Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Hoffman And McCaughey Split New Egypt Twin 20s
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 29, 2001 12:35 AM UIN: 16262997
Hoffman And McCaughey Split New Egypt Twin 20s

New Egypt, NJ (Apr. 28) - Two new winners made it to New Egypt Speedway's
victory lane on Saturday night, as Keith Hoffman of Whitehall, PA, and
Lebanon, NJ's Darren McCaughey shared top honors in a double twin 20 bill
for the Modifieds, sponsored by Shammy Shine Car Washes. It was Hoffman's
first win of the year and McCaughey's first win ever at the central Jersey

In the first of the twin 20-lap features, it was a race between Ralph Rue
and Bob Worthington with Hoffman making it a threeway on lap 6. Hoffman
daringly slid under the top duo to take the lead two laps later. Frank Cozze
muscled into the action at the halfway mark, right after a lengthy red for a
Brian Weaver flip. Weaver was unhurt. When racing continued, it was Hoffman
up high and Cozze hugging the bottom, running first and second. And that's
the way they came across the line: Hoffman the winner over a fast-closing
Cozze, with Bob Worthington, Ron John Koczon and Mark Bitner a straightaway

The second 20 saw McCaughey take control from the pole and never relinquish
it. Cozze was the whole show, pressing McCaughey up, down and sideways, and
almost squeaking by on numerous occasions. But McCaughey maintained his line
to become the track's 22nd different Modified winner. Cozze settled for the
bridesmaid slot for the second time this night, with Hoffman in third and
Bob Drayton in fourth. Billy Pauch, rebounding from all kinds of problems
earlier in the night, came on at the end for fifth.

It was the Godown Show in the 20-lap Sportsman main, with Brian Godown of
Frenchtown, NJ, besting brother Ryan to score his first-ever win at the
speedway. Rich Scagliotta, Larry Archer and Matt Papiez completed the top

The 15-lap Street Stock feature event was won by Al Cheney III -- his second
career win at New Egypt and his first since 1998. Bill Gerber, Pat Conaway,
George Quinlan and George Unfried trailed Cheney at the stripe.

It was Rookie Sportsman sensation Dave Seip of Hightstown, NJ, scoring his
third win in four starts in the novice series, sponsored by Mid-State

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Hoffman (Mods, 19.787), Brian Godown (Sportsman, 20.591)
and Cheney (Street Stock, 22.098).

Over 130 race cars competed in 18 events during the evening. Shammy Shine
Car Washes of Milford, NJ, showered the grandstands with giveaways, and
twins ruled, with all twins admitted free and all leaving with prizes.

Next week, it's fiesta time at New Egypt Speedway, with Party City of Brick
sponsoring the track's Cinco de Mayo celebration. On the racing program:
big-block Modifieds, double features for the Sportsman, plus Street Stocks
and Rookies, and Champion Tire of Ringoes, NJ, offering up some big bonus
money. Gates open at 2:30 p.m., with first race at 5:45. Adult admission is
$13, children 7-12 are $4, and kids 6 and under are free. For more
information, call the track at (609) 758-1900.

1st Heat: 1.Rue 2.Cozze 3.Tanner Jr. 4.Drayton 5.VanGorder 6.Miloszar
2nd Heat: 1.R. Infante 2.Dmuchowski 3.Koczon 4.Hoffman 5.Bitner 6.Butler
3rd Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Weaver 3.Carberry 4.Worthington 5.Moss 6.Osmun
B Main: 1.McCaughey 2.T. Hager 3.Bohn 4.McVay 5.Dubovick 6.Martz (Fan Prov:
Feature (20 laps):
1.Keith Hoffman 2.Frank Cozze 3.Bob Worthington 4.Ron John Koczon 5.Mark
Bitner 6.Larry McVay 7.Fred Dmuchowski 8.Darren McCaughey 9.Sam Martz
10.Willie Osmun 11.Bob Drayton 12.Gary Butler 13.Eddie Bohn 14.Scott
VanGorder 15.Steve Moss 16.Ralph Rue 17.Billy Dubovick 18.John Miloszar
19.Tom Carberry 20.Rocco Infante 21.Billy Pauch 22.Brian Weaver 23.Kenny
Brightbill 24.Tim Tanner Jr. 25.Tom Hager
Feature (20 laps):
1.Darren McCaughey 2.Frank Cozze 3.Keith Hoffman 4.Bob Drayton 5.Billy Pauch
6.Fred Dmuchowski 7.Steve Moss 8.Bob Worthington 9.Eddie Bohn 10.Tom
Carberry 11.Larry McVay 12.Gary Butler 13.Tim Tanner Jr. 14.Ron John Koczon
15.Tom Hager 16.Scott VanGorder 17.Billy Dubovick 18.Carmine Infante 19.Mark
Bitner 20.John Miloszar 21.Rocco Infante 22.Willie Osmun 23.Ralph Rue 24.Sam
Martz 25.Kenny Brightbill; Brian Weaver (DNS)
DNQ: Carmine Infante, Korey Keimig, Mike Hendershot, Doug Ostwald, Barry
Voss, Art Adams, Rick Grosso Jr., Phil Cox, Bob Bauma, Gary Hager.

Rookie Feature: 1.Dave Seip 2.McBride 3.C. Hager 4.Burlew 5.McTighe
6.Woolston 7.J. Papiez 8.Moran 9.Boyce 10.Mennuti 11.Beavers 12.Stepanchuk
13.Van Schuyler 14.Gorbatuk 15.Fattori 16.Ramsey 17.Raisner 18.Weeks
1st Heat: 1.Ely 2.Flesch 3.Swain 4.R. Godown 5.Meisner 6.B. Godown
2nd Heat: 1.Pearson 2.Toth 3.Hoffman 4.Tinnes Jr. 5.Pfister 6.Tomasko
3rd Heat: 1.Wasson 2.Reutter Jr. 3.D. Kline 4.D. Liedl 5.M. Papiez 6.Archer
1st B Main: 1.Foster 2.Scagliotta 3.Kessler 4.Roth 5.Reid
2nd B Main: 1.Singley 2.Buffalino 3.Carpenter 4.Geiges 5.Mears
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Brian Godown 2.Ryan Godown 3.Rich Scagliotta 4.Larry Archer 5.Matt Papiez
6.Chuck Flesch 7.Joey Tinnes Jr. 8.Dave Hoffman 9.Scott Singley 10.Brian
Pearson 11.Dominick Buffalino 12.Jack Swain 13.Mike Reutter Jr. 14.Tom
Tomasko 15.J.C. Mears 16.Phil Meisner Jr. 17.Kenny Roth 18.Jeff Geiges
19.Doug Liedl 20.Keith Foster 21.Brien Ely 22.Rob Pfister 23.Mickey Kessler
24.Donnie Kline 25.Scott Reid 26.Jeff Carpenter 27.Dave Seip 28.Chris Wasson
29.Mike Toth
DNQ: Joe Papiez, Cody Hager, Andy Weeks, Christian Van Schuyler, Rick
Beavers, Doug Boyce, Scott Hulmes, Duane Burlew, Larry Kline, Kyle Morrison,
John Curry, Joe Szwed, Stan Ploski III, Phil McCloughan, Bob Kaelin, Darrell
DelNero, Gene Stravinsky, Mick Search, Mike Mongiello III, Keith Fleming,
Jim Falzini, Jack Amundson, Bruce Leote, Rick Raisner, Mike Fattori, Doug
Stepanchuk, Dave Wiszniewski, Rich McTighe, Rich Kuiken, Larry Reed, Pat
McBride, Dave Woolston, Anthony Moran, Jim Mennuti, Dave Gorbatuk, Lew

1st Heat: 1.Wagner 2.Gerber 3.Unfried 4.Apgar 5.Miscoski 6.Ji. Hewitt
2nd Heat: 1.Quinlan 2.Bauma 3.Cooke 4.Dorry 5.Bubeck 6.Nixon
3rd Heat: 1.Jo. Hewitt 2.Freiberger 3.Conaway 4.Whitehouse 5.Cheney III
B Main: 1.Bauer 2.Bifulco 3.Gargiulo 4.Berardi 5.Roveda 6.Krum
Feature (15 laps): 1.Al Cheney III 2.Bill Gerber 3.Pat Conaway 4.George
Quinlan 5.George Unfried 6.Joe Mongeau 7.Billy Bauma 8.Brian Nixon 9.Ralph
Gargiulo 10.Kim Cooke 11.Pat Freiberger 12.Jim Hewitt 13.Brian Wagner
14.Billy Bauer 15.John Hewitt 16.Kevin Bifulco 17.Tim Apgar 18.Donnie Krum
19.Larry Bubeck 20.Evan Berardi 21.Bill Miscoski 22.Jake Roveda 23.Frank
Dorry 24.Carol Whitehouse
DNQ: Spider Ensinger, Steve Barnes, Robert Melton, Todd Dige, Kory Fleming,
Chuck Barker, Weldon Collier, Marvin Saxton, Joe Garey, Allen Hurley.

Back to the Archives