Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Brightbill Back In Winning Form At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 20, 2001 07:58 AM UIN: 16262997
Brightbill Back In Winning Form At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (May 19) - Modified legend Kenny Brightbill of Sinking Spring,
PA, finally solved the mechanical glitch that put him on the DNQ list the
last three weeks, and showed his old shine Saturday night, nipping defending
division champ Billy Pauch by .021 seconds at the line to win a breathtaking
battle of the titans at New Egypt Speedway.

"We finally got that fuel problem straightened out," said Brightbill, New
Egypt's sixth different Modified winner in the eight races run thus far this
season. "When we can get fuel to the motor, it really runs."

Brightbill started the race from an uncharacteristic perch on the pole, due
to his hair-pulling problems of the weeks prior, but the race was no
"gimme." Brightbill had to tussle side-by-side through the first 10 laps
with a tough Tim Tanner Jr. who was using the high line to his advantage.
When Brightbill finally grabbed the point, on a lap 12 restart, he found
himself with feature winners Brian Weaver and Pauch hot on his tail.
Brightbill did cruise for a spell while Pauch, Weaver and a rail-running
Bobby Drayton duked it out. Pauch disposed of the two and started to stalk
Brightbill for real in the last five. With lapped traffic making the finish
a hair-raiser, the two titans passed each other no less than four times in
the final laps. The two sandwiched a lapped car to come across the stripe
almost dead-even, with the scoring computer calculating Brightbill the
winner by a whisker. Pauch was second, with Weaver third, Drayton fourth and
Tanner Jr. in fifth.

Jack Swain of Mt. Laurel, NJ, held off a charging Rich Scagliotta to score
his first of the year in the 20-lap Sportsman feature event. Scagliotta,
Chris Wasson, Brien Ely and early leader Dom Buffalino trailed Swain at the

Bordentown, NJ's Billy Bauma scored his first of the season in the Street
Stock division, overcoming Kory Fleming, Ralph Gargiulo, division points
leader Billy Bauer and Rich Page II for the victory.

After Professor Jim Potts awarded diplomas to the Rookie Class of 2001
during formal graduation ceremonies, the Mid-State Communications Rookie
Sportsman series concluded as it began with Dave Seip of Hightstown, NJ,
walking off with his fifth win in seven races in the extra distance/double
points finale. Seip was also crowned the Rookie champion, collecting $500
from Mid-State Communications for his efforts.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Brightbill (Mods, 18.353), Scagliotta (Sportsman, 19.507)
and Fleming (Street Stock, 20.532).

Next week, New Egypt Speedway will pay tribute to our fighting men and women
with the track's annual Medal of Honor 50 for Modifieds. Sportsman and
Street Stocks complete the card, and there'll be a Memorial Day tribute to
disabled American veterans. Racing starts at 6 p.m., with gates opening at
3:30 p.m. Adult admission is $16, children 7-12 are $5, and kids 6 and under
are free. For more information, call the track at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.Weaver 3.Hoffman 4.Infante 5.Bohn 6.Drayton
2nd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Grosso Jr. 3.Butler 4.Bitner 5.McCaughey 6.Carberry
3rd Heat: 1.VanGorder 2.Moss 3.Pauch 4.Hager 5.Dmuchowski 6.Hendershot
B Main: 1.Worthington 2.Cozze 3.Velenger 4.R.Godown 5.Cox 6.Miloszar (Fan
Prov: Adams)
Feature (30 laps):
1.Kenny Brightbill 2.Billy Pauch 3.Brian Weaver 4.Bob Drayton 5.Tim Tanner
Jr. 6.Frank Cozze 7.Rick Grosso Jr. 8.Mark Bitner 9.Keith Hoffman 10.Fred
Dmuchowski 11.Rocco Infante 12.Bob Worthington 13.Steve Moss 14.Darren
McCaughey 15.Phil Cox 16.Gary Velenger 17.Tom Hager 18.Gary Butler 19.Eddie
Bohn 20.Art Adams 21.Doug Ostwald 22.Scott VanGorder 23.Mike Hendershot
24.Tom Carberry 25.John Miloszar Jr.
DNS: Ryan Godown
DNQ: Matt Kaminskas, Korey Keimig, Larry McVay, Sam Martz.

Rookie Feature (12 Laps): 1.Dave Seip 2.Beavers 3.Raisner 4.Fattori
5.Mennuti 6.Boyce 7.McTighe 8.Woolston 9.Moran 10.Wiszniewski 11.Weeks
12.McBride 13.Van Schuyler 14.Ramsey 15.Butler 16.Gorbatuk 17.J.Papiez
1st Heat: 1.Wasson 2.R.Godown 3.Buffalino 4.Fleming 5.Ely 6.McClelland
2nd Heat: 1.Kessler 2.Toth 3.B.Godown 4.Swain 5.Ploski III 6.Liedl
3rd Heat: 1.Marra Sr. 2.Hoffman 3.Scagliotta 4.Reutter Jr. 5.Tomasko
1st B Main: 1.Kline 2.Carpenter 3.Reid 4.McCloughan 5.Pearson
2nd B Main: 1.Stravinsky 2.Flesch 3.Mongiello III 4.Snook 5.M.Papiez
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Jack Swain 2.Rich Scagliotta 3.Chris Wasson 4.Brien Ely 5.Dominick
Buffalino 6.Mike Toth 7.Brian Godown 8.Jeff Carpenter 9.Brian Pearson
10.Matt Papiez 11.Doug Liedl 12.Stan Ploski III 13.Keith Fleming 14.John
McClelland 15.Tom Tomasko 16.Dave Seip 17.Gene Stravinsky 18.Paul Marra Sr.
19.Phil McCloughan 20.Mike Mongiello III 21.Scott Reid 22.Chuck Flesch
23.Kyle Morrison 24.Ryan Godown 25.Dave Hoffman 26.John Snook 27.Mike
Reutter Jr. 28.Mickey Kessler 29.Donnie Kline
DNQ: Rick Raisner, Darrell Delnero, Bob Kaelin, Rich McTighe, Anthony Moran,
Rob Pfister, Pat McBride, J.C. Mears, Andy Weeks, Christiaan Van Schuyler,
Jim Mennuti, Dave Gorbatuk, Jeff Geiges, Bruce Leote, Joe Papiez, Keith
Foster, Doug Boyce, Dave Wiszniewski, Lew Ramsey, Dave Woolston, Rick
Beavers, Mike Fattori, Rich Kuiken, Scott Butler.

1st Heat: 1.Berardi 2.Jn.Hewitt 3.R.Page II 4.Unfried 5.Gerber 6.Jm. Hewitt
2nd Heat: 1.Bauma 2.Collier 3.Melton 4.Apgar 5.Wagner 6.Bauer
3rd Heat: 1.Conaway 2.Fleming 3.Whitehouse 4.Nixon 5.Gargiulo 6.Cheney III
B Main: 1.Freiberger 2.Quinlan 3.M.Page 4.Bubeck 5.Miscoski 6.Garey
Feature (15 laps):1.Billy Bauma 2.Kory Fleming 3.Ralph Gargiulo 4.Billy
Bauer 5.Rich Page II 6.Bill Gerber 7.Pat Conaway 8.Al Cheney III 9.Carol
Whitehouse 10. Tim Apgar 11.Larry Bubeck 12.George Unfried 13.George Quinlan
14.Mario Page 15.John Hewitt 16.Brian Wagner 17.Evan Berardi 18.Brian Nixon
19.Jim Hewitt 20.Joe Garey 21.Pat Freiberger 22.Robert Mellon 23.Bill
Miscoski 24.Weldon Collier
DNQ: Todd Dige, Art Avery, Al Burdge, Richie Byrne, Norman Saxton, Kevin
Bifulco, Spider Ensinger, Joel Quick, Blair Guker III, Steve Barnes, Jake

Back to the Archives