Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River (TN) Speedway Results from May 12
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 13, 2001 08:55 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River (TN) Speedway Results from May 12

Veteran Johnny Crowell became the sixth different Open Wheel feature
winner and capped off a perfect night winning two heat races and both
feature events in which he competed. Crowell won heat two in the Open
Wheel division then held back a hard charging Jason Maurer. Maurer
dogged Crowell the entire 20 laps and ran several laps side by side with
the eventual winner. Alas, Jason would settle for the number two
finishing position. Columbia's Jeff Stutts put on a brilliant drive on
the high side of the track and appeared to be headed for a showdown with
Crowell and Maurer before Stutts met an unexpected demise in an
altercation, while battling for the number four position. Stutts had
come from seventeenth to fifth in only 11 laps! Tim Demonbreun and Bob
Jarrett had their best runs of the season as they were third and fourth
respectively. Barry Rochelle was fifth. Maurer also won heat one.
Open Wheel
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Jason Maurer
3) Tim Demonbreun
4) Bob Jarrett
5) Barry Rochelle
6) Tommy Davis
7) Mike Grissom
8) Sam Range
9) Ken McAfee
10) John Schetrompf

Allen Carter held back heat race and "Dash for Cash" winner David
Seibers to pick up his fourth win of the season. Well almost anyway.
Carter was disqualified on a post race technicality that handed the
victory to last weeks winner, Seibers. Josh Lunsford was elevated to the
runner-up spot and also became the new division points leader by a
narrow margin over Carter. Jason Gregg, Billy Barnett and Dwayne Waid
were third through fifth.
Claimer Late Model
1) David Seibers
2) Josh Lunsford
3) Jason Gregg
4) Billy Barnett
5) Dwayne Waid
6) Dean Travis (DNF)
7) Allen Carter (Disqualified)

Six time feature winner Jaybird Marlin and Jeff Shields put on a
stirring battle for all but the final two laps as Marlin got loose
coming out of turn four with two laps remaining in the feature event,
allowing Shields the opening he was looking for as Jeff led the final
two laps of the race to grab his first win of the year. Larry Landers
and Clyde Bruce also got by Marlin for second and third while Marlin
recovered to hold on to fourth. Jay George was fifth while Marlin and
Bruce were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Jeff Shields
2) Larry Landers
3) Clyde Bruce
4) Jaybird Marlin
5) Jay George
6) Charlie Nowlin
7) Chad Williams
8) Chris Ruth
9) Butch Pruitt
10) Donald Davis

The Rookie pony feature saw Gary Reed win his second feature of the
season by taking the win over Chance Rogers and Jackie Taylor. Taylor
and Reed were the heat winners
Rookie Pony
1) Gary Reed
2) Chance Rogers
3) Jackie Taylor

Michael Chumbley continued his magnificent season by picking up win
number six and his ninth top five finish in nine events this season.
Chumbly held off Anthony Seibers and Doug Chumbley for the victory.
David Wallace had his best run of the season to nab the fourth spot
ahead of Billy Davidson. Jimmy Callahan and Michael Chumbley were the
heat race winners.
Pure Pony
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Anthony Seibers
3) Doug Chumbley
4) David Wallace
5) Billy Davidson
6) Allen Rogers
7) Stanley James
8) Dudley Rogers
9) Joe Morgan
10) Tony Gentry

The Outlaw Pony division was the site of another Crowell sweep as
Johnny won his heat then fended off teenager Blake Carter and four time
winner Steve Kennedy for the feature victory. Brad Sain and Jimmy Dale
were strong contenders and finished fourth and fifth. Kennedy was the
other heat race winner.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Blake Carter
3) Steve Kennedy
4) Brad Sain
5) Jimmy Dale
6) Jason Averitt
7) Mike Dale
8) Bo Owens
9) Tammy Johnson
10) Dion Sanders

Back to the Archives