Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 13, 2001 04:15 PM UIN: 16262997
For Immediate Release May 12, 2001

CLEARFIELD, PA - Robbie Blair of Hydetown made the long tow under
threatening skies to Hidden Valley Speedway and picked up the Sids Subs Late
Model Feature win. Other winners joining Blair in victory lane include:
George Sankey of Osceola Mills in the Kneppy's Fireworks Small Block
Modifieds, Dan Smeal of Ramey in the 84 Lumber Street Stocks, Joe Leigey of
Mt. Zion in the four cylinders and Gary Little of Woodland in the Northwest
Bae Kennel Pure Stocks.
Robbie Blair and Loren Sallack brought the late model field to the green
with Blair taking the lead and third place Bobby Stokes following suite. The
pair made their own race and pulled away from the rest of the field. While
the leaders were fighting it out on their own, all eyes were on Luke
Hoffner, who was coming from 13th towards the front, but Hoffner would run
out of time in third place. Stokes in the mean time bobbled and lost some
ground midway through the event, but recovered and started to reel Blair
back in, but simply came up short, as Blair went to get his first win of the
young season. Stokes held on for second, with Hoffner, Kevin Zimmerman and
Bill Krause completing the top five. The preliminaries went to Robbie Blair
and Loren Sallack.
Bob Garvey and George Sankey brought the small block modifieds to the start,
with Garvey taking the lead. Faye Lumadue worked his way to second from
fourth and Sankey fell to third. Garvey was pressured from Lumadue the
entire race, as Sankey sat in third and watched the battle. The front three
were joined by Spencer Husted who worked his way to fourth from 13th and
started mixing things up at the front. The top four were two and three wide
at times, but it was Sankey who really mixed things up as he went to the
outside on the while flag lap, and gave it everything he had. He moved by
Lumadue and was wheel-to-wheel with Garvey in turns one and two. With the
crowed on its feet and watching intently they continued side-by-side down
the backstretch and into turns three and four, with a half a straight-a-way
to go Sankey pushed hard and came out on top only inches ahead of Garvey at
the line to pick up his first win of the year.
"I wasn't sure if I had him or not," Sankey said in victory lane.
The top five were: Sankey, Garvey, Lumadue, Husted, and Tim Owens. Bob
Garvey and Spencer Husted topped the heats.
Like a shot out of a cannon Craig Lobb beat Pat Carfley into the first
turn. Carfley battled back immediately and the pair were fighting for the
top spot. By lap eight Dan Smeal had worked his way to the second spot and
began to hound the leader. Smeal moved into the lead with a turn three pass
on Lobb on lap ten and was leading the 11th lap. While Smeal and Lobb were
fighting amongst themselves sixth place starter Kip Charles was making his
way through the field. As the race came to a finish, Smeal, Lobb and Charles
headed to the finish three wide with lapped traffic to contend with, and it
was Smeal coming out on top and Charles nipping Lobb for second. Lobb,
Carfley and Doug Tibbens completed the top five. Lobb and Carfley won the
Heat winners Chris Farrell and Joe Leigey led the four cylinder field to
the start for their special feature with Leigey taking the lead and setting
sail for the checkered flag. By the 16th lap Dave Unch had worked his way to
second, Farrell fell to third and Derek Rodkey moved to fourth. The top four
battled for the top spot, as Leigey continued to lead. Unch continued to try
all sides of Leigey but he could not get the extra power he needed and
Leigey took his first win of the year. Unch was second, with Farrell, Rodkey
and Shawn Luzier in the top five. Farrell and Leigey took the heat wins.
The pure stocks closed out the evening of racing action as Gary Little and
Bernie Whetstone led the field to the green flag. Little took the lead with
Whetstone in hot pursuit and the pair ran bump-to-bumper for much of the
race. As the front two were fighting for first Frank Little (the dad) and
Bob Bowery were going after the third spot. As the race was drawing to a
close the Whetstone gave it his all and looked under the younger Little for
the lead and the pair crossed the line bumper-to-bumper but it was Gary
Little who prevailed for his first win of the year. Whetstone, Frank Little,
Bowery, and Craig Bainey completed the top five. Gary Little and Bernie
Whetstone won the heats.
PIT NOTES: There were 63 cars in the pits including: 13 late models, 14
small block modifieds, 11 street stocks, 10 four cylinders and 15 pure
stocks...The Westside Distributing King of the Hill was won by Robbie Blair
over Bobby Stokes..The heat win for Loren Sallack in the late models was his
first win ever in 15 years of trying and the win for Bernie Whetstone was
his first in many years...All racing action was completed by 10:12
p.m...This coming week is a regular show for the late models, small block
modifieds, street stocks, four cylinder and pure stocks..May 26th is the 1st
Annual Tom Neureiter Memorial for Late Models. IT will pay $3,500 to win and
$400 for tenth. There will also be lap money and fireworks. Gates will open
at 5 racing is set for 7 p.m. sharp...Join us for the Tenth Anniversary
Season at the speedway that really is hidden...Hidden Valley.


Sids Subs Late Models: 1. Robbie Blair, Hydetown; 2. Bobby Stokes, Milton;
3. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 4. Kevin Zimmerman, Reynoldsville; 5. Bill
Krause, Houtzdale; 6. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 7. Dean Colbert, Port
Matilda; 8. Loren Sallack, Johnsonburg; 9. Cody Schultz, Hyde; 10. Don
Brady, Clearfield; 11. Ed Brady, Clearfield; 12. Bill Dimmig, Lewistown; 13.
Marc Whetstone, Irvona.

Kneppy's Fireworks Small Block Modifieds: 1. George Sankey, Osceola Mills;
2. Bob Garvey, Allport; 3. Faye Lumadue, Spring Valley; 4. Spencer Husted,
West Decatur; 5. Tim Owens, Shilo; 6. Craig Casher, Mineral Springs; 7.
Marvin Williams, Tyrone; 8. Mark Frankhouser, Philipsburg; 9. Steve
Williams, West Decatur; 10. Fred Heiss, State College.

84 Lumber Street Stocks: 1. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 2. Kip Charles, Clearfield; 3.
Craig Lobb, Houtzdale; 4. Pat Carfley, Curwensville; 5. Doug Tibbens,
Curwensville; 6. Ray Billott, Mineral Springs; 7. Todd Mathews, Sanborn; 8.
Tom Williams, Tyrone; 9. George Bainey, Clearfield; 10. Mark Clark,

Four Cylinders: 1. Joe Leigey, Mt. Zion; 2. Dave Unch, Curwensville; 3.
Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 4. Derek Rodkey, Osceola Mills; 5. Shawn Luzier,
Clearfield; 6. Zach Ferrea, State College; 7. Dave Luzier, Clearfield; 8.
Mark Hummell, West Decatur.

Northwest Bae Kennels Pure Stocks: 1. Gary Little, Woodland; 2. Bernie
Whetstone, Irvona; 3. Frank Little, Woodland; 4. Bob Bowery, Clearfield; 5.
Craig Bainey, Philipsburg; 6. Chris Finigan, Munson; 7. Sheddy Graham III,
Clearfield; 8. Gary McElheny, Blandburg; 9. Rick Hemphill, Osceola Mills;
10. Rob Bailey, Clearfield.

Back to the Archives