Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 06, 2001 08:47 AM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD – Give Nathan Durboraw a track to his liking and barring mechanical or other problems that have been plaguing him, he’ll come out on top.

The Hagerstown veteran returned to Hagerstown Speedway just one week following a first lap crash to pick up his first victory since September 1999 in the ITSI late model feature. Starting sixth, Durboraw took the lead on lap four and sped away to a 2.9 second advantage over Charlie Schaffer.

“It was my kind of race track tonight. I like the cushion and always go good when it’s rough and wet,” said Durboraw.” We tore this thing up last week and everybody just worked hard. That’s what it takes when everyone sticks together.”

Greencastle’s Scott Palmer led all the way as he recorded his career first victory in the Hoosier Tire/Mid Atlantic late model sportsman event. It was Ernie’s Salvage Yard Night for the V8 pure stocks as Ernie Davis doubled the purse for the entire field and provided trophies for the top three finishers. Mike Warrenfeltz of Hagerstown made it three for three in the feature while Marcus VanMeter won his season second in the four-cylinder feature.

Mark Elksnis led the late models from the outside pole as Durboraw scurried around him on the high side in turn two to take the lead while Buck Tomblin followed. Frankie Plessinger and Charlie Schaffer soon were battling for third by the next lap.

Durboraw’s over five second lead was erased on lap 13, however, following the restart, he maintained a nearly two second interval on Schaffer, who advanced into second on the 15th circuit, while 10th starting Devin Fries trailed by an equal distance.

Schaffer maintained the runner up spot over Friese, Plessinger and Gary Stuhler, who restarted from the rear after his car shut off on the third lap. Tomblin ended sixth ahead of Brent Smith, Doug Burkholder, Roy Deese Jr., who did a 360 degree spin in turn four and lost three spots, and Tim Booth completing the top ten.

Durboraw and Smith won heats. Stuhler received the TimberWolf Smokeless Tobacco and Ernie’s Salvage hard charger award.

Palmer assumed the lead at the onset with Richard Walls and Marvin Winters joining the battle for the top spot. By the halfway mark, Wayne Walls Jr. drove through a hole into second allowing Palmer to pull away as the Walls brothers and Winters raced hard for the spot. Richard Walls coasted to a stop on the 18th wiping out Palmer’s 2 ˝ second lead, however, he held a steady line to lead Winters and Walls to the line Barry Miller and Scott Sipe completed the top five. Winters received the St. Thomas Towing hard charger award.

When the pure stocks got underway, the pole setter and several from the inside row ended in a turn two pile, eliminating several cars. Ronnie Dennis took over on the fourth lap with Warrenfeltz into second. Dennis held a length lead as Bruce Leibowitz moved in to make it a three-car battle. Following a caution with two laps remaining, contact occurred on the final circuit as Warrenfeltz pulled ahead and Leibowitz followed into second. Denny Saunders and Hans Stamberg, from 17th, completed the top five.

Pete Gems, Warrenfeltz and Steve Long won heats. Kim Ramer was the Turner Bowling hard charger.

Van Meter blasted from his sixth starting position to grab the four-cylinder lead on the first lap over Ashley Gordon while three-time winner, Josh Angle, took up the chase at the halfway point. Angle closed the gap, however VanMeter still had a 20-length advantage at the finish. Third went to Ronnie Garlock with Gordon and Randy Kline next in line.

Hagerstown Speedway returns to action next Saturday, May 12th with the ITSI late models, Hoosier Tires late model sportsman, Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stocks and the second 30 lap endure dash. Race time is 7 P.M. Adult admission is $9.00.

RESULTS: ITSI LATE MODEL (25 lap): 1.Nathan Durboraw; 2.Charlie Schaffer; 3.Devin Friese; 4.Frankie Plessinger; 5.Gary Stuhler; 6.Buck Tomblin; 7.Brent Smith; 8.Doug Burkholder; 9.Roy Deese Jr.; 10.Tim Booth; 11.Mark Elksnis; 12.Ron Ellis; 13.Donnie Farlling; 14.Andy Friese; 15.James Adkins Jr.; 16.Alan Sagi; 17.Ernie Davis

HOOSIER TIRE/MID ATLANTIC LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN (20 Lap): 1.Scott Palmer; 2.Marvin Winters; 3.Wayne Walls Jr.; 4.Barry Miller; 5.Scott Sipe; 6.Dave Rice Jr.; 7.Robert Friese; 8.Ryan Donley; 9.Richard Walls; 10.Mike Walls; 11.Dave Neff; DNS – Richard Clipp, Daryl Kendall, Pete Weaver

ERNIE’S SALVAGE V8 PURE STOCK (15 Lap): 1.Mike Warrenfeltz; 2.Bruce Leibowitz; 3.Ronnie Dennis; 4.Denny Saunders; 5.Hans Stamberg; 6.Steve Lowery; 7.Kim Ramer; 8.Jeff Bennett; 9.Rick Stouffer; 10.Greg Hockensmith; 11.Mike Sanders; 12.Kevin Shade;13.Gene Conlee; 14.Jeff Johnson; 15.Mark Vegh; 16.Peter Gems; 17.Keith Reed; 18.Dave Mikolajski; 19.Harold Prince; 20.Jesse Coleman; 21.Brian Miller; 22.Steve Long; 23.Steve Marsh; 24.Brian Pearrell,

FOUR CYLINDER (10 Lap): 1.Marcus VanMeter; 2.Josh Angle; 3.Ronnie Garlock; 4.Ashley Gordon; 5.Randy Kline; 6.Mike Kershner; 7.Eric Mellott; 8.Troy Horner; 9.Glenn Gipe; 10.Larry Long; DNS – Larry Baker

Back to the Archives