Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 19, 2001 03:45 PM UIN: 16262997
For Immediate Release May 18, 2001

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Under threatening skies and an occasional drizzle here and
there, Mike Blose of Dayton returned to Dog Hollow Speedway Friday night and
picked up the #1 Cochran Late Model feature win. Shawn "Sheets" McGarvey of
Coalport won his second Hugill Sanitation Limited Late Model feature, while
Lou Gentile of Hubbard, OH won the small block/six cylinder modified main
event. Shawn Mogle of Ernest won his first street stock feature of the year
while John Kuzemchak of Fallentimber won his first pure stock main.
Rodney Phillips and Rick Davis led the #1 Cochran Late Models to the start,
with Phillips taking the lead and Davis settling into second. As the pair
headed off the corner, the field was four wide through turns one and two.
Phillips led first two laps before Mike "The Red Barron" Blose shot Hot Rod
Rodney "Snoopy" Phillips down.
While Blose may have led the remaining 18 laps, Phillips continued to reel
him in, but could not get the right groove and could not power by for the
win. The top five were: Blose, Phillips, Davis, Tony Raneri and Duane
Stiner. Mike Blose and Tony Raneri won the heats.
The Hugill Sanitation Limited Late Model feature saw Jerry Timchak lead
Dwayne Bash into the first turn. Timchak led the opening three laps before
Jerry Lower took he lead exiting turn four. Lowers time out front was short
lived as Shawn McGarvey was coming from 12th very fast, and on lap five
McGarvey assumed the lead. Once out front the race was over, as McGarvey
went on to collect his second win of the young season. Lower was second,
Dave Lee was third, Timchak was fourth and Bill Krause was fifth. Dave Lee
and Shawn McGarvey split the prelims.
The modified feature was all Lou Gentile. He took the lead from George
Sankey at the start and never relinquished it. Mike Stine came from third
and tried to overtake the #1 Emig modified, but came home short. The top
five were: Gentile, Stine, Bob Garvey, Red Fordyce and Harold Michaels. Bob
Garvey won the heat.
Shawn Mogle led the street stock main from start to finish, with heavy
pressure the entire distance from Bill Pluta and Leroy Pershing. As the race
neared the concluion Mike Laughard closed in and took over second and
started to close on Mogle, but short on laps. The top five were: Mogle,
Laughard, Pluta, Jeff Enos and Jim Boyer. Jeff Enos and Mike Laughard split
the heats.
George Scanlan led Tim Laughard to the first turn in pure stocks action, and
led all the way. The best race was for second between a number of drivers,
but the race for second became a race for the win, as Scanlan was later
disqualified. Kuzemchak started from fourth, then he fell back and battled
back to finish second, then be awarded the win after Scanlan was
disqualified. Bill Sigafoes, Terry Nihart, John Mazey and Charlie Boring
took the top five. Kuzemchak and Neil Berndt won the heats.
DOG TRACKS: There were 83 cars in the pits, including: 19 late models, 16
limited late models, 9 modifieds, 23 street stocks and 16 pure action was completed by 9:30 p.m...This week is the first of
four Thunder Dog Challenges with Thunder Valley Raceway.The McDonalds School
Buses will make their first visit to the track on June 8th..Gates will open
at 5:30 with racing set for 7:30 every week at the speedway where the
drivers really howl...Dog Hollow.
#1 COCHRAN LATE MODELS: 1. Mike Blose, Dayton; 2. Rodney Phillips, Punxsy;
3. Rick Davis, Indiana; 4. Tony Raneri, Johnstown; 5. Duane Stiner,
Houtzdale; 6. Dave Satterlee, Rochester Mills; 7.John Britsky, Indiana; 8.
Dave Peterman, Indiana; 9. Paul Michny, Pine Flats; 10. John Yamrick,

HUGILL SANITATION LIMITED LATE MODELS: 1. Shawn McGarvey, Coalport; 2. Jerry
Lower, Williamsburg; 3. Dave Lee, Windber; 4. Jerry Timchak, Houtzdale; 5.
Bill Krause, Houtzdale; 6. Dan Lee, Windber; 7. Dwayne Bash, Clymer; 8. Bill
Krause, Somerset; 9. Tim Mullen, Ebensburg; 10. Bob Kelly, East Freedom.

MODIFIEDS: 1. Lou Gentile, Hubbard, OH; 2. Mike Stine, Smithmill; 3. Bob
Garvey, Allport; 4. Red Fordyce, Strongstown; 5. Howard Mishaels, Mercer; 6.
Mark Frankhouser, Philipsburg; 7. Marvin Williams, Tyrone; 8. Dave George,
Leechberg; 9. George Sankey, Osceola Mills.

STREET STOCKS: 1. Shawn Mogle, Ernest; 2. Mike Laughard, Strongstown; 3.
Bill Pluta, Carinbrook; 4. Jeff Enos, Blairsville; 5. Jim Boyer, Indiana; 6.
Leroy Pershing, Cookport; 7. John Weaver, Commodore; 8. Rich Britton,
Johnstown; 9. Ernie Lute, Northern Cambria; 10. Bob Bean, Emlenton.

PURE STOCKS: 1. John Kuzemchak, Fallentimber; 2. Bill Sigafoes, Blairsville;
3. Terry Nihart, Ebensburg; 4. John Mazey, Bolivar; 5. Chralie Boring,
Bolivar; 6.Neil Berndt, Northern Cambria; 7. Scott Wagner, Irvona; 8. Ron
Hanna, Mundy's Corner; 9. Joe Weakland, Nanty Glo; 10. Matt Summers,

Back to the Archives