Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Cleveland (TN) Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 23, 2001 09:31 AM UIN: 16262997
Cleveland (TN) Speedway

Andy Dill & Roy Nichols Bash Easter Egg’s in Victory

For thethird time this season Georgetown, Tennessee racer Andy
Dill (a.k.a. The BigOrange Machine) rolled his # 39 “Suttles Construction and
Trucking, RenegadeTrucking” Chevrolet Monte Carlo Super Late Model into
Cleveland Speedway’svictory lane. The night’s special event, the 20 lap
Street division, 2ndAnnual “Easter Egg Bash” went to Roy Nichols as he
dominated over the reigningdivision champion and the preliminary heat race
winner. Charles “Peanut”Clinton of Rossville, Georgia powered his Dodge
Intrepid to victory in theClaimer Late Model feature. A new racecar didn’t
hinder Lynn Roark quest forvictory, as the Birchwood TN native raced to
victory in only his second outingof the season. The Pony Stock feature was
awarded to current division pointsleader Jimmy Brown of Chattanooga.

For the second week in a row PaulTims was the dominate racer in
Budweiser: King of Speed qualifying time trialswith a lap at 14:970. Tims
held the field of the first SLM heat race in checkwith current points leader
Shawn Chastain following. Mike Tinker finished thirdwith 15 year old rookie
racer Todd Morrow finishing just ahead of third fastqualifier Randy Burrows.
In the second heat fourth fastest qualifier LamarScoggins checked out over
pole sitter Kent Hicks. A poor qualifying lap (8thfastest) didn’t hinder Andy
Dill as he rallied to second, running the high sidewith Scoggins. David
Smith, Tim Richardson and rookie James Gamble rounded outthe top five.

In the feature Scoggins overpoweredTims for the lead. Dill
stayed on the high side forcing Tims to third as thepack headed down the
backstretch. A pair of pre-halfway point cautions slowedthe field as it
seemed Scoggins was en route to his second victory of theseason. The lead duo
pulled away on the restart, but Scoggins night would endshortly as the
front-end completely came apart underneath the racecar. Dill washanded
control over the field with Tims in pursuit. Smith and Tinker battledfor
fourth with Chastain hounding Tims for second as the laps wound down.
Smithended his top five run, as the white flag flew, loosing control of his
racecarin turn two. Dill took the checkers for the third time this season
againasserting his dominance as the reigning track champion. Tims, Chastain,
Tinkerand John Owenby rounded out the top five.

In the special Street division“Easter Egg Bash” race, Roy
Nichols of Cleveland TN dominated the entire 20 lapcontest. Nichols driving
the # 00 “Parkway Tire, Hines Detail Shop” racecarheld off pole sitter /
heat race winner Herbert Chambers for the victory. The“Anything Goes /
Demolition Race” only witnessed two mishaps as last weekswinner Jason Seaton
spun trying to get to the front in the opening laps and newracer Richard
Collins got sideways down the backstretch towards the end of thefeature.
Reigning division champion Anthony Hawkins came from fourth to finishsecond
with Chambers finishing third. Former division champion Donald Forgeyand Jim
Erwin rounded out the top five. Next week a full racing program of all five
divisions is scheduled along with a visit to the speedway by SpeedO the Clown.

Official Results:

Super Late Model:
1.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown TN
2.Paul Tims (# 84) of Georgetown TN
3.Shawn Chastain (# 11) of Murphy NC
4.Mike Tinker (# 22) of Ringgold GA
5.John Owenby (# J32) of Cleveland TN
6.Tim Richardson (# 01) of Chattanooga TN
7.Kent Hicks (# 15) of Cleveland TN
8.Dewayne Smith (# 21) of Cleveland TN
9.Brad Coffey (# 3) of Maryville TN
10.Todd Morrow (# T1) of Cleveland TN (Rookie)

Street: 2nd Annual Easter Egg Bash
1.Roy Nichols (# 00) of Cleveland TN
2.Anthony Hawkins (# 3) of Cleveland TN
3.Herbert Chambers (# 31) of Cleveland TN
4.Donald Forgey (# 71) of Cleveland TN
5.Jim Erwin (# J8) of Chattanooga TN
6.Will Swearengine (# R1) of Hixson TN
7.Tom Swearengine (# R2) of Hixson TN
8.Jason Seaton (# 92) of Cleveland TN
9.Carlton Espy (# 8) of Cleveland TN
10.Jeff Humbard (# 43) of Cleveland TN

Claimer Late Model: Winner – Charles “Peanut” Clinton (# 51)of Rossville GA
2.Glen Seaton III (# 92), 3.ShaneBreeden (# 12), 4.Chris Powell (#P9),
5.Elgin Gray (# 32)

Hobby: Winner – Lynn Roark (# 5) of Birchwood TN
2.Doug Works (# 35), 3.Chris Stewart(# 68) 4.James Nichols (# K3),
5.Larry Higgins (# 20)

Pony Stock: Winner – Jimmy Brown (# 10) of Chattanooga TN
2.Daniel Burnette (# 5), 3.ChadElliott (# 38), 4.Justin Winters (#J1),
5.David Doss (# 99)

Back to the Archives