Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 20, 2001 08:07 AM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA - Duplicating their performance of three weeks ago, Ed Ferree
of Saxonburg and Venetia's Ben Miley drove to victory lane in the QPI Tools
Late Model Twin 20's Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Wayne Tessean of Austintown, OH captured his second Limited Late Model win.
Calcutta, OH's Larry Kugel roared to his fifth checkered flag in the
E-Modifieds. Rich Apolito of Carnegie won his fourth straight Isiminger's
Pennzoil Pure Stock feature, and Bobby Siemon of Castle Shannon took top
honors in the Amateur Stocks.

An invert six start saw Ferree start from the pole in the first QPI Late
Model 20-lapper. As he did a week ago, Ferree dominated from start to finish
in notching his third win of the season. Fifth starting Mark Banal finished
second, with Mike Johnson third, Keith Barbara fourth and Jason Cisson fifth.
Rounding out the top ten were: Mike Cecere, D.J. Miller, Jim Lepro, Ben Miley
and Steve Shaver.

The second half of the QPI Twin bill put Shaver and Miley on the front row
with Ferree and Banal in row five. Miley held off Shaver's early challenges
to set the pace while Ferree charged his way to third. Miley appeared to have
things in hand until a bobble with six laps remaining brought Shaver and
Ferree to his door step. Ferree shot by Shaver for second on lap sixteen, and
it appeared any of the top three could win. Miley regained the fast lane over
the final circuits to claim his third win of the season. Ferree, Shaver, Jim
Lepro, and Barbara were second through fifth respectively. Miller, Banal,
Johnson, Cecere and Dave Wade completed the top ten. Johnson and Banal won
the heat races, and Matt Sherlock and Ferree were the Monarch Oil Hard

Wayne Tessean led wire to wire in the Limited Late Model feature. Al Atallah
was second, Bob Damron third, Brian Laraway fourth and George Kowatic fifth.
Six through ten were: Danny Rich, Bobby Castelveter, Mike Morgan, Pete Loria
and Tony Musolino. Laraway was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Kowatic and
Rich captured the preliminaries.

Following the lead of the preceding winners, Larry Kugel led from the drop of
the green to the waving of the checkered flag in the E-Modifieds for his
career leading 65th win at PPMS. Ralph Hysong Jr. had another good run for
second. Scott Gunn was third, Mike Anderson fourth and Bobby Bongiorni fifth.
Rounding out the top ten were: Kurt Halbedl, Vince Laboon, Fred Varney, Russ
Matejka and Logan Dernoshek. Dernoshek and Gunn were the heat race winners.
Anderson was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Ron O'Patchin and Rich Apolito swapped the lead for the first four circuits
of the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature. Apolito took the lead for
good on lap four and never looked back in registering his sixth win in seven
weeks of racing. Doug Foster was second, O'Patchin (subbing for Charlie
DiLoreto) third, Neal Isiminger fourth and Dave Beck fifth. Completing the
top ten were: Craig Kamicker, Brian Scheller, A.J. Poljak, Mike McKee and Bob
Betz. Foster was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. O'Patchin and Apolito took the
heat race wins.

After a side-by-side duel with Ian Tomei in the Amateur Stock feature, Bobby
Siemon prevailed over Tomei, Joshua Langer, Glenn Knopp Jr, and Butch Fraser.

This Saturday, May 26th, the QPI Tools Late Models, Limited Late Models,
E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Amateur Stocks return to
action. Plus, a Demolition Derby will be held after the races. Gates open at
5pm and the races start at 7pm. For more information call (724) 853-RACE or
visit our web site at


QPI Tools Late Models.
Heat Race Winners: Mike Johnson, Mark Banal
1st 20 Lap Feature: 1. Ed Ferree, Saxonburg 2. Mark Banal, St. Clairsville
OH, 3. Mike Johnson, Imperial 4. Keith Barbara, Library 5. Jason Cisson,
Houston 6. Mike Cecere 7. DJ Miller 8. Jim Lepro 9. Ben Miley 10. Steve
Shaver 11. Dave Wade 12. Rick Heim 13. Mark Moats 14. Matt Sherlock 15. Chuck
Moury 16. Steve Fife 17. Jim Zarin 18. Joe Campbell 19. Doug Crawford 20. Lou
Bradich (DNS) 21. Drew Koteles (DNS) 22. Rody Exposito (DNS)

2nd 20 Lap Feature: 1. Ben Miley, Venetia 2. Ed Ferree, Saxonburg 3. Steve
Shaver, Parkersburg, WV 4. Jim Lepro, Midway 5. Keith Barbara, Library 6. DJ
Miller 7. Mark Banal 8. Mike Johnson 9. Mike Cecere 10. Dave Wade 11. Mark
Moats 12. Rick Heim 13. Jason Cisson 14. Matt Sherlock 15. Chuck Moury 16.
Steve Fife 17. Jim Zarin (DNS) 18. Joe Campbell (DNS) 19. Doug Crawford (DNS)
20. Lou Bradich (DNS) 21. Drew Koteles (DNS) 22. Rody Exposito (DNS)

Limited Late Models.
Heat Race Winners: George Kowatic, Danny Rich
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Wayne Tessean, Austintown OH 2. Al Atallah, Carnegie 3.
Bob Damron, Wintersville OH 4. Brian Laraway, Irwin 5. George Kowatic, Moon
Twp. 6. Danny Rich 7. Bobby Castelveter 8. Mike Morgan 9. Pete Loria 10. Tony
Musolino 11. Kirk Young 12. Tom Schirnhofer 13. George Bland 14. Curtis Youst
15. Jon Hodgkiss 16. Mark Kelly 17. Tom Bateman 18. Jim Rozum (DNS) 19. Davy
Hahn (DNS)

Heat Race Winners: Logan Dernoshek, Scott Gunn
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2. Ralph Hysong, Shippingport
3. Scott Gunn, West Mifflin 4. Mike Anderson, Harmony 5. Bobby Bongiorni,
Burgettstown 6. Kurt Halbedl 7. Vince Laboon 8. Fred Varney 9. Russ Matejka
10. Logan Dernoshek 11. Matt Smith 12. Randy McElheney 13. Jeff Bametzrider

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks.
Heat Race Winners: Ron O'patchin, Rich Apolito
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Rich Apolito, Carnegie 2. Doug Foster, Kennedy Twp. 3.
Ron O'Patchin, Pgh. 4. Neal Isiminger, Washington 5. Dave Beck, Imperial 6.
Craig Kamicker 7. Brian Scheller 8. A. J. Poljak 9. Mike McKee 10. Bob Betz
11. Stacie White 12. Jimmy Arnold 13. Darryl Robison 14. Mark Jaworski 15.
Joe Anthony (DNS)

Amateur Strictly Stocks.
Feature (10 Laps): 1. Bob Siemon, Castle Shannon 2. Ian Tomei, Stowe Twp. 3.
Josh Langer, Oakdale 4. Glenn Knopp, E. Palestine OH 5. Aaron Fraser, Rogers
OH 6. Steve Levandosky 7. Ted Beaver 8. John Cain 9. Gabe Hahka 10. Harry

Back to the Archives