Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 12, 2001 09:27 AM UIN: 16262997
Drizzle stopped the races at Bureau County Speedway a couple of times
Friday night, but the whole racing program was able to be completed
shortly after 10 p.m.
The night began with a memorial lap driven by Jim Jorgenson in memory
of Dave Culper of Princeton who passed away earlier this week. As the
National Anthem played, Jorgenson drove slowly around the track holding
the checkered flag. A Pillsbury Doughboy rode in the passenger side in
honor of the race fan whose nickname was Doughy.
Steve Oeder of Princeton used the tacky track to his advantage Friday
night to take both the Sportsman heat race and their feature win.
Steve Wetsel led the first eight laps of the Sportsman feature, keeping
Jason Anderson in second place. Then Wetsel's car broke a gear, bringing
out the yellow. This left Anderson and Oeder starting side by side,
since the leader had dropped out of the race. Oeder pulled away,
leaving Anderson to battle with Don Bell for second and third. Bell used
the inside to take over second. Anderson stuck behind him for a couple
of laps, only to break a motor and pull in.
Oeder held onto the lead to take the checkered flag. It was a family
affair in victory lane. Since the races were sponsored by Bearing
Distributors, Oeder was presented the trophy by his father, Brad, the
Princeton branch manager of the company.
Scott Cimei won the other Sportsman heat race and finished third in the
feature behind Bell.
Steve Morgan of Orangeville seems to have this track mastered. Morgan
won his third I.M.C.A. Late Model feature which was delayed half way
through by a rain shower. Todd Sandusky and Johnny Johnson ran first
and second through the first eight laps, until the rain started.
Sandusky's car overheated, sending him to the back of the field. The
track was ironed back in and the late models were off and running
again. Johnson's car was bicycling and running on three wheels on the
tacky track, but he was able to lead the next nine laps. Morgan was
able to use the top and the inside as he was picking off cars on his way
to the front. Once he ducked under Johnson it was clear sailing as he
pulled away and ran for the checkered flag. Johnson finished second.
Bryan Moon had a good run, finishing third.
Earlier Johnson and Sandusky both won the Late Model heat races.
JD Rutledge put on a driving school in the Bomber feature. He started
in the last row of the field due to losing a tire and axle before
running the heat race. In four laps, Rutledge had already picked off
more than half of the 13 car field. Two laps later, Rutledge passed
three cars in one swoop to move up from fourth place to take the lead.
Nathan Balensiefen brought out a new car Friday night since his car
was totaled last week. Balensiefen got around Matt Ramer to take a
second place finish. Poke Clark shot to the high side in the closing
laps to finish in third.
Rutledge took the checkered flag and his second Bomber feature win of
the season.
Marty Thompson of Mineral won his first I.M.C.A. Modified feature
Friday night at Bureau County Speedway. Thompson, who usually runs in
both I.M.C.A. divisions, was able to just concentrate on the Modified
after rolling his Late Model during a mid week race.
Tim Kimrey took the lead from Mark Verbeck on lap 5. Kimrey and
Thompson would battle for position throughout the race. Thompson took
the lead from Kimrey on lap 12. Kimrey was able to pull back up to
Thompson and try again for the lead, when he slid to the topside in
front of the grandstand and lost his momentum. Thompson took the
I.M.C.A. Modified feature win. Kimrey and Verbeck rounded out the top
three. Matt Moon of Wyanet won the Modified heat race.
Brian Lucas led every lap of the first Street Stock heat race to take
the win. He started on the front row of the feature, but only got one
lap in before crashing in turn one. Cliff Morse led the next few laps
until Brad Carrington got around him.
Bell powered around Carrington for the lead a couple of laps later. He
built up a sizeable lead as he headed for the checkered flag. Morse
finished third, behind Carrington. Carrington earlier won one of the
Street Stock heat races by default as he was the only car left running
All the other cars dropped out as the race progressed, leaving
Carrington alone on the track..
Next Friday night at Bureau County Speedway all kids 12 and under who
have completed the DARE program can present their DARE ID cards at the
ticket booth and receive free admission with a paid adult admission.

Bureau County Speedway 5-11-01 Results Princeton, IL Kathy Costerisan
Sportsman Heat One - 1 Steve Oeder, Princeton, 2 Jason Anderson,
Princeton, 3 Don Bell, Sheffield, 4 BJ Storm, Princeton, 5 Chip Hickman,
Sportsman Heat Two - 1 Scott Cimei, Magnolia, 2 Kory Rokey, Wyanet, 3
Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 4 Steve Wetsel, Bureau, 5 Gary Wetsel, Princeton.
Sportsman Bearing Distributors Feature - 1 Steve Oeder, 2 Bell, 3
Cimei, 4 G. Wetsel, 5 Moon, 6 Hickman, 7 Rokey, 8 Anderson, 9 S. Wetsel,
10 Storm

I.M.C.A. Modified Heat - 1 Matt Moon, Wyanet, 2 Marty Thompson,
Mineral, 3 Mark Verbeck, Annawan, 4 Tim Kimrey, Mendota, 5 Dave
McCutchan, Princeton, 6 Ron Coletrain, Sparland, 7 VerVynck, Kewanee.
I.M.C.A. Modified Bearing Distributors Feature - 1 Marty Thompson, 2
Kimrey, 3 Verbeck, 4 Moon, 5 McCutchan, 6 Coletrain, 7 VerVynck.

I.M.C.A. Late Model Heat One - 1 Johnny Johnson, Chillicothe, 2 Mike
Cothron, Moline, 3 Kevin Skipper, Fulton, 4 Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 5 Dan
Bardell, Ladd.
I.M.C.A. Late Model Heat Two - 1 Todd Sandusky, Coal Valley, 2 Steve
Morgan, Orangeville, 3 Bill Tuckwell, Metamora, 4 Jeff Grabill,
Princeton, 5 Jason Jaggers, Wyanet.
I.M.C.A. Late Model Bearing Distributors Feature - 1 Steve Morgan, 2
Johnson, 3 Moon, 4 Tuckwell, 5 Jaggers, 6 Skipper, 7 Bardell, 8 Cothron,
9 Sandusky, 10 Grabill.

Street Stock Heat One - 1 Brian Lucas, Princeton, 2 Heather Thacker,
Walnut, 3 Keith Lucas, Princeton, 4 Jim Prokup, Dalzell, 5 Greg Leadley,
Street Stock Heat Two - 1 Brad Carrington, Wyanet, 2 Randy Lucas,
Princeton, 3 Buddy Boyd, Polo, 4 Richie Bell, Sheffield, 5 Cliff Morse,
Street Stock Bearing Distributors Feature - 1 Richie Bell, 2
Carrington, 3 Morse, 4 R. Lucas, 5 Thacker, 6 Boyd, 7 B. Lucas.

Bomber Heat One - 1 Matt Ramer, Mendota, 2 Gary Clark, Princeton, 3
Eric Balensiefen, Princeton, 4 Adam Odell, Dover, 5 Chris Hicks,
Tiskilwa, 6 Aaron Carpenter, Annawan, 7 Gary Leadley, Mendota, 8 Doug
Smith, Princeton.,
Bomber Heat Two - 1 Justin Rutledge, Princeton, 2 Nathan Balensiefen,
Sheffield, 3 Ande Bivens, New Bedford, 4 Craig Hoffman, Princeton, 5
Eric Whittington, Princeton, 6 Rob Riley, Ohio, 7 JD Rutledge, Ohio.
Bomber Bearing Distributors Feature - 1 JD Rutledge, 2 N. Balensiefen,
3 Clark, 4 Whittington, 5 Bivens, 6 Ramer, 7 Hicks, 8 Carpenter, 9
Riley, 10 Hoffman, 11 Leadley, 12 J. Rutledge, 13 Smith.

Back to the Archives