Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 06, 2001 08:47 AM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA…Ben Miley wasted little time in returning to the QPI Tools Late
Model winner's circle Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.
After ending a nearly six year dry spell last week, the Venetia driver rolled
to his second straight win.

For the second week in a row a new face collected the Limited Late Model
checkered flag. This time it was Brian Laraway of Irwin. Calcutta, OH's Larry
Kugel garnered his fourth E-Modified feature this season to surpass Lynn
Geisler as the all-time leading winner at PPMS. Rich Apolito of Carnegie kept
pace with Kugel's season by recording another victory in the Isiminger's
Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Joshua Langer of Oakdale claimed the Amateur
Strictly Stock main event.

Mike Cecere set the pace for the first two laps of the QPI Tools Late Model
feature before the red flag flew for Rick Heim's grinding front straightaway
flip, that left him dazed but otherwise uninjured. On the restart, Miley used
the high side to blast by Cecere into the lead. Eighth starting Mark Banal
was quickly moving forward, and shot by Cecere for second on the seventh
circuit. Miley kept a steady lead until the race's final caution waved on lap
14 for a spinning car.. Miley also spun to avoid the lapped car, but
because the yellow had already been displayed he was able to retain his
position. When the green returned, Miley flew to his 43rd PPMS win. The
always consistent Banal was second with Cecere third, Jason Cisson fourth and
Lou Bradich fifth. Completing the top ten were: Jim Zarin, Dave Wade, Keith
Barbara, Ed Ferree and D.J. Miller. Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Banal, and
Zarin won the heats.

Just like Miley, Brian Laraway used a restart to overhaul Tom Schirnhofer for
the top spot on the sixth lap of the Limited Late Model feature. Laraway too,
maintained a steady pace to the checkered flag to pick up his career first
win. Danny "The Danimal" Rich was second, Al Atallah third, Monarch Oil
Hard Charger - George Kowatic fourth and Schirnhofer fifth. Wayne Tessean,
Pete Loria, Bobby Castelvetter, Jon Hodgkiss and Mike Morgan were sixth
through tenth respectively. Loria and Davy Hahn claimed the preliminaries.

It's not often that Larry Kugel loses the E-Modified feature lead at PPMS,
but that's what happened Saturday. Kugel led the first nine laps before Ralph
Hysong Jr. rode the rim to the front. Hysong appeared enroute to his first
E-Modified feature win before mechanical woes sidelined him with less than
three laps remaining. Hysong's misfortune put Kugel back in front to stay.
Russ Matejka edged Jeff Broniszewski for second, Dale Charlier was fourth and
Jeff Bametzrider fifth. Six through ten were: Scott Gunn, Monarch Oil Hard
Charger - Kurt Halbedl, John Myrgo, Mike Anderson and Matt Smith. Heat race
wins went to Hysong and Matejka.

Rich Apolito checked out in wire-to-wire fashion in the Isiminger Pennzoil
Pure Stocks. Doug Foster was second, Darryl Robison third, Neal Isiminger
fourth and Charlie DiLoreto fifth. Stacie White was sixth, Dave Beck seventh,
Pat Weldon eighth, Craig Kamicker ninth and Jimmy Arnold tenth. Heat race
wins went to Isiminger and DiLoreto.

Joshua Langer won the highly competitive Amateur Stock feature over Bobby
Siemon, with Ian Tomei third, Bob Swartzmiller fourth, and Gage Hahka
rounding out the top five.

Racing continues at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Saturday, May
12th with the Zoresco Senior Series joining the QPI Tools Late Models,
Limited Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and
Amateur Stocks. Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm.

QPI Tools Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Mark Banal, Jim Zarin
Feature (25 Laps): 1. Ben Miley, Venetia 2. Mark Banal, St. Clairsville
OH 3. Mike Cecere, Baldwin 4. Jason Cisson, Houston 5. Lou Bradich,
Chester WV 6. Jim Zarin 7. Dave Wade 8. Keith Barbara 9. Ed Ferree
10. DJ Miller 11. Jim Lepro 12. Mark Moats 13. Drew Koteles 14. Joe
Campbell 15. Chuck Moury 16. Steve Fife 17. Matt Sherlock 18. Ricky

Limited Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Pete Loria, Davy Hahn
Feature (20 Laps): 1. Brian Laraway, Irwin 2. Danny Rich, Imperial 3.
Al Atallah, Oakdale PA 4. George Kowatic, Moon Twp. 5. Tom Schirnhofer,
Emsworth 6. Wayne Tessean 7. Pete Loria 8. Bobby Castelveter 9. Jon
Hodgkiss 10. Mike Morgan 11. Davy Hahn 12. George Bland 13. Tom
Bateman 14. Kirk Young 15. Bob Damron 16. Curtis Youse DNS 17. Louie
Bradich DNS 18. Mark Kelly DNS

Heat Race Winners: Ralph Hysong, Russ Matejka
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2. Russ Matejka, Monaca
3. Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis 4. Dale Charlier 5. Jeff Bametzrider,
McMurray 6. Scott Gunn 7. Kurt Halbedl 8. John Myrgo 9. Mike Anderson
10. Matt Smith 11. Randy McElhaney 12. Fred Varney 13. Ralph Hysong
Jr 14. Kenny Monseau

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
Heat Race Winners: Neal Isiminger, Charlie DiLoreto
Feature (15 Laps): 1. Rich Apolito, Carnegie 2. Doug Foster, Kennedy Twp.
3. Darryl Robison, Beaver Falls 4. Neal Isiminger, Washington 5.
Charlie DiLoreto, S. Fayette 6. Stacie White 7. Dave Beck 8. Pat
Weldon 9. Craig Kamicker 10. Jimmy Arnold 11. Frankie Schneider 12.
Joe Anthony

Amateur Strictly Stocks
Feature: 1. Joshua Langer, Oakdale 2. Bob Siemon 3. Ian Tomei 4. Bob
Swartzmiller 5. Gabe Hahka 6. Steve Levandosky 7. John Cain 8. Ted
Beaver 9. Glen Knopp Jr.

Back to the Archives