Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Pauch Back On Top In Another New Egypt Thriller
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 06, 2001 08:51 AM UIN: 16262997
Pauch Back On Top In Another New Egypt Thriller

New Egypt, NJ (May 5) - Defending Modified champion Billy Pauch of
Frenchtown, NJ, scored his third win of the season Saturday night, but not
before Rick Grosso Jr. gave him fits and put the fans on their feet in a hot
and heavy 30-lap run during New Egypt Speedway's Cinco de Mayo fiesta,
sponsored by Party City of Brick, NJ.

"Ricky was tough - I thought he had it tonight," Pauch exclaimed in victory
lane. "He was in the fast groove, down low. I just had to make something
happen up top."

Pauch did just that in the Modified feature, slinging his Reclamation #1
around the outside of the track in a make-it-or-break-it effort to unseat
the flyin' Grosso up front. For seven laps, the duo ran almost dead-even,
Grosso low and Pauch high, until a lap 17 caution cooled the action. Pauch
got the jump on the green and took it on home, recording his 32nd career win
by a full straightaway over Frank Cozze, Grosso, Brian Weaver and Rocco

It was Godown over Godown in the first Sportsman 20, held over from April
21, with Ryan beating brother Brian for his second checker of the season.
Chuck Flesch, Mickey Kessler and Gene Stravinsky followed the two siblings
to the stripe. In the regularly scheduled Sportsman main event, Keith Foster
of Penndel, PA, led the last half to score his first ever win in the
division over Ryan Godown, Chris Wasson, Brian Godown and Brian Pearson.

The 15-lap Street Stock feature event was won by Manville, NJ's Rich Page
Jr., inking his second of the year after chief rival Pat Conaway broke.
Defending division champ Billy Bauer, Brian Wagner, Al Cheney III and John
Hewitt completed the top five.

Pat McBride of Bordentown, NJ, scored his second victory in the Mid-State
Communications Rookie Sportsman series, over three-time winner Dave Seip.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Cozze (Mods, 19.114), Ryan Godown and Foster (Sportsman,
18.507 and 20.251 respectively) and Page (Street Stock, 21.641).

Champion Tire of Ringoes, NJ, presented $1,000 in cash bonuses to top
drivers in all four divisions, while Party City of Brick celebrated Cinco de
Mayo on the grandstand side, with tons of Mexican-themed giveaways for
adults and children, culminating in a wild Macarena contest.

Next week, the popular URC Sprint cars are back at New Egypt, on a
five-division card also featuring big-block Modifieds, Sportsman, Street
Stocks and Rookies. It's the track's annual Mother's Day Bouquet tribute,
with by Flowers by Addalia presenting carnations to the first 400 Moms
through the gates. Racing starts at 5:30 p.m., with gates opening at 2:30
p.m. Adult admission is $18, children 7-12 are $6, and kids 6 and under are
free. For more information, call the track at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.McVay 2.Weaver 3.Moss 4.Bitner 5.McCaughey 6.Koczon
2nd Heat: 1.Cozze 2.Hendershot 3.Grosso Jr. 4.R. Infante 5.Worthington
3rd Heat: 1.Rue 2.Bohn 3.Pauch 4.Carberry 5.Drayton 6.Hager
B Main: 1.Butler 2.Osmun 3.Hoffman 4.Adams 5.Martz 6.Tanner Jr. (Fan Prov:
Feature (30 laps):
1.Billy Pauch 2.Frank Cozze 3.Rick Grosso Jr. 4.Brian Weaver 5.Rocco Infante
6.Bob Drayton 7.Tom Hager 8.Darren McCaughey 9.Mike Hendershot 10.Mark
Bitner 11.Eddie Bohn 12.Keith Hoffman 13.Larry McVay 14.Willie Osmun
15.Steve Moss 16.Sam Martz 17.Art Adams 18.Ralph Rue 19.Ron John Koczon
20.Fred Dmuchowski 21.Tom Carberry 22.Gary Butler 23.Bob Worthington 24.Tim
Tanner Jr. 25.Kenny Brightbill
DNQ: Korey Keimig, John Miloszar, Phil Cox, Doug Ostwald, Bob Bauma, Billy
Dubovick, Kenny Hammond, Scott VanGorder.

Make-up Feature (20 Laps) Curfewed from 4/21/01: 1.Ryan Godown 2.Brian
Godown 3.Chuck Flesch 4.Mickey Kessler 5.Gene Stravinsky 6.Phil Meisner Jr.
7.Paul Marra Sr. 8.J.C. Mears 9.Kenny Roth 10.Brien Ely 11.Donnie Kline
12.Matt Papiez 13.Jim Falzini 14.Dominick Buffalino 15.Mike Reutter Jr.
16.Jeff Geiges 17.Doug Liedl 18.Larry Archer 19.Stan Ploski III 20.Mike Toth
21.Rich Scagliotta 22.Art Liedl 23.John McClelland 24.Scott Singley 25.Joey
Tinnes Jr. 26.Dave Woolston 27.Jack Swain 28.Gary Hager 29.Keith Fleming.
DNS: Dave Seip
Rookie Feature: 1.Pat McBride 2.Seip 3.Beavers 4.Gorbatuk 5.Woolston
6.McTighe 7.J. Papiez 8.Wiszniewski 9.Raisner 10.Stepanchuk 11.Mennuti
12.Burlew 13.Boyce 14.Moran 15.Weeks 16.Ramsey DNS: Hager
1st Heat: 1.Scagliotta 2.R. Godown 3.Foster 4.Tomasko 5.D. Kline
2nd Heat: 1.Pearson 2.Flesch 3.Hoffman 4.Buffalino 5.Mears
3rd Heat: 1.M. Papiez 2.Singley 3.Archer 4.Geiges 5.McCloughan
4th Heat: 1.Carpenter 2.Wasson 3.Swain 4.B. Godown 5.Reutter Jr.
1st B Main: 1.Ploski III 2.Ely 3.Reid 4.A. Liedl
2nd B Main: 1.Meisner Jr. 2.Tinnes Jr. 3.Roth 4.Marra
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Keith Foster 2.Ryan Godown 3.Chris Wasson 4.Brian Godown 5.Brian Pearson
6.Matt Papiez 7.Rich Scagliotta 8.Scott Singley 9.Jeff Carpenter 10.Phil
Meisner Jr. 11.Chuck Flesch 12.Tom Tomasko 13.Dave Hoffman 14.Jack Swain
15.Kenny Roth 16.Dominick Buffalino 17.Art Liedl 18.Paul Marra Sr. 19.Phil
McCloughan 20.Brien Ely 21.J.C. Mears 22.Jeff Geiges 23.Joey Tinnes Jr.
24.Stan Ploski III 25.Mike Reutter Jr. 26.Donnie Kline 27.Larry Archer
28.Scott Reid 29.Pat McBride
DNQ: Jeff Parker, Joe Szwed, Larry Reed, Mike Mongiello III, Dave Woolston,
Rick Raisner, Jim Falzini, Doug Liedl, Mick Search, Joe Papiez, Doug Boyce,
Jim Mennuti, Tom Sickler, Andy Weeks, Rob Pfister, Bob Kaelin, John Spiegel,
Rick Beavers, Mike Toth, Cody Hager, John McClelland, Kyle Morrison, Rich
Kuiken, Rich McTighe, Gene Stravinsky, Doug Stepanchuk, Duane Burlew, Dave
Gorbatuk, Mickey Kessler, Bruce Leote, Keith Fleming, Dave Seip, Dave
Wiszniewski, Anthony Moran, Lew Ramsey.

1st Heat: 1.Page 2.Bauer 3.Nixon 4.Fleming 5.Apgar 6.Bubeck
2nd Heat: 1.Gerber 2.Bauma 3.Quinlan 4.Jn. Hewitt 5.Jm. Hewitt 6.J. Mongeau
3rd Heat: 1.Cheney III 2.Conaway 3.Gargiulo 4.Berardi 5.Unfried 6.Wagner
B Main: 1.Krum 2.M. Page 3.Collier 4.Dige 5.Ensinger 6.Miscoski
Feature (15 laps):1.Rich Page Jr. 2.Billy Bauer 3.Brian Wagner 4.Al Cheney
III 5.John Hewitt 6.Evan Berardi 7.Kory Fleming 8.Brian Nixon 9.Jim Hewitt
10.Mario Page 11.Weldon Collier 12.Ralph Gargiulo 13.Larry Bubeck 14.Billy
Bauma 15.Todd Dige 16.Bill Miscoski 17.George Unfried 18.Pat Conaway 19.Bill
Gerber 20.Tim Apgar 21.George Quinlan 22.Joe Mongeau 23.Donnie Krum
24.Spider Ensinger
DNQ: Shanon Mongeau, George McCall, Jake Roveda, Chuck Barker.

Back to the Archives