Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   North Alabama Speedway results from Friday, May 18
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 19, 2001 01:44 PM UIN: 16262997
North Alabama Speedway results from Friday, May 18

Mike Holloway bolted into the lead at the onset of Friday's rainout
makeup feature and twenty four laps. Unfortunately the feature event was
twenty five laps long and Brandon King got by the Muscle Shoals upstart
on the final lap to rain on Mike's parade, so to speak. Holloway just
keeps coming up short in his efforts to grab that elusive first ever
win. Don't lose heart Mike, it is coming soon! Following the lead duo
were Ricky Steen, new point leader Mark Sartain and Les Howell.
The Wrigley family out of Chicago provided last night's theme for the
evening as Brandon King echoed the chewing gum magnates famous words,
"Double your Pleasure and Double your Fun" as King again rained on
someone's parade by passing Talladega's, Ricky Stinson with two laps to
go to pick up his second win of the night. King led only three laps last
night in both features but they were the ones that counted! The regular
Late Model feature saw points leader Mark Sartain lead the fist three
laps before Stinson slid by to take the point. Three laps later Sartain
retook the lead. Sartain would lead until lap thirteen when the high
flying Stinson retook the point. Stinson continued to lead as King got
by Sartain for the runner-up spot on lap fourteen then set sail for
Stinson. Stinson pushed up going into turn one on lap twenty four and
King pounced on his opportunity by taking the lead and thus his second
win of the night. Sartain was third with Mark Fields taking fourth.
Defending Champion, Jerry Jackson quietly moved from eleventh spot on
lap twelve to finish fifth. Sartain was the fastest qualifier at 15225.

Late Model Feature
1) Brandon King
2) Ricky Stinson
3) Mark Sartain
4) Mark Fields
5) Jerry Jackson
6) William Burns
7) Les Howell
8) Joey McKinney
9) Daniel Miller
10) Dustin Reece

Late Model Makeup Feature
1) Brandon King
2) Mike Holloway
3) Ricky Steen
4) Mark Sartain
5) Les Howell
6) William Burns
7) Daniel Miller
8) Wayne Burns
9) Joey McKinney
10) Nolan Smith

In the Open Wheel modified feature, Randy Todd topped a determined
Derek White for the win in the nights rainout makeup feature then fought
back an even more determined Scotty Gowers in the nights regular main
event. Gowers led for the first four laps then spun and went to the
rear. Gowers charged toward the front again but looped the car a second
time on lap eight while in fourth. The former Talladega Short Track
champion didn't earn that title by giving up and as you might figure,
Gowers redoubled his efforts and charged back towards the front finally
finishing a close second to the night's second double winner, Randy
Todd. Jeff Tate's first visit to NAS saw the Huntland, Tennessee
youngster have a great run to take third. Todd and Gowers were the heat
race winners.
Open Wheel
1) Randy Todd
2) Scotty Gowers
3) Jeff Tate
4) Wayne Jones
5) Michael Burgess

Open Wheel Makeup Feature
1) Randy Todd
2) Derrick White
3) Scotty Gowers
4) Michael Burgess
5) Steve Reed

Len ****s led start to finish to win the caution filled Street Stock
main event as last weeks winner Chris Sims came from the rear in six
laps to grab second ahead of Robert Scott, who had his best run of 2001.
****s and Sims were the heat winners.
Street Stock
1) Len ****s
2) Chris Sims
3) Robert Scott
4) Aaron Brumbaloe
5) Eric Hughes Tim Nash regained his early season form and
picked up the heat race win and the feature win over Scottie Shaw and
point leader Dwayne Parsons. Parsons also won his heat race. In the
Makeup Renegade feature event, Scottie Shaw topped Tim Nash and Dwayne
1) Tim Nash
2) Scottie Shaw
3) Dwayne Parsons
4) Carey Johns
5) Doug Cross

Renegade Makeup Feature
1) Scottie Shaw
2) Tim Nash
3) Dwayne Parsons
4) Carey Johns
5) Tim Adams

Shane Parker won his heat race then bested Tommy Wallace in the Mini
Stock Main event as heat race winner Logan Mize was third. Shane also
doubled by taking the rainout makeup feature over Mize and Wallace.
Mini Stocks
1) Shane Parker
2) Tommy Wallace
3) Logan Mize
4) David Wallace
5) Robert Holden

Mini Stock Makeup Feature
1) Shane Parker
2) Logan Mize
3) Tommy Wallace
4) Cotton James
5) Robert Holden

Racing continues this coming Friday night with a special $1,000 to win,
"Shootout at the Shoals" for the Open Wheel Modifieds.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives