Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 13, 2001 08:54 AM UIN: 16262997

Media contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA - The weather was cool, the track was fast, and so was Ed
Ferree of Saxonburg, who flew to his second QPI Tools Late Model feature win
of the season Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.
Danny "The Danimal" Rich continued the trend of new faces in victory lane in
the Limited Late Models. Russ Matejka from Monaca captured a thrilling
E-Modified feature. For the third straight week, Carnegie's Rich Apolito took
the checkered flag in the Isiminger Pennzoil Pure Stocks. Bob Schwartzmiller
of Robinson Township won the Amateur Stock main, and Delmont's Don Gamble
rolled to the Zoresco Senior Series victory.

In one of the fastest 25-lap QPI Tools Late Model features ever run at Dirt's
Monster Half Mile, Ed Ferree flew from fourth to first on the first lap of
the non-stop event. Once in front, Ferree left no prisoners in lapping up to
the tenth place car. Mike Cecere was second and Doug Crawford third. Jason
Cisson and Lou Bradich completed the top five. Six through ten were: Ben
Miley, Jim Zarin, Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Keith Barbara, Dave Wade and Jim
Lepro. Bradich and Ferree won the heats.

Following Ferree's suit, Danny Rich blasted from the second row into the lead
on the first lap of the Limited Late Model feature. Despite a few cautions,
Rich was never seriously challenged in gaining the win in his rookie season
in the division. Al Atallah was the runner-up with George Kowatic third, Pete
Loria fourth, and Wayne Tessean fifth. Jon Hodgkiss, Monarch Oil Hard Charger
- Davy Hahn, Mike Morgan, Tom Schirnhofer and Tony Musolino were sixth
through tenth respectively. Heat race wins went to Atallah and Kowatic.

The best race of the night belonged to the E-Modifieds. Russ Matejka led from
start to finish, but Kurt Halbedl, Ralph Hysong, Jeff Broniszewski, Scott
Gunn and Larry Kugel mixed it up right behind the leader. With two laps to
go, Kugel rocketed to the outside and moved to second. Poised to challenge
Matejka for the lead, Kugel's car caught the outside wall in turn two and
flattened a tire, sending him into the wall entering the third turn. On the
restart, Matejka held firm and beat Hysong, Halbedl, Broniszewski and Gunn to
the checkered flag. Broniszewski and Kugel won the preliminaries. Hysong was
the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

An early race caution aided Rich Apolito in his march to the front in the
Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature. After starting twelfth, Apolito had
the lead by the end of lap two and drove off for this fifth win of the
campaign. Charlie DiLoreto, who was caught up in a first lap caution, charged
to second. Dave Beck was third, Darryl Robison fourth and Doug Foster fifth.
A.J. Poljak, Mike McKee, Jimmy Arnold, Neal Isiminger and Craig Kamicker
rounded out the top ten. Beck was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. DiLoreto and
Apolito won the heat races.

Another hotly contested Amateur Stock feature saw Bob Schwartzmiller edge Ian
Tomei and Gabe Hahka for the win. Bobby Seimon and Skeets Levondosky
completed the top five; followed by John Cain, Joshua Langer, Glenn Knopp Jr
and Butch Fraser.

Former Zoresco Senior Series Champion Don Gamble gained his first win of the
season. Points leader Terry Wheeler was second, defending champ Bill Wheeling
third, Pat Wilcox fourth and Bob McWilliams a career best fifth.

This Saturday, May 19th, the QPI Tools Late Models return to the spotlight
with Twin 20-lap features. The Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger
Pennzoil Pure Stocks and Amateur Strictly Stocks will also be in action.
Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm. For more information call (724)
853-RACE or visit us on line at

QPI Tools Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Lou Bradich, Ed Ferree
Feature (25 Laps): 1. Ed Ferree, Saxonburg 2. Mike Cecere, Baldwin 3. Doug
Crawford, Castle Shannon 4. Jason Cisson, Houston 5. Lou Bradich, Chester WV
6. Ben Miley, 7. Jim Zarin,8. Keith Barbara, 9. Dave Wade, 10. Jim Lepro, 11.
Matt Sherlock, 12. DJ Miller, 13. Rody Exposito, 14. Rick Heim,15. Drew
Koteles, 16. Gary Gellner, 17. Chuck Moury, 18. Joe Campbell, 19. Mark Moats

Limited Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Al Atallah, George Kowatic
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Danny Rich, Imperial 2. Al Atallah, Carnegie 3. George
Kowatic, Moon Twp. 4. Pete Loria, Pittsburgh 5. Wayne Tessean, Austintown OH
6. Jon Hodgkiss 7. Davy Hahn 8. Mike Morgan 9. Tom Schirnhofer 10. Tony
Musolino 11. Bobby Castelveter 12. John Pavlick 13. Curtis Youst 14. Gary
Koteles 15. Mark Kelly 16. Kirk Young 17. Brian Laraway 18. Mike Clayton 19.
Jim Rozum III

Heat Race Winners: Jeff Broniszewski, Larry Kugel
Feature (15 Laps) 1. Russ Matejka, Monaca 2. Ralph Hysong Jr., Shippingport
3. Kurt Halbedl, Imperial 4. Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis 5. Scott Gunn,
West Mifflin 6. Jeff Bametzrider 7. Jeff Johnson 8. Mike Anderson 9. Arlan
Coy 10. Denny Neiderriter 11. Randy McElhaney 12. Larry Kugel 13. John Myrgo
14. Fred Varney 15. Matt Smith

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
Heat Race Winners: Charlie DiLoreto, Rich Apolito
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Rich Apolito, Carnegie 2. Charlie DiLoreto, S. Fayette
3. Dave Beck, Imperial 4. Darryl Robison, Beaver Falls 5. Doug Foster,
Kennedy Twp. 6. A.J. Poljak 7. Mike McKee 8. Jimmy Arnold 9. Neal Isiminger
10. Craig Kamicker 11. Bob Betz 12. Pat Weldon 13. Frankie Schneider 14. Joe
Anthony 15. Stacie White 16. Mark Jaworski

Amateur Strictly Stocks
Feature (10 Laps) 1. Bob Schwartzmiller, Robinson Twp. 2. Ian Tomei, Stowe
Twp. 3. Gabe Hahka, Carnegie 4. Bob Siemon, Castle Shannon 5. Steve
Levandosky, Finleyville 6. John Cain 7. Josh Langer 8. Glenn Knopp, 9. Butch
Fraser 10. Jill Folkmire

Zoresco Senior Series
Heat Race Winner: Willie White
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Don Gamble, Delmont 2. Terry Wheeler, Stoneboro 3. Bill
Wheeling, Franklin 4. Pat Wilcox, Cochranton 5. Bob McWilliams, Pittsburgh 6.
Bob Betz, 7. Sid Haas, 8. Dave Nicholas 9. **** Curry 10. Willie White (DNS)
11. Don Luffy (DNS)

Back to the Archives