua Langer held off Bobby Siemon for the Amateur Stock victory. John Cain
III was third, Skeets Levandosky finished fourth, and Bob Schwartzmiller
completed the top five.

This Saturday, June 2nd, regular racing continues for all divisions. Gates
open at 5pm with racng at 7pm. For more information call (724) 853-RACE, or
visit our website at

Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Race Summary

QPI Tools Late Models:
Heat Race Winners: Jim Zarin, DJ Miller
Feature (25 Laps): 1. Keith Barbara, South Park 2. Ben Miley, Venetia 3.
Jason Cisson, Houston 4. Mike Cecere, Baldwin 5. Dave Wade, Pittsburgh 6. Lou
Bradich 7. Jim Zarin 8. Rick Heim 9. Jim Lepro 10. DJ Miller 11. Drew Koteles
12. Rody Exposito 13. Ed Ferree 14. Rick Armstrong 15. Mark Moats 16. Matt

Limited Late Models:
Heat Race Winners: Bob Damron, Tony Musolino
Feature (20 Laps) 1. Al Atallah, Carnegie 2. Wayne Tessean, Austintown OH 3.
George Kowatic, Moon Twp. 4. Jon Hodgkiss, Kennedy Twp. 5. Tony Musolino,
Scott Twp. 6. Brian Laraway 7. Louie Bradich 8. Kirk Young 9. Mark Kelly 10.
Jim Rozum 11. Tom Duratz 12. Tom Schirnhofer 13. Mike Morgan 14. Danny Rich
15. Bob Damron 16. George Bland 17. Bobby Castelveter (DNS) 18. Pete Loria

Heat Race Winners: Jeff Sharp, Scott Gunn
Feature (15 Laps) 1. Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2. Jeff Broniszewski,
Coraopolis 3. Scott Gunn, West Mifflin 4. Jeff Sharp, Salem OH 5. Ralph
Hysong Jr., Shippenport 6. Stush Sadowsky 7. Jeff Bametzrider 8. Kurt
Halbedl 9. Mike Anderson 10. Bobby Bongiorni 11. Chris Dickson 12. Fred
Varney 13. Vince Laboon 14. Ray Brown (DNS)

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks:
Heat Race Winners: Darryl Robison, Doug Foster
Feature (15 Laps) 1. Charlie DiLoreto, South Fayette 2. Craig Kamicker,
Hopewell 3. Jimmy Arnold, Bethel Park 4. Stacie White, Heidelberg 5. Rich
Apolito, Carnegie 6. Brian Scheller 7. Darryl Robison 8. AJ Poljak 9. Joe
Anthony 10. Doug Foster 11. Len Dobrosielski 12. Bob Betz 13. Mike McKee 14.
Dave Beck

Amateur Strictly Stocks:
Feature: 1. Josh Langer, Oakdale 2. Bob Siemon, Castle Shannon 3. John Cain,
Pittsburgh, 4. Skeets Levandosky, Finleyville 5. Bob Schwartzmiller, Robinson
Twp 6. Glenn Knopp 7. Ted Beaver 8. Ian Tomei 9. Adam Chytil

Back to the Archives