Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 13, 2001 08:56 AM UIN: 16262997

WEST LEBANON, NY- Eddie Marshall won the modified feature Saturday night at
Lebanon Valley. Jeff Cassidy won the 20-lap sportsman feature. Robbie Speed
was victorious in the 20-lap pro stock feature. Anderson Equipment and T-Net
brought us this exciting night of racing.
Matt Quinn led the first half of the modified feature Saturday night.
Only three caution flags slowed the event. The first for Mike King as he got
turned around in turn three. Chris Moore was in his new Overbaugh mount for
the second week and was looking strong early in the race and eventually
finished eighth. Another driver that had a good run early was Ronnie Johnson.
He was in the top five most of the race and finished fifth. Problems for
Donnie Corellis on lap five as he tagged the fourth turn wall. The brush with
the wall must have broken something as he spun out in turn two the next lap.
As the top three cars began to pull away from the rest of the pack Rich Ricci
Jr and Kenny Tremont Jr were making their way toward the front. They sat
sixth and seventh respectively on lap ten.
Trouble appeared to be brewing on Ricci's mount just before the halfway
point. A fire appeared under the right rear of the car but went out as quick
as it started. For the remainder of the race smoke was coming from the right
rear tire area, but Ricci was able to hold on to finish fourth. Eddie
Marshall had closed up on Quinn as the field took the crossed flags denoting
the halfway point of the event. The leaders would encounter heavy lapped
traffic the next lap and Marshall was able to take the lead as Quinn got
squeezed behind one of the slower cars.
Tremont was able to make his way around Quinn on lap 19 and set his sights on
Marshall who had opened up a sizeable advantage. Tremont was able to close
the gap in the final stages and was beginning to able some pressure to
Marshall when the final caution of the race came out on lap 27. Tremont could
not mount a challenge on the restart and Marshall took the checker flag for
the first time this season. Quinn came home with a third place finish.
Modified heat winners were Eddie Marshall, Matt Quinn and Guy Sheldon.
Mike Keeler took command of the 20-lap sportsman feature at the drop of the
green flag. Jeff Cassidy was able to make the pass and take the lead on lap
three. There was a lot of action in the pack with cars racing three and four
wide, but everyone was able to keep it pointed straight. Art Collins moved
into the runner-up spot just before the halfway mark. Collins was able to
make the pass for the lead on a lap eight restart John Scarborough is calling
Lebanon Valley his Saturday night home in 2001. He looked good throughout the
race and finished fourth. Last week's winner, Frank Harper got into the race
through the consolation race. He was able to miss several of the early
incidents and cracked the top five on lap eleven.
The battle for the lead was fantastic as Cassidy took the lead back from
Collins going into turn one. Collins was able to slingshot passed Cassidy in
turn two. Collin's drifted in turn four and Cassidy was able to take the lead
for good. Roy Bridge joined Cassidy and Collins for a three-car breakaway in
the final stages of the race. Cassidy would not be challenged on this night
and took home his first win of the season. Collins finished second, Bridge
third, Scarborough fourth and Sparky Lowe rounded out the top five.
Sportsman heat winners were Art Collins, Jeff Cassidy, Roy Bridge and Jeff
Al Blackburn led the first three laps of the 20-lap pro stock feature. Robbie
Speed made the pass around Blackburn on lap three and would never look back.
Tom Faxon was making his first appearance of the season and was strong until
a mid-race incident took him out of contention on lap nine. At the halfway
point of the race Speed was the leader followed by Frank Twing, Blackburn,
Ricky Duzlak and Dan Burl.
Blackburn made a charge toward the front at the three-quarter mark. He
was able to get around Twing on lap 16. Try as he might he could not get
around Speed, but came home a strong second. Duzlak was able to take third
with Tom Brandt fourth and Twing finishing fifth.
The winner of the Pure Stock A was Mark Garcia. Pure Stock B winner was
Jim Dellea. Ramon Perry won the Pure Stock C. The rookie feature was won by
Jason Dibello. The cannonball feature was won by Nathan Stanford. Lebanon
Valley will be back in action next Saturday night with modifieds, sportsman,
pro stocks, rookies and pure stocks. Also on tap will be a rollover contest.
Racing action starts at 6:15

1) Eddie Marshall, 2) Kenny Tremont Jr, 3) Matt Quinn, 4) Rich Ricci Jr, 5)
Ronnie Johnson, 6) J.R. Heffner, 7) Guy Sheldon, 8) Chris Moore, 9) Mike
Benson, 10) Hector Stratton, 11) Dickie Larkin, 12) John Hewitt, 13) Tim
Dwyer, 14) Dave Leckonby, 15) Denny Soltis, 16) Chip Mitchell, 17) Dave
Mosher, 18) Skippy Fox, 19) Wes Powell, 20) John Tucker, 21) Steve Devine,
22) John Lutes Jr, 23) Rob Pitcher, 24) Mike King, 25) Donnie Corellis, 26)
John Alberti, 27) Craig Simmons, 28) Maynard Forrette, 29) Jason Goff, 30)
David Sanchez, 31) Dave Baranowski

SPORTSMAN RESULTS (20 LAPS) - 1) Jeff Cassidy, 2) Art Collins, 3) Roy Bridge,
4) John Scarborough, 5) Sparky Lowe, 6) Frank Harper, 7) K.C. Goewey, 8)
Bobby Knipe, 9) Jason Tompkins, 10) Carmon Carnibucci, 11) Jeff Carr, 12)
Mike Mason, 13) Jeff Watson, 14) Paul Gilardi, 15) John Hotchkiss, 16) Phil
Arnold, 17) Joe Bennett, 18) Darral Hulbert, 19) Don Miller, 20) Ted Teal,
21) Mike Keeler, 22) Charlie Humes, 23) Walt McKay, 24) Hawley Smith, 25) Ed

PRO STOCK RESULTS (20 LAPS) - 1) Robbie Speed, 2) Al Blackburn, 3) Ricky
Duzlak, 4) Tom Brandt, 5) Frank Twing, 6) Dan Burl, 7) Steve Brownell, 8)
Danny Sanchez, 9) Jeff Kelmel, 10) Buddy Hencke, 11) Paul Rogers, 12) Paul
LaRochelle, 13) Rob Yetman, 14) Earl Mellan, 15) Donald Kennedy, 16) Adam
Haas, 17) Tom Faxon, 18) Ed Bachand, 19) Mike McDowell

ROOKIE RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Jason DiBello, 2) Scott Kilmer, 3) Charlie
Woodard, 4) Dan Blackburn, 5) Dave Colwell, 6) Henry Warner, 7) Brian Keough,
8) Wayne Keyes, 9) Joe Mabb Jr, 10) E. J. Legeyt, 11) John Santolin, 12) Rich
Salisbury, 13) Michael Kratz, 14) Mike Fachini, 15) Lawrence Ball, 16) Chris
DeCiel, 17) J. Schmidheini, 18) Phil Moffit

PURE STOCK "A" RESULTS (8 LAPS) - 1) Mike Garcia, 2) Jonathan Coon, 3) Peter
Wiegand, 4) Brian Sandstadt, 5) Steve Hatch, 6) Robert Gibson, 7) D.T.
Pickard, 8) Randy Myers, 9) Jim Fachini, 10) Gene Cushman, 11) Ron Hapeman,
12) Larry Megan, 13) Rich Douglass, 14) Doug Moore, 15) Ryan Coon, 16) Jeff
Douglass, 17) Ronald Johnson

PURE STOCK "B" RESULTS (8 LAPS) -1) Jim Dellea, 2) Ray Hall Jr, 3) Fran
Marchand Jr, 4) Kyle Carr, 5) Bob Burl, 6) Chris Streeter, 7) Ryan Larkin, 8)
Keith Barlow, 9) Art Lafferty, 10) Chrissy Hilt, 11) Don Coon, 12) Jim
O'Neil, 13) Bruce Moffit, 14) Ronny Jacobsen, 15) Phil Decker Jr, 16) John

PURE STOCK "C" RESULTS (8 LAPS) -1) Ramon Perry, 2) Marcus Tifft, 3) Bob
Palmer, 4) Jim Hankey, 5) George Miles Jr, 6) Ron Tritschler, 7) Jay Martin,
8) Wally Engel, 9) Joe DiStefano, 10) Earl Soulier Jr, 11) Rich Kratt, 12)
Kory Sandstadt, 13) Mark Houston, 14) Dave Atwater, 15) Michael Davis, 16)
Joshua Brandt, 17) Ed Ashley, 18) Mark Forrest

CANNONBALL RESULTS (30 LAPS) - 1) NATHAN SANFORD, 2) Ken Van Alphen, 3) Gary
Virgilio, 4) Joel Hunt, 5) Travis Sanford, 6) Grant Wescott, 7) Boyd Hunt, 8)
Ted Layton, 9) Al Relyea, 10) Dave Delamater, 11) Rich La Pierre Jr, 12)
Keith Neer, 13) Brian McCoy, 14) Bert Long, 15) John Betz, 16) Louis Mellan,
17) Jeremy Closson, 18) Dave Hauser, 19) Chris Gudath

Back to the Archives