Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Woods bides time; picks up win #1 @ Dodge County
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 20, 2001 11:28 AM UIN: 16262997
Woods bides time; picks up win #1

It was an excellent night of racing from the fan’s viewpoint. A very smooth but slippery track provided for plenty of side by side racing as the cars skated through the corners. Mild weather finally showed up in Dodge County and a nice crowd was treated to some exciting competition. Nick Woods used his front row start to lead many laps and stay in the top 5 the whole race. As the race wore on it became apparent that Woods might have to settle for a top 5 finish, but the leaders tangled with 2 laps to go and it allowed Woods to jump into the lead and go on to the victory. It was Woods first career feature win in the IMCA Modified division. In the IMCA Stock class Jeremy Christians still has a strangle hold on the competition with his closest rival being Jeff Owens who has finished second to Christians three straight times. The DCRA Pure Stocks overcame multiple spins to put on a tight race between the front seven cars. Craig Lepple would hang on to the lead the entire race to take the win.

The PowerAde Kids Club is growing at a fast rate forcing the Speedway to have two JR Hot Rod races. Darryl Burrow and Aaron Westover both picked up wins and trophies courtesy of Rich Photos. The Drivers Who Care challenge donated over two hundred dollars to Big Brothers Big Sisters by voting for their favorite driver. The top 5 vote receivers also had a fast dash to determine the most caring driver with the win going to Jay Schraufnagel.

In Modified action, Nick Woods jumped into the early lead over a tight field of cars. Woods was pressured constantly by Dennis Schultz and Tim Lemirande but would lead to the halfway point when Schultz drove underneath for the lead. A caution came out on lap 12 when fourth place Dave Schoenberger spun and stalled. The caution was a break for both defending champion Jay Schraufnagel and last week’s rollover Scott Lewis. Both drivers were coming through the pack nicely when they suffered flat tires. The caution allowed them to change tires without losing a lap. As the race got underway, they came through the field a second time to finish seventh and eighth respectively. Schultz led after the restart but was being viciously hounded by Lemirande. Each driver traded the lead multiple times per lap with Dale Boerschinger, having won the B-Main, moving into third just out of striking distance.
Lemirande continued to pressure Schultz but on lap 18 it all came to an end. As the two entered turn three side by side, contact was made spinning Schultz and sending Lemirande into the wall. After racing so close and the adrenaline level being high, heated words were exchanged on the track between the two competitive drivers. Boerschinger led to the restart but it was Woods who drove around him for the lead in the first turn with Kelly Brown in tow. Brown was unable to challenge for the lead though, as Woods became the third different modified winner in three races.

Once again it only took two laps for Jeremy Christians to take the lead in the IMCA Stock race. Although no one challenged him there was plenty of tight racing through the rest of the field. Packs of equal cars formed allowing for multiple races within the race itself. Roger Johnson was trying to hold off Jeff Owens for second and Scott Erdmann and his new power plant held off Rob Schmid and Elroy Thrun for fourth. By halfway, Owens had dispatched Johnson but could not catch Christians. Christians would go on to pick up his third straight victory. It appears that it is only a matter of time though before Owens picks up a win. It’s been a good season so far for the IMCA Stock class, nearly no accidents and few cautions have marred the racing.

The first caution flew early for the pure stocks as multiple cars spun on various parts of the track. Darrell Bittner received the most damage of all the cars that spun and retired for the night. Craig Lepple led to the next caution on lap 4 for debris with 6 cars tightly grouped behind him. They would go green the rest of the way with the front seven having virtually no separation between them. Lepple stayed in the lead with help from Trevor Schmidt and Steve Seitz. Schmidt and Seitz were battling so hard for second that it allowed Lepple to pull away a fraction each lap. Right behind the battle for second, another duel formed between Jim Steger Jason Behring and Nate Schepp. The front pack was so tight that if a driver bobbled he would lose a couple of positions. Lepple hung on for the win as Schmidt beat out Seitz for second. Steger and Behring rounded out the top 5.

Sunland Enterprises, operators of the Speedway’s concession stand, is sponsoring next weeks races with round one of the Powder Puff races also taking place. Also the annual Race Into Summer event will take place at Swan City Park in Beaver Dam on Sunday, May 27th. There will be plenty of activities, food and racing for everyone, especially the kids both young and old.


IMCA Modified:
Feature: 1) Nick Woods, Beaver Dam; 2) Kelly Brown, Randolph; 3) Dale Boerschinger, Green Bay; 4) Andy Voigt, Beaver Dam; 5) Casey Koch, Beaver Dam; 6) Terry Broesch, WI Dells; 7) Jay Schraufnagel, Beaver Dam; 8) Scott Lewis, Waukau; 9) Keith Schmidt, Beaver Dam; 10) Kevin Kleinschmidt, Fond Du Lac
B-Main: 1) Dale Boerschinger; 2) Kurt TerBeest, Markesan; 3) Kevin Kleinschmidt; 4) Al Strobel, Woodland; 5) Tim Gardiner, Escanaba MI
First Heat: 1) Nick Woods; 2) Scott Magsman, DeForest; 3) Dennis Haldemann, Janesville; 4) Keith Schmidt
Second Heat: 1) Jim Kaul, Grafton; 2) Kelly Brown; 3) Dave Schoenberger, Beaver Dam; 4) Scott Lewis
Third Heat: 1) Jay Schraufnagel; 2) Andy Voigt; 3) Tim Lemirande, Verona; 4) Terry Broesch
Fourth Heat: 1) Dan Musbach, Grafton; 2) Dennis Schultz, Oshkosh; 3) Sammy Strasser, Beaver Dam; 4) Casey Koch

IMCA Stock:
Feature: 1) Jeremy Christians, Horicon; 2) Jeff Owens, Randolph; 3) Roger Johnson, Saukville; 4) Scott Erdmann, Juneau; 5) Rob Schmid, Burnett; 6) Elroy Thrun, Horicon; 7) Tim Paitrick, Beaver Dam; 8) John Stanton, Reeseville; 9) Kevin Renk, Ripon; 10 ) Jerry Schaalma, Juneau
First Heat: 1) Jeff Owens; 2) Tim Paitrick; 3) Roger Johnson
Second Heat: 1) Jeremy Christians; 2) Scott Erdmann; 3) Jerry Schaalma

DCRA Pure Stock:
Feature: 1) Craig Lepple, Beaver Dam; 2) Trevor Schmidt, Hartford; 3) Steve Seitz, Beaver Dam; 4) Jim Steger, Beaver Dam; 5) Jason Behring, Beaver Dam; 6) Nate Schepp, Juneau; 7) Nathan Hodgson, Horicon; 8) Chris Reinwald, Horicon; 9) Randy Schimmel, Beaver Dam; 10) Bob Mann, Reeseville
First Heat: 1) Steve Seitz; 2) Jason Behring; 3) Nate Schepp
Second Heat: 1) Chris Reinwald; 2) Darrell Bittner, Horicon; 3) Bob Mann

Back to the Archives