Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Bureau County Speedway 5-18-01 Results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 19, 2001 07:42 AM UIN: 16262997
Bureau County Speedway 5-18-01 Results Kathy Costerisan (815)875-2606
Princeton, IL

Sportsman Heat - 1 Steve Oeder, Princeton, 2 Chip Hickman, Walnut, 3
Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 4 Scott Cimei, Magnolia, 5 Gary Wetsel, Princeton, 6
Kory Rokey, Wyanet, 7 Don Bell, Sheffield, 8 Steve Wetsel, Bureau, 9
Jason Anderson, Princeton.

Sportsman DARE Feature - 1 Gary Wetsel, Princeton, 2 S. Wetsel, 3
Cimei, 4 Anderson, 5 Oeder, 6 Bell, 7 Rokey, 8 Hickman, 9 Moon

Modified Heat One - 1 Matt Moon, Wyanet, 2 Warren Meyers, Twin Lakes,
WI., 3 Tim Kimrey, Mendota, 4 Mike Garland, Morrison, 5 Mark Vervynck,
Kewanee, 6 Tom Jensen, Rutland
Modified Heat Two - 1 Marty Thompson, Mineral, 2 Ron Coletrain,
Sparland, 3 Mark Verbeck, Annawan, 4 Dave McCutchan, Princeton, 5 Jason
Hyerdall, Gurnee, 6 Jack Rebholz, Lacon, 7 Chuck Ostergaard, Gurnee.

Modified DARE Feature - 1 Marty Thompson, Mineral, 2 Kimrey, 3
Coletrain, 4 Verbeck, 5 Moon, 6 Jensen, 7 Hyerdall, 8 McCutchan, 9
Vervynck, 10 Garland, 11 Rebholz, 12 Ostergaard, 13 Meyers.

Late Model Heat - 1 Marty Thompson, Mineral, 2 Mike Cothron, Moline, 3
Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 4 Steve Morgan, Orangeville, 5 Jeff Grabill,
Princeton, 6 Jason Jaggers, Wyanet, 7 Johnny Johnson, Chillicothe, 8
Kevin Skipper, Fulton, 9 Todd Sandusky, Coal Valley.

Late Model DARE Feature - 1 Mike Cothron, Moline, 2 Jaggers, 3 Moon, 4
Skipper, 5 Morgan, 6 Thompson, 7 Johnson, 8 Grabill

Street Stock Heat - 1 Greg Leadley, Mendota, 2 Brian Lucas, Princeton,
3 Heather Thacker, Walnut, 4 Cliff Morse, Tiskilwa, 5 Randy Lucas,
Princeton, 6 Richie Bell, Sheffield, 7 Brad Carrington, Wyanet, 8 Keith
Lucas, Princeton, 9 Gary Leadley, Princeton

Street Stock DARE Feature - 1 Richie Bell, Sheffield, 2 R. Lucas, 3 G
Leadley, 4 K Lucas, 5 Morse, 6 Carrington, 7 B. Lucas, 8 Thacker, 9
Buddy Boyd, Polo.

Bomber Heat One - 1 Ande Bivens, New Bedford, 2 Craig Hoffman,
Princeton, 3 Eric Whittington, Princeton, 4 Aaron Carpenter, Annawan, 5
Nathan Balensiefen, Sheffield, 6 Rob Riley, Ohio
Bomber Heat Two - 1 Chris Hicks, Tiskilwa, 2 Justin Rutledge,
Princeton, 3 Adam Odell, Dover, 4 Eric Balensiefen, Princeton, 5 Scott
Mecum, Princeton, 6 Gary Clark, Princeton, 7 JD Rutledge, Ohio.

Bomber DARE Feature - 1 Eric "Spud" Balensiefen, Princeton, 2 Justin
Rutledge, 3 Odell, 4 Bivens, 5 Hoffman, 6 JD Rutledge, 7 Whittington, 8
N. Balensiefen, 9 Clark, 10 Carpenter, 11 Hicks, 12 Riley, 13 Mecum.

Bell Edges Lucas for Street Stock Feature

Richie Bell of Sheffield took his third Street Stock feature win
of the year Friday night at Bureau County Speedway in Princeton. Bell
didn't lead the race until they rounded turn four on the last lap,
heading for the checkered flag.
Randy Lucas had taken the lead from Cliff Morse on lap 10. Morse
slid back to third and Bell moved into second, running close behind
Lucas. On the last lap, Bell got up along side Lucas. Contact between
the cars got Lucas's car out of shape. Bell get around him with just a
few feet of track remaining before the finish line to take the DARE
feature win. Lucas finished second. Gary Leadley finished third and also
earlier won the Street Stock heat race.
Since the Bureau County Sheriff's DARE (Drug Abuse Resistance
Education) Program was the sponsor of Friday's races, they had a squad
car with a speed detector in it in the infield to use as a pace car.
During the heat races, the track was dry slick and the speed averages
were close between all of the classes. The Sportsman division ran around
60 mph while the Modifieds averaged around 63 mph. The Late Models were
only running 2 mph faster with a 65 mph average. The Street Stocks
leaders hit 54 mph and the Bombers were only 3 mph slower.
Mike Cothron of Moline came to race Friday night without a crew
and managed to pull off his first I.M.C.A. Late Model feature win of
the year at Bureau County Speedway.
Bryan Moon jumped out to a nice lead in the Late Model feature
and cruised away from the pack for the first ten laps. The caution came
out and bunched the field up behind him again. Cothron worked on Moon
for a couple of laps before taking over the lead. Moon held onto second
for a few more laps until Jason Jaggers got under him. Cothron pulled
away from the field as he headed for the checkered flag. Jaggers and
Moon finished second and third.
Marty Thompson won both the I.M.C.A. Late Model heat race and one
of the I.M.C.A. Modified heat races. He followed up his heat race wins
with his second I.M.C.A. Modified feature race win.
Mike Garland looked like he pretty well had the race in the bag
as he led the first half of the feature race. Garland's motor let go
which let the second place car of Ron Coletrain take over the lead.
Coletrain's lead was short lived as Thompson used the inside to take the
lead. Thompson took the checkered flags in the DARE Modified feature.
Tim Kimrey passed Coletrain with two laps to go to finish second. Matt
Moon won the other Modified heat race.
Gary Wetsel won his second Sportsman feature Friday night by
leading every lap of their 20 lap feature race. His brother, Steve
Wetsel finished second and Scott Cimei third.
Bryan Moon was running second when he had to come in to change a
flat tire. He had worked his way back up through the field to third
only to wreck when the second place car of Steve Oeder spun directly in
front of him, leaving him no way to avoid the wreck. Oeder was able to
continue on but Moon was done for the night.
Steve Wetsel and Cimei ran door to door, but Cimei had to settle
for a third place finish when he wasn't able to get around Wetsel.
Eric "Spud" Balensiefen came to the races with a freshly painted
and lettered Bomber car Friday night. The shiny new paint job must have
helped make the car faster as Spud led all 15 laps to take his first
Bomber feature win of the year. Justin Rutledge finished second. Adam
Odell and Ande Bivens rounded out the top four. Bivens and Chris Hicks
each won Bomber heat races.

Back to the Archives