Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway Race results from May 4
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 06, 2001 08:45 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway Race results from May 4

As has been the case throughout the first two months of the racing
season, the new Claimer Late Model class continues to provide the fans
with spectacular races and Saturday night was no exception. At the drop
of the green flag for the main event, Josh Lunsford, David Seibers and
three time winner Allen Carter went three wide for the lead. This tactic
worked for awhile but finally Seibers was squeezed coming off turn two
on lap two and when the lead trio all made contact, Seibers went around.
Carter was sent to the rear and the race restarted. Seibers would fight
back first Lunsford, then Dean Travis and finally Carter who came from
the rear to challenge Seibers the final half of the event. Seibers held
on for his first ever Late Model win while Carter would settle for the
runner-up spot. Quickly improving, Dean Travis was third with Lunsford
in fourth. Newcomer Billy Barnett came from row five to nab a top five
finish in his first ever feature event. Seibers also won his heat race.
Claimer Late Models
1) David Seibers
2) Allen Carter
3) Dean Travis
4) Josh Lunsford
5) Billy Barnett
6) Bubba Paul
7) Dwayne Waid
8) Charlie Cates
9) Jackie Hambrick
10) Jason Gregg (DNS)

In Open Wheel action, Chad bone fought off fast qualifier Mark Haddon
(14.485) to become the fifth different winner of the season. Haddon held
on to the Place position while Tommy Davis grabbed the Show spot. Last
weeks winner, David Womack grabbed fourth ahead of Johnny Crowell. Barry
Rochelle won the six lap "Dash for Cash" for the Quick Six.
Open Wheel
1) Chad Bone
2) Mark Haddon
3) Tommy Davis
4) David Womack
5) Johnny Crowell
6) Bryan Reed
7) Bob Jarrett
8) Tim Demonbreun
9) Jason Maurer
10) Carl Langford

Super Stock superstar, Jaybird Marlin continues to fly along(read: Pun
Intended!) as the points leader picked up win number six to lead all
racers at Duck River Speedway in that category. Heat winner, Dean Travis
was the runner-up with Jay George, Larry Landers and Jeff Shields
rounding out the Top 5.
Super Stock
1) Jaybird Marlin
2) Donald Davis
3) Jay George
4) Larry Landers
5) Jeff Shields
6) Mike Johnson
7) Chris Prosser
8) Hugh Harper
9) Billy Young
10) James Freeman

The Outlaw Pony division, saw Johnny Crowell's lone Chevrolet top a
field of Fords to take his second feature win of the season. Points
leader and four time winner, Steve Kennedy was the runner-up with Jeff
Roberson grabbing the third spot. Crowell and Roberson were the heat
race victors.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Steve Kennedy
3) Jeff Roberson
4) Blake Carter
5) Jimmy Dale
6) Keith Layne
7) Bob Owens
8) Dion Gordon
9) Tammy Johnson

Pure Pony chauffeur, Michael Chumbley grabbed win number five by
beating three time rookie feature winner, Andy Rogers and Doug Chumbly
for the win. On lap ten a spectacular crash on the front stretch saw
David Wallace flip and roll three times. Though shaken, the veteran mini
stocker walked away unscathed. Unfortunately the same could not be said
of his Mustang. Chumbley and Rogers were the heat winners.
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Andy Rogers
3) Doug Chumbley
4) Allen Rogers
5) Dudley Rogers
6) Tony Gentry
7) Jimmy Callahan
8) Stanley James
9) Jeff Weaver
10) Shane Hooper

In the Rookie Pony division, Don Lester won his second main event and
puts himself one win away from moving into the Pure Pony ranks. Chance
Rogers and Jackie Taylor were second and third.Gary Reed and Lester won
the heat races.

Rookie Pony
1) Don Lester
2) Chance Rogers
3) Jackie Taylor

Back to the Archives