Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway results from April 28
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 29, 2001 04:32 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway results from April 28

Tim Smith became the fifth different winner in the Claimer Late
Model class in 2001. David Seibers picked up the runner-up position while
three time winner Allen Carter was third. Last weeks winner Josh Lunsford
kept his record of Top 5 finishes every week in tact by grabbing fourth
ahead of Dwayne Waid.
Claimer Late Models
1) Tim Smith
2) David Seibers
3) Allen Carter
4) Josh Lunsford
5) Dwayne Waid

The Open Wheel feature event was anybody's race and David Womack
took the measure of a very good field of modified drivers and posted his
first win in 2001. Bryan Reed pressed Womack early and even nosed out front
on one occasion before a caution flag negated his pass. With the lineup
reverting back to the last completed green flag lap, Reed was relegated to
the runner-up spot on the restart and immediately found himself under heavy
pressure from Johnny Crowell and Chad Bone. Both would slip by Reed with
Bone nabbing the runner-up spot and Crowell grabbing the third position.
Reed held on to fourth as Tommy Davis completed the Top 5. Womack and Jason
Maurer were the heat race winners.
Open Wheel Modifieds
1) David Womack
2) Chad Bone
3) Johnny Crowell
4) Bryan Reed
5) Tommy Davis

The Super Stock feature was a test of survival and only six racers
out of the nineteen in attendance would finish the main event without at
least one or more trips to the pit area for repairs. Larry Landers and Chris
Prosser battled early before Prosser and Jeff Sheilds got together on the
front stretch with Sheilds going hard into the wall and Prosser also being
eliminated from the main event. Landers picked up his first win of the year
with Jay George running second and James Freeman in third. Ray Gann and Ken
Keiser both picked up their first Top 5 finish of the season. Prosser and
Landers won the heat races.
Super Stock
1) Larry Landers
2) Jay George
3) James Freeman
4) Ray Gann
5) Ken Keiser

Johnny Crowell became the first non Ford to win a Pony car feature
in the current season by taking the win over a hard charging Steve Kennedy.
Kennedy's second place finish along with 4 victories keeps him atop the
Outlaw Pony point standing for 2001.Keth Layne had his pickup truck out
front for a while and grabbed a fine third place finish. Layne and Crowell
were the heat race winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Steve Kennedy
3) Keith Layne
4) Jeff Roberson
5) Jimmy Dale

In Pure Pony action, Michael Chumbley picked up win number four and
was the only feature winner last night that did not pick up his first win of
the season. Tim Cunningham and Doug Chumbley grabbed the place and show
spots. Chumbley and Cunningham were the heat race winners.

Pure Pony
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Tim Cunningham
3) Doug Chumbley
4) Billy Davidson
5) Stanley James

Gary Reed and Don Lester were the Rookie Pony heat race victors then
battled it out for the main event win. Lester won the war and became the
fifth different Rookie Pony driver to win in the current campaign.
Rookie Pony
1) Don Lester
2) Gary Reed
3) Jackie Taylor

Back to the Archives