Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Matt Taylor wins CarQuest Special at Farmer City
unregistered Total posts: 3279
posted May 16, 2001 08:24 PM
Matt Taylor wins CarQuest Special at Farmer City
By Darin Stewart
(Farmer City IL) Despite Winston Cup Star Ken Schrader being the focus of the evening, Matt Taylor of Springfield Illinois was the star, as he led all 25 laps for the feature win. After dueling fellow front row starter Ed Dixon, Taylor steadily pulled away a few car lengths, to take the win on the CarQuest Ken Schrader Night.

At the drop of the green Matt Taylor and Ed Dixon led the field to the green. Utilizing the top-side of the track, Taylor showed many of the traits of his father Dikk , and proved to be too much for Dixon aboard the Althoff/ Sieve/ Caseyís General Stores/ C.J. Rayburn, as he could get no closer than Taylorís back bumper. Taylor, aboard the Bill West Enterprises/ Hixson Racing Engine/ CJ Rayburn took his first win of the season at the Farmer City Raceway. Behind Dixon, Joe Ross Jr., Terry English, and Steve Hillard rounded out the top five. Hillard finished in the top five, despite an early race spin to avoid two spinning cars, and was sent to the tail, and made a strong run to finish 5th. Corey Turner, Ken Schrader, Bryan Clendenan, Roger Long and Mark Faust rounded out the top ten.

Schrader, aboard the Federated Auto Parts/ GRT put on quite a show for his fans as well, charging from his 14th starting position to running in the top 5 part of the race, before slipping a bit to finish 7th. Schrader, who had raced here previously in a midget and modified, was making his debut in the late models, after testing the two previous days in Dover Delaware in the M&Mís Winston Cup Car.

Joe Ross Jr. took fast time honors with a time of 12.972. A special note on qualifying, featured Justin Allgaier, a 14 year old sensation turning in 2nd fast time of the field.

Matt Taylor took the Trophy Dash win over Rodney Melvin, Joe Ross Jr., Corey Turner, Ed Dixon, and Justin Allgaier

Heat Winners were Roger Brickler, Marvin Burton, and Kirby Damery

The Semi feature win was taken by Joe Harlan over Jamie Wilson, and Marvin Burton

Fast Qualifier: Joe Ross Jr. 12.972
Trophy Dash: Matt Taylor, Rodney Melvin, Joe Ross Jr., Corey Turner, Ed Dixon, Justin Allgaier
1st Heat: Roger Brickler, John Kresser Jr., Butch Smith, Eric Kwasigroh, Reese OíConnor
2nd Heat: Marvin Burton, Joe Harlan, Scott Duff, Ken Schrader, Roger Long
3rd Heat: Kirby Damery, Steve Hillard, Rodney Melvin, Mark Faust, Corey Turner

Semi-Feature: Joe Harlan, Jamie Wilson, Marvin Burton, Eric Kwasigroh, John Kresser Jr., Bryan Clendenan
Feature: Matt Taylor, Ed Dixon, Joe Ross Jr., Terry English, Steve Hillard, Corey Turner, Ken Schrader, Bryan Clendenan, Roger Long, Mark Faust, Ed Bauman, Kirby Damery, John Kresser Jr., Rodney Melvin, Bobby Melvin, Joe Harlan, Justin Allgaier, Marvin Burton, Jamie Wilson, Eric Kwasigroh

Thanks to Truespeed for the above results!!!

This marked the seventh different winner in seven events this year, with the last four being second generation drivers.

Dennis Vandermeersch won the Sportsman feature over teammate Rodney Standerfer with Darrell Dikk and Chris Dikk third and fourth.

Modified feature went to Wes O'Dell over Lance Dehm!

[This message has been edited by 1racenut (edited May 16, 2001).]

Back to the Archives