Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Bobby SempleTakes His First Feature at Baton Rouge Raceway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted May 05, 2001 07:53 AM UIN: 16262997
Bobby SempleTakes His First Feature at Baton Rouge Raceway
Sue DuRoy May 4, 2001 Baton Rouge Raceway
Billy Mitchell, Darrel Guy and Mark Hardwick all shared heat wins for
pure stock.
On the start Darrell Guy took the lead followed by Billy Mitchel. Perry
Saizon spun in four bringing out the yellow. On the restart it was Guy
followed by Butch Jenkins, Zane Barcelona, and Billy Mitchell. Guy spun on
the back straightaway . On the restart it was Barcelona in the lead. Mark
Hardwick running fourth coasted into the infield, Billy Mitchell also came in
after smoking back a couple laps. Zane Barcelona went on to score his first
win of the season. Second went to Mark Tate, Buddy Payne third, fourth David
Johnson and fifth Perry Saizon.
Mitch Tassin pulled into the lead on the start of the UMP feature
followed by Bobby Semple. Semple followed Tassin lap after lap. Chris
Cassano moved up into third then got side by side with Semple. Cassano gave
the leader Tassin a tap sending him spinning both cars retired to the pits.
On the restart it was Semple leading the way .Semple held off challenges from
Bobby Helmer in second .Semple went on to take his first feature win followed
by Helmer, Conrad Cupit worked his way up through the field to finish third,
Jeff Martello fourth and fifth went to Henry Lamonica. Troy Cassano and Bill
Hawkins took the heat wins.
Street stock heat winner was Jason Wilks. Wilks led every lap of the
feature till the last lap when Kerry Vicknair took the lead away and the win.
Second went to Wilks, third Scooter Paetz, fourth Randy Jamison and fifth
Chris Buhler.
Calvin Tyler and Scotty Covington shared the heat wins for mini stock.
Covington took the lead on the drop of the green. Yellow flew when Wayne
Everette spun in four. On the restart it was Covington followed by Calvin
Tyler. At one point Covington had 7 car lengths on Tyler. Then as they
reached lap traffic Tyler closed in to four car lengths. Covington led every
lap with no brakes! In the heat race his clutch cable broke and he still won
the heat. Second in the feature went to Calvin Tyler. After spinning and
going to the rear Wayne Everette worked his way up to finish third. Tom Dancy
fourth and rounding out the top five was Larry Clayton.
Fred Walton and Eric Courville took the heat wins for late models. Ricky
May sat on the pole for the start of the feature but it was Eric Courville
who blasted into the lead and led every lap and took the win. In turn two ,
Michael Blackard, Ryan Plaisance, Yott and Kevin Watts all tied up. Watts
went in the pits to change a flat and come back to tag the rear. Courville
led with David Ashley second. Watts came all the way back to finish third.
Sam Patrick also went to the rear and came back to finish fourth. Bill Gordon
finished fifth. Michael Blackard won the Timberwolf hard charger award.

Back to the Archives