Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   ON VICTORY LANE AT Greenwood Valley
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 15, 2001 11:56 AM UIN: 16262997
ON VICTORY LANE AT Greenwood Valley
April 14, 2001
Than Mitchell
After two weeks of rain, snow, and cold weather black flagging activities at The Greenwood Valley Action Track, Saturday's Opening Show was a fine one. Fair weather and a smooth, solid racing surface combined to give drivers and fans a great day of racing.

In the new Sportsman class for Micro Sprints - stock engines; no boring and stroking permitted - Brian Wawroski came home as the First Feature Winner. In Victory Lane, Wawroski, Bloomsburg, credited his pit crew and family for supplying the help to pull off the win. Second across the line was the very deserving Rob Pajauis, Asbury, NJ, who comes to The Action Track every week with his pit crew, chassis man, motor guy and mentor, with all parts played by his father. Third was Rick Morris, Catawissa, fourth was Chris Arner, Berwick, fifth went to John Roberts, Millville, and last in the field was Craig Knopp, Muncy.

Taking the checkered flag in 270cc Micro Sprint action was Joey Finan, Milton, who handled The Greenwood Valley Action Track with unusual ease. Second was claimed by Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove and third by Blane Heimbach, also from Selinsgrove. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills was fourth, Steve Lenig, Selinsgrove was fifth, and Steve Buckwalter took sixth place. Finishing seventh was Joe Bednarski, Plymouth, eighth, David Utt, Catawissa, ninth, Shane Penny, Berwick and tenth was Rob Trafford.

Newcomer Matt Miller, Sunbury, dominated Rookie Micro action. Miller was soaked with two containers of water to celebrate his first ever win. Second spot went to Brayden Winters, while Jesse Remensnyder, Mocanaqua, was third, Dillon Stein, Auburn, was fourth and fifth was Ross Perchak, Hazelton. In the sixth spot was Greg Spangler, Wapwallopen, while Chop Slusser, Bloomsburg, was seventh, Joe Hogan from Plymouth, eighth, and rounding out the top ten were Mike Burk and Daryl Travelpiece.

Pits will open at 2:30 and warm-ups will begin at 4:30 next Saturday as The Greenwood Valley Action Track plans to start racing one hour earlier this year. Join fellow racing fans from throughout the Northeast for the finest dirt track racing anywhere at The Action Track, located 3 1/2 miles east of Millville, just south of route 254.

See you at GVAT!.

1. Adam Zimmerman, Middleburg
2. Vinny Ferraro, Asbury, NJ
3. Mike Remaly, Millville

1. Vinny Ferraro, Asbury, NJ
2. Brian Woodruff
3. Mike Swist, Millville

1. John Evancho, Freeland
2. Mike Trevitz, Winfield
3. Kevin Halye, Bloomsburg

1. Eddy Miller, Sunbury
2. Dave Knouse, Selinsgrove
3. Scott Weirich, Sunbury

1. Josh Gauger, Watsontown
2. Jason Kemp, Bloomsburg
3. Matt Bennett, Muncy

1. Neil Bardo, Orangeville
2. Sean Stolz, Bloomsburg]
3. Zack Majestic, Millville

1. Kris McKeown, Bloomsburg
2. Derrick Bowersox, Milton
3. Corbin Leiby, Middleburg

1. Brock Puterbaugh, Millville
2. Jesse Miller, Sunbury

1. Kevin Faus, Rohersburg
2. Ernie Mordan, Millville
3. Ned Markle

1. Joey Finan, Milton
2. Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove
3. Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove
4. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills
5. Steve Lenig, Selinsgrove
6. Steve Buckwalter
7. Joe Bednarski, Plymouth
8. David Utt, Catawissa
9. Shane Penny, Berwick
10. Rob Trafford

1. Brian Wawroski, Bloomsburg
2. Rob Pajaius, Asbury, NJ
3. Rick Morris, Catawissa
4. Chris Arner, Berwick
5. John Roberts, Millville
6. Craig Knopp, Muncy

1. Matt Miller, Sunbury
2. Brayden Winters
3. Jesse Remensnyder, Mocanaqua
4. Dillon Stein, Auburn
5. Ross Perchak, Hazelton
6. Greg Spangler, Wapwallopen
7. Chop Slusser, Bloomsburg
8. Joe Hogan, Plymouth
9. Mike Burk, Orwigsburg
10. Daryl Travelpiece

1. Brian Wawroski, Bloomsburg
2. Paul Harig, Summit Station
3. Cody Roth, Kunkletown
4. Dave Shirk, Fredrichsburg
5. Tom Lynch, Lebanon
6. Whitney Heydenreich, Bloomsburg

Back to the Archives