Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 07, 2001 08:57 AM UIN: 16262997

It was the Rob and Rob show as Ledingham and Pietz took home the
44th Season opener at Gasport Speedway Sunday Night. The first feature
was led to the green by Rob Pietz and Rob Ledingham with taking the
green and holding on for the 20 lap victory. The "Roadrunner's" pace was
slwed 4 times for cautions in the first 6 laps than the remaining
restart went single file on route his first Gasport win of the season.
Rounding out the top 5 was John McKenney, Boyd MacTavish, Don Martin and
George Bosse.
The top 10 finishers of the 1st feature wee inverted giving Jack
McKinney and Dwayne Winfield the front row with McKinney grabing the
lead until lap 3as Rookie Adam Ferri took the lead on a nice inside
pass. Ferri continued to lead until lap 8 as he was passed by the
defending champion Rob Pietz who started 3rd in the 2nd main. Pietz
would hold on and pick up the feature as his sponsor UAP-NAPA present
tonights racing program. Following Pietz was Don Martin, Adam Ferri,
George Bosse, and Boyd MacTavish rounding out the top 5. Feature 2 was
slowed 3 times for yellows. Pietz and Ledingham were the heat winners.
The 15 lap Pro Stock feature was led to the green by Danny
Gilbert and Roger Chrysler but a quick caution slowed the field as a
several car tangle resulted in a complete restart. Gibert was the early
leader for the first 9 laps but a nice move as Roger Chrysler chose the
inside and took the lead for the remaining 6 laps to pick up the
victory. Gilbert was strong early but his handleing went away. Chrysler
was followed by Billy Bleich, Jeff Dayman, Gilbert, and Dave Gifford.
Gilbert was the lone heat winner.
Mark Loveland and last years Champ Nick Micallef set the pace in
the 15 lap Street Stock feature with Loveland leading all the way for
the win. 2 yellows slowed the field onlaps 8 and 13. Behind Loveland was
Micallef, Lloyd Cichocki, Rob Murray, and Fred Korton. Loveland and
Micallef won the 2 heats.
The 12 lap Mini Stock was the closest race of the night and had
Brian Lawrie on the pole beside Jake Adair in his truck. They battle
hard and clean side by sde for the first 3 laps until Adair took the
lead only to have Lawrie mount a counter attack for the next several
laps. Lap 8 Adair took the lead and went on for a victory in his first
ever start at Gasport. Jamie Gilbert was the runner up followed by
Garfield Robichaud, Lawrie and Blair Young. Lawrie and Adair took the
The 10 lap Pro Mod feature was led to the green by Kevin Sharpe
in a borrowed ride from Don Ledingham as he sat along side of Kenny
Hildreth with Sharpe as the leader of the 1st lap but gave way to
Hildreth who led the remaining laps for the win. Next in line was Mike
Azzapardi, Luke Collins, Sharpe and Bill Gill. No heats were run due a
short car count.
FINAL NOTES: UAP-NAPA presented gifts to all feature winners. With being
the opening night all drivers drew for their heat lineups and the heat
finishes set up the feature lineups "heads ups starts". A change in the
next program for Mothers Day by adding the Sportsman to the schedule as
they are not planning on following DIRT Sportsman Tour. They will be
joining a double feature for the Mini Stocks, along with the Street
Stocks, Pro Mods, Pro Stocks. The WAR Division Women Are Racing will
also compete along with practice sessions for the 358 Modifieds. for
further details call Gasport at (905)834-4797 or visit the internet at:
SPORTSMAN FEATURE #1 ROB LEDINGHAM, John McKenney, Boyd MacTavish, Don
Martin, George Bosse, Adam Ferri, Darrell Ebersole, Rob Pietz, Dwayne
Winfield, Jack McKinney, Bob Winters, Paul Gaboury, Brian Page, an Jeff
FEATURE #2 ROB PIETZ, Don Martin, Adam Ferri, George Bosse, Boyd
MacTavish, John McKenney, Dwayne Winfield, Bob Winters, Jack McKinney,
Paul Gaboury, Ken Winfield, Brian Page, Dave Flannigan, Darrell
Ebersole, and John McKenney.

Back to the Archives