Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway Results, April 21
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 23, 2001 09:17 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway Results, April 21
Shelbyville, Tennessee's Jimmy Nowlin returned to a familiar place Saturday
night as the middle Tennessee veteran visited victory lane one more time.
Nowlin held off the charge of former Late Model champions, Jerry Owens('99)
and David Thompson('00) to grab the victory. Jeff Sanborn drove his Dodge to
his first top 5 finish of the season by grabbing fourth place as David
Seibers held off Anthony Burroughs for the fifth spot.
Late Model
1) Jimmy Nowlin
2) Jerry Owens
3) David Thompson
4) Jeff Sanborn
5) David Seibers
Defending Open Wheel champion, Randy Zeigler finally shook off his early
season woes by grabbing an impressive victory over a fine field that
included a new face in the form of Rory Lohr. Lohr a stalwart among middle
Tennessee racers for years, but missing from action the last couple of
seasons, returned Saturday night to finish second in front of heat winner
David Womack. Mark Haddon was fourth and Tommy Davis fifth. Bryan Reed won
his heat race.
Open Wheel Modifieds
1) Randy Zeigler
2) Rory Lohr
3) David Womack
4) Mark Haddon
5) Tommy Davis
6) Bryan Reed
7) Ken Martin
8) Carl Langford
9) Jeff Ray
10) Josh Dement
In the new and exciting Claimer Late Model division, Josh Lunsford has
finished in the Top 5 every night out during the 2001 season but until last
night had not found victory lane. Well Saturday night, Josh corrected that
oversight by topping Chuck Lynch in the heat race then taking the measure of
three time feature winner, Allen Carter in the main event. Bubba Paul was
third in front of Dewayne "Coondog" Waid who had his second straight Top 5
finish. Dean Travis moved up to the Claimer division from Super stocks and
grabbed fifth on his maiden voyage in that class.
"Claimer" Late Model
1) Josh Lunsford
2) Allen Carter
3) Bubba Paul
4) Dwayne Waid
5) Dean Travis
6) Charlie Cates
7) Tim Smith
8) Josh Nowlin
9) Chuck Lynch(DQ'ed)
Speaking of Super Stocks, Jaybird Marlin continues to fly high(no pun
intended) as the Super stock point leader became the first driver of the
year to win five features(in only six outings!). Marlin topped Mike Johnson,
Jay George and Clyde Bruce to garner the win. Larry Landers completed the
Top 5. Marlin and Johnson were the heat race victors.
Street Stock
1) Jaybird Marlin
2) Mike Johnson
3) Jay George
4) Clyde Bruce
5) Larry Landers
6) Donald Davis
7) Greg Curl
8) Ken Keiser
9) Clint Alexander
10) Chad Williams
In Outlaw Pony action teenager Blake Carter became a first time winner in
2001 by topping Johnny Crowell and the Fairview(TN) duo of Steve Kennedy and
Gwinn Jones. Doug Dalton was fifth. Kennedy won the heat race.
Outlaw Pony
1) Blake Carter
2) Johnny Crowell
3) Steve Kennedy
4) Gwinn Jones
5) Doug Dalton
6) Keith Layne
7) Bo Owens
8) Tammy Johnson
9) Dion Gordon
10) Mike dale

In Pure Pony racing, Michael Chumbley won his heat race then bested former
winner Tim Cunningham and Winchester Speedway hotshoe Shane Hooper in the
main event. Joe Morgan and Dudley Rogers rounded out the top 5. Doug
Chumbley won the other heat race.
Pure Pony
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Tim Cunningham
3) Shane Hooper
4) Joe Morgan
5) Dudley Rogers
6) Eddie Hartley
7) Doug Chumbley
8) Johnny Callahan
9) Jeff Weaver
10) Allen Rogers
In Rookie Pony action, Andy Rogers won his third and final feature event of
the Rookie Pony season. That's because the Mini Stock star will now have to
move into the Pure Pony class as the rules require after three wins. Rogers
made it a clean sweep night as he also won his heat race before topping
Jackie Taylor and Gary Reed in the feature event. Reed won his heat race.
Rookie Pony
1) Andy Rogers
2) Jackie Taylor
3) Gary Reed

Back to the Archives