Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Scott Dedwylder Victorious at Columbus Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 21, 2001 10:39 AM UIN: 16262997
Scott Dedwylder Victorious at Columbus Speedway

Columbus, Mississippi-Twin State area race fans were treated to another
compelling night of racing action at the rejuvenated Columbus Speedway. Once
again a huge throng of competitors filled the pits with over ninety
different race cars on hand to do battle on the thrilling 3/10's mile high
banked clay oval. The Main events of the evening were the Spring
Championship for the Pro Street class along with the Cruiser division Spring
Championship and another impressive twenty four car field of Super Late

Action got underway with Pole Qualifying in the Pro
Street class and Steen's driver Bill Sudduth claimed the Pole Award with a
fast time of 16.09-seconds for the Pro Street class. The Super Late Model
division had Pontotoc's Steve Russell set a blistering fast time of 13.86
second lap to claim the provisional Pole Award. Russell had to withdraw from
competition due to engine problems and "Spectacular" Scott Dedwylder
inherited the provisional pole.
Dedwylder took over the Pole Man chores, drew a zero for the inversion
resulting a straight up start. The personable young Super Late Model
chauffeur went flag to flag in the 30 lap main event driving his Mind Bender
New Media sponsored Robert Brown SAS Spec powered GRT Grand Prix to claim
his first win of the 2001 season. Dedwylder of Vossburg, Mississippi became
the eighth different winner in the Super Late Model division at Columbus
Speedway in the competitive 2001 season. Rick Rickman of Columbus finished
second after challenging Dedwylder for the lead throughout the much of the
main event. Rickman also regained the Columbus Speedway points lead as
previous points leader Shawn Edwards went two laps down early in the event
with mechanical issues.
Scott Shepherd of Berry, AL continues to improve and reap the benefits of
racing against the area's best and finished off the podium with a strong
third place run. Vaiden's Terry Wilson was a consistent fourth and Joe D.
Hollis of Columbus slipped into fifth position in the late stages of the
event to complete the top five finishers.
Paul Robinson of Tupelo picked up the win in the Pro Street Spring
Championship event in his B&C Performance engine powered Crump Body and
Paint sponsored Camaro. Wild Bill Sudduth set fast time with a 16.09 but
lost a right rear tire coming off turn four which triggered and wild front
stretch incident, which sidelined him and Tuscaloosa's Rusty Duncan as the
two were battling for second position.
Robinson was followed by Caledonia's Randy Bush, along with Columbus
residents Terry Atkins, "Big" Ed Atkins, and Ken Shirey completing the top
five finishers.
Jason Hollis of Pickensville, Alabama won another Mississippi Modified Main
with a white flag lap pass over Talladega, Alabama's Jamie Gowers. Gowers
and his cousin Scotty Gowers, who finished third, were on town because of
the bounty money on Jason Hollis. The bounty now has grown to $250 in
addition to the first place prize money for winning. Needless to say Jamie
Gowers and Hollis exchanged less than friendly comments after the race in
Victory Lane as Gowers was not pleased with tactics used by Hollis to make
the winning pass. Completing the top five behind Hollis and the Gowers were
Columbus based drivers Brian Hollis and Randall Reedwood.
The always action packed Street Stock division had another 2001 season first
time winner as Northport, Alabama's Jimmy Rogers claimed the win in his
Alabama Wholesale Tires sponsored racecar. Columbus hometown heroes Lee Ray
and Tim White finished second and third and are also tied for the points
lead for the track championship. West Point's Danny Gable was fourth and
Marvin Beard finished fifth in the large field on entrants.
The Mini Stock division had Buddy Glover of Vernon, Alabama pick up his
second consecutive feature event win in his Ford Mustang for the four
cylinder racer. Mini Stock point's leader Tim Ritter of Amory was second
followed by Scott Gable, Ryan Higdon, and Greg Glover. The Pro 4 Main event
victory went to Reform, Alabama's Jimmy Beachler with Northport's David
Goins in tow, followed by James Blakney, Steve Lowe, Wyman Blakney
completing the top five.
The new and rapidly growing two person Cruiser division had ten cars on hand
to compete for their Spring Championship event. The first time ever racing
duo of Richard Barton and Racer X claimed the win, trophy, and big money.
Columbus Speedway will host a Full racing Program this Saturday night May
26th. Next special events include the USCS Sprint Cars on June 9th and the
Southern All Star Super Late Model Series on June 23rd. For event
information please call the Columbus Speedway hotline at 662-241-5004 or
visit the Columbus Speedway Internet home at
Grandstand gates open at 5:30pm with racing at 8pm.

Super Late Model feature winner Scott Dedwylder in Victory Lane.

Scott Dedwylder at speed on the Columbus Speedway high banks.

Back to the Archives