Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Standridge win sprint event, Hull takes exciting open-wheel main
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 14, 2001 08:05 AM UIN: 16262997
Standridge win sprint event, Hull takes exciting open-wheel main

Winged Sprint car driver, Robbie Standridge picked up his first feature win at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Saturday, leading 24 laps of the feature event.

Starting from the pole Standridge dropped into second place on the initial start. Todd Rowland jumped out to the lead but couldn’t hold onto the position long as Standridge began to plan his move around the leader.

Standridge made the successful pass before the completion of the second lap and began his domination of the event.

On lap five Paul May made his move around Rowland taking over the second spot.

Standridge started to put some distant on May when the Red Flag came out on lap 15 for Alex Shanks, who flipped in turn four.

On the restart Standridge jumped out to strong advantage. The second place car of May had a lapped car between himself and the leading at the start.

The final caution flag of the evening came out on lap 19 as Rowland spun in turn two setting the showdown for the final laps.

Standridge would keep the top position for the next five laps crossing the flagstand in first place. May held onto second while Dean Adams Jr., Steve Short and Jeff Davis rounded out the top-five.

The Springfield, Ill resident drove a car fielded by Joe Reddick of Jackson, Mo. Standridge and Reddick plan to team up for the remainder of the year running at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark every Saturday night.

The open-wheel modified event saw an action packed battle throughout the main event with Larry Hull winding up in victory lane.

On the start of the race it was Joseph Giesler of St. Mary, Mo., battling with Terry Johnson of Benton for the top spot.

Coming around on lap four Johnson tried to initiate a pass on Giesler but was unable to take the position. Greg Gross was able to close in on the frontrunners adding to the mix.

Behind the top-three it was Terry Baker, Danny Sissom and Larry Hull battling it out for the top-six positions.

Giesler continued to stay out front for 18 laps with Johnson and Gross behind him. Johnson continued to pressure the leader lap after lap but could put his GRT machine in front.

Coming around the take the white flag Johnson went to make a move on Giesler in the middle of turn three and four. The move proved to be disastrous as Johnson car jumped the front wheel of Giesler causing the Johnson car to flip bringing out the caution.

Johnson walked away from the mishap uninjured. The wreck put Giesler and Johnson out of action for the evening.

On the restart Gross moved into the top position with Sissom, Baker, Hull and Mark Warren rounding out the top five.

Gross and Sissom got together on the restart sending the leader to the tail of the field for stopping on the track. Sissom received the black flag and was removed from competition for the evening.

Hull inherited the lead after the caution and went on to take the checkered flag in the first position. Baker fell victim to a flat tire on the final lap moving Warren into second. Gross charged back to third while Billy Davis and Baker finished in the top-five.

Dietrich Bollinger of Benton nailed down his first career pure street victory besting Danny Hampton, Doug Neuhalfen, Patrick Naeger and Pat Davidson for the win. Bollinger led from start to finish, at times putting over a straightaway lead on the second place car.

The 14-year-old racer is the youngest driver to ever win a stock car main event at the racepark. Bollinger is in his second year of stock car racing.

The cruiser cars made their first appearance at the track and proved to be a fan favorite as most of the crowd stayed around to watch the final event of the evening.

Kyle Snider and Dusty Dunning dominated the inaugural running of the cruiser class taking home the victory. Scott Austin and Darrell Ham finished second while the team of Alan Shaw and Bradley Felps finished third.

The cruiser cars are a two-person driven car. The driver controls the steering while the other teammate controls the acceleration and braking.

The Results

Winged Sprints

Robbie Standridge Springfield, Ill
Paul May Terre Haute, Ind
Dean Adams Jr. Bonne Terre, Mo.
Steve Short Farmington, Mo.
Jeff Davis Pittsburgh, Ill
Bob Thoman Higginsville, Ill
Shawn King Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Andy Holden Dudley, Mo.
Todd Rowland Jackson, Mo.
Paul Hart Troy, Tenn

Open-Wheel Modifieds

Larry Hull Old Appleton, Mo.
Mark Warren Bertrand, Mo.
Greg Gross Scott City, Mo.
Billy Davis Blyville, Ark
Terry Baker Scott City, Mo.
Perry Beier Perryville, Mo.
Danny Sissom Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Joseph Giesler St. Mary, Mo.
Terry Johnson Benton, Mo.
Pure Street

Dietrich Bollinger Benton, Mo
Danny Hampton Sikeston, Mo
Doug Neuhalfen Sikeston, Mo
Patrick Naeger Perryville, Mo
Pat Davidson Jackson, Mo
Rob Lee Poplar Bluff, Mo
Cleo Wright Commerce, Mo
Darrick Bruce Morley, Mo
Cline Myers Jr. Scott City, Mo
J.E. Watson Malden, Mo


Kyle Snider/Dusty Dunning Broseley, Mo
Scott Austin/Darrell Ham
Alan Shaw/Bradley Felps Poplar Bluff, Mo
Garrett Moll/
Allen Smith/Tim Adams Wickliffe, Ky
Jason Jenkins/Adam Brown Quilin, Mo
Travis McFall/Darrin McFall Scott City, Mo
Junior Baker/Ryan Baker Scott City, Mo
Brian Hahs/Paul VanPool Benton, Mo

Back to the Archives