Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 22, 2001 09:41 AM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD - Rookie Devin Friese of Mercersburg, PA looked like a pro as
he led every lap to record his first late model victory at the Hagerstown
Speedway in the 25-lap ITSI late model feature Saturday night.

"This is big for us, really big," said Friese in Victory Lane. "This is
our first year in late models. We thought we would come over here and learn a
little bit, but to win one so early in the season it is incredible. I saw
Jeremy(Miller) get his nose up under me on the restarts, but I know Jeremy
was going to race me clean. It was good to beat those guys like
Nathan(Durboraw), (Roy) Deese and all here.

In other action, Richard Walls of St. Thomas, PA returned to Victory lane
after nearly a two year dry spell leading all the way for the win in the
20-lap Hoosier Tires Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman main event. After
three weeks of misfortune, Mike Warrenfeltz of Hagerstown turned his luck
around with his first win in the 15-lap Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stock main
event while Jim Mullendore of Hagerstown finished off the night with a win in
the 30-lap enduro dash.

In the late model feature, Friese started fourth in the 24 car field, but
the first row of Mark Elksnis and Brent Smith were part of a multi-car wreck
going into the first turn that put Friese on the outside pole for the
complete restart. Friese took advantage of the front row on the restart and
quickly beat Doug Burkholder to the front. Jeremy Miller moved from fourth to
second as Friese started to pull away from the field. By the tenth lap,
Nathan Durboraw and Miller closed in on the leader. Four laps later, the
first caution was waved for James Adkins putting Miller on the leader's
bumper for the restart. Durborow pulled into the pits while under caution
moving D.J. Myers into third. On the restart, Miller stayed right with
Friese. As Friese kept his momentum going in the high groove, Miller tried to
find some traction down low. Once Miller was able to pull even with Friese on
lap 22, but Friese held his groove and was able to hold off Miller for the
win. Andy Fries fought off DJ Myers for third with Roy Deese Jr. coming from
11th for fourth. Doug Burkholder rounded out the top five. DJ Myers nailed
down sixth with Gary Stuhler, Andy Anderson, Tom Myers and Scott Cross
completing the top ten. The J&K Toys Heat winners for the 24 cars were DJ
Myers, Durboraw and Deese. Ron Ellis won the Timber Wolf and Ernie's Salvage
Yard Hard Charger Awards.

Richard Walls grabbed the lead at the drop of the green from the outside
pole and quickly pulled away from the field. By the half-way mark, Walls had
opened a straight away lead over his brother Wayne. Marvin Winters moved into
third on lap nine and looked like he had a chance to increase his winning
streak to four when the first and only caution was waved on lap 16 wiping out
Richard Walls large lead. On the restart, Winters was able to get around
Wayne Walls for second, but did not have enough for leader as Richard pulled
away to a 14 car length win. Winters won the St. Thomas Towing/Checker Lube
Hard Charger Award.

"I knew we could win with this car," said Walls. "The car felt good and
it has plenty of power." Following Richard Walls and Winters were Wayne
Walls, Dave Rice Jr., Barry Miller, Dave Neff; Mike Yeakle; Richard Clipp,
Mike Walls and Travis Beaver. Heat winners for the 15 sportsman were Kendall
and Richard Walls.

In the pure stock feature, Mike Warrenfeltz started third and quickly got
around Jeff Johnson to take the lead on the second lap. Johnson fought back
to pull even with Warrenfeltz at the half-way mark, but Johnson got high in
the loose dirt allowing Warrenfeltz to pull away for the win. Eugene Conley
came on strong from his 10th starting spot for third with Steve Kent Jr. next
with Ronnie Dennis coming from 18th for fifth and the Turner Bowling Centers
Hard Charge Award. Heat winners for the 30 pure stocks were Hans Stamberg,
Bruce Leibowitz and Warrenfeltz. Cale Griffin won the consolation.

Jim Mullendore started 14th in the 31 car field and was in second at the
end of the third lap as Kenny Thomas set the pace from the outside pole.
Kevin Durst, who started 22nd worked his way to second by the seventh lap and
moved in front on lap 12. On the 17th lap, Durst lost control of the car
ending against the first turn guardrail turning the lead over to Mullendore.
Mullendore held off Krazy Kenny Thomas the final two laps for the win.
Following Mullendore and Thomas were Eric Goshorn, Derek Riley and John

This Saturday, the Renegade STARS late models invade the Hagerstown
Speedway for the Stanley Schetrompf Memorial. The 50-lap event will pay
$6,000-to-the winner. Joining the late models will be the late model
sportsman, pure stocks and 4-cyl pure stocks, Race time is 7 P.M. General
Admission is $17 and $22 for the pit area.

RESULTS: ITSI LATE MODELS: (Heat 1) 1. D. Myers; 2. T. Myers; 3. Smith; 4.
Stuhler; 5. Anderson; 6. Schaffer. (Heat 2) 1. Durboraw; 2. Miller; 3. Fries;
4. Burkholder; 5. Sagi; 6. Cross. (Heat 3) 1. Deese; 2. Friese; 3. Irwin; 4.
Elksnis; 5. Plessinger; 6. Tomblin.
25-LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Devin Friese; 2. Jeremy Miller; 3. Andy Fries;
4. Roy Deese Jr.; 5. Doug Burkholder; 6. DJ Myers; 7. Gary Stuhler; 8. Andy
Anderson; 9. Tom Myers; 10. Scott Cross; 11. Frankie Plessinger; 12. Buck
Tomblin; 13. Ron Ellis; 14. Donnie Farlling; 15. Timmy Booth; 16. James
Adkins; 17. Alan Sagi; 18. Charlie Schaffer; 19. Chris Shuey; 20. Nathan
Durboraw; 21. Richard Irwin; 22. Ernie Davis; 23. Mark Elksnis; 24. Brent

Walls; 2. Marvin Winters; 3. Wayne Walls Jr.; 4. Dave Rice Jr.; 5. Barry
Miller; 6. Dave Neff; 7. Mike Yeakle; 8. Richard Clipp; 9. Mike Walls; 10.
Travis Beaver; 11. Robert Friese; 12. Daryl Kendall; 13. Ryan Donley. DNS:
Scott Sipe; Scott Palmer.

15-LAP ERNIE'S SALVAGE YARD PURE STOCKS: 1. Mike Warrenfeltz; 2. Jeff
Johnson; 3. Eugene Conley; 4. Steve Kent Jr.; 5. Ronnie Dennis; 6. Steve
Long; 7. Greg Hockensmith; 8. Denny Saunders; 9. Kim Ramer; 10. Hans
Stamberg; 11. Pete Gems; 12. Rick Stouffer Jr.; 13. Mike Sanders; 14. Frank
Dibella; 15. Bruce Leibowitz; 16. Gregory Moats; 17. Glenn Holder; 18. Kenny
Dillon; 19. Harold Prince; 20. Brian Pearrell; 21. Mark Vegh; 22. Cale
Griffin; 23. Jeff Bennett; 24. Brian Miller.

20-LAP ENDURO DASH-: 1. Jim Mullendore; 2. Kenny Thomas; 3. Eric Goshorn; 4.
Derek Riley; 5. John Poole; 6. Tim Brookens; 7. Alfred Twigg; 8. Danny
Holmes; 9. Jimmy Parrell; 10. Kevin Herrin; 11. William Crook; 12. Patrick
Murphy; 13. Steve Thompson; 14. Sam Shank; 15. Jim Eckfield; 16. Paul Rice;
17. Krazy Kenny Thomas; 18. Darwin Goshorn; 19. William Silkworth; 20. Roy
Rowland; 21. Bobby Moore; 22. Kevin Durst; 23. Steve Dillon; 24. John Graves;
25. Jessica Stouffer; 26. James Mongan; 27. Tony Ford; 28. J. W.
Eichelberger; 29. Larry Hurley; 30. Barry Jones; 31. Michael Kendrick.

Back to the Archives