Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 15, 2001 11:25 AM UIN: 16262997

Indiana, PA (April 14) - The Challenger Raceway opened their 2001 racing season on Saturday night, with David Scott from Garland driving to victory. Scott's victory in the Pittsburgh Crankshaft Late Model feature race keeps him undefeated in three starts in Western Pennsylvania Late Model action. Other opening night feature winners were Jeff Taylor from Saltsburg in the Townsend Gas & Oil Modifieds, Butch Lambert from Mars in the Stewart Bus Line Pure Stocks, and Henry Wilfong from Sewickley in the North East Locators Auto Sales Strictly Stocks.

The 25-lap Pittsburgh Crankshaft Late Model feature had Dave Norton and Doug Eck leading the field on the starting grid. Norton took the lead at the start, before a yellow flag on lap 1 slowed the pace. Nick Jones was the victim of tight racing, spinning in turn two. Norton continued to lead the way as fourth starting Dwayne Steiner moved up to challenge. Steiner worked the outside of Norton to take the lead on lap 5, before another yellow flag slowed the pace. Norton regained command on the restart to lead lap 6, but soon had sixth starting David Scott up to challenge. After a restart on lap 8, Scott moved past to take command on lap 9. After the final yellow flag period on lap 10, Eck moved to second position and briefly posed a challenge to Scott at the halfway mark. But Scott moved away over the closing laps to earn opening night honors. Eck had a good run to come home second. From 20th starting position, Nolan Dalton charged through the field to finish third. Norton was fourth, with Gary Lyle fifth. Jones rallied through the field to finish sixth, with Rusty Whitmore, Rod Phillips, Rob King, and Dave Lyon completing the top ten. Heat race winners were Dave Satterlee, Nick Jones, and Gary Lyle, with Tony Raneri winning the Last Chance Race.

Bruce Dreistadt and Ken Herman led the Townsend Gas & Oil Modifieds feature to the green flag, but it was third starting Kris Pisarcik getting though to lead lap one. Seventh starting Jeff Taylor was quickly on the move, and moved past on lap 3 to take the lead. On a lap 6 restart, Kenny Hall worked the inside lane to sneak by and lead lap 7. Working the outside groove better, Taylor regained the top spot on lap 8, which he would hold for the remaining distance. With Taylor pulling away in the lead, the focus was on the battle for second place. Bob Skwara secured runner-up honors with a last lap pass of Joe Kelley. Hall faded to fourth at the finish, with Carl McKinney finishing fifth. Skwara, Hall, and Jim Baker were Heat race winners.

The Stewart Bus Line Pure Stock feature event started with Jason Fosnaught and Mike Hilla, Jr. on the front row. Fosnaught led lap 1, with Hilla taking over on lap 2. Hilla controlled the pace until he spun sideways on lap 6, allowing Butch Lambert to take command. Lambert was locked in a thrilling side-by-side battle with Joe Kelley, which saw Kelley lead lap 7. Using the outside groove, tenth starting Lambert was able to pull back ahead the next time by, assuming a lead that he would not relinquish to the finish. Kelley settled for a close second, ahead of Jeff Walters, Rob Kosecki, and 17th starting Chris Schneider. Lambert and Hilla took the Heat race wins.

Fourth starting Henry Wilfong survived a brush with lapped traffic to secure the victory in the 15-lap feature for the North East Locators Auto Sales Strictly Stocks. Bill Hebenthal held off John Mazey in the battle for second, with Dan Mazzaferro and Dennis Ackerman filling the top five. The Heat winners were Mazey and Joe Starcher.

With the cars lining up for the first scheduled race of the evening, a rain shower moved in to put a temporary halt to proceedings. After a 90-minute rain delay was patiently waited out, the complete show was run in its entirety.

Challenger Raceway will be back in action on Saturday, April 21, with a four-division program of racing. A similar show will take place on Saturday, April 28, followed by the first special event of the season on Sunday, April 29. The Renegade STARS Racing Series will visit for the running of the "Spring Fling" with the winner earning $5,000, with the Townsend Gas and Oil Modifieds also on the card. The gates for all racing programs open at 5:30, with racing starting at 7:30. Challenger Raceway is located 6.4 miles southwest of US 422 on SR 286, then one mile north on McIntyre Road. For more information, please call 724-726-5494 for the office, or 724-726-9808 for the track. For the most complete source of Challenger Raceway information, visit the track's web site at

Upcoming events:
April 21 - Four division racing.
April 28 - Four division racing.
Sunday, April 29 - STARS Late Models, Spring Fling, $5,000 to-win plus Mideastern Modifieds.

Challenger Raceway results for Saturday, April 14, 2001.

Pittsburgh Crankshaft Late Models - Car Count - 27.
Heat winners, Dave Satterlee, Nick Jones, Gary Lyle.
Last Chance Race winner, Tony Raneri.
Feature, David Scott, Doug Eck, Nolan Dalton, Dave Norton, Gary Lyle, Nick Jones, Rusty Whitmore, Rod Phillips, Rob King, Dave Lyon, Chris Hackett, Bobby Bertges, Tony Raneri, Gene Kain, Matt Lux, Wally Fox, Spanky Dougherty, Tom Decker, Dwayne Steiner, Rick Davis, Brian Weyandt, Sammy Stiles, Dave Satterlee, Dwayne Taneyhill.
Did not qualify, Jeff Chronosky, Jr., Gary Vallies, Matt Gaston.
Current Point Standings, 99, David Scott; 97, Doug Eck; 96, Gary Lyle; 95, Nick Jones; 95, Dave Norton; 91, Rusty Whitmore; 90, Rod Phillips; 90, Nolan Dalton; 89, Rob King; 89, Chris Hackett.

The Townsend Gas & Oil Mideastern Modifieds - Car Count - 28.
Heat winners, Bob Skwara, Kenny Hall, Jim Baker.
Last Chance Race was not needed, all starters transferred.
Feature, Jeff Taylor, Bob Skwara, Joe Kelley, Kenny Hall, Carl McKinney, Mike Hess, Rich Logan, Fred Bratchie, Ken Herman, Jim Bertges, Chuck Kennedy, Russ Dunn, Ron Jaeger, Jim Baker, Will Cochran, Rich Womeldorf, Jeff Jones, Doug Glessner, Rick Meglaye, Kris Pisarcik, Bruce Dreistadt, Trent Newcome, Shawn Domhoff, Tink Mealy. Did not qualify, Butch Lambert, Bob Rougeaux, Bobby Watt, Jim Struble.
Current Point Standings, 99, Bob Skwara; 98, Jeff Taylor; 97, Kenny Hall; 95, Joe Kelley; 94, Carl McKinney; 94, Mike Hess; 89, Fred Bratchie; 89, Ken Herman; 87, Jim Baker; 86, Chuck Kennedy; 86, Rich Logan; 86, Jim Bertges.

Stewart Bus Line Pure Stocks - Car Count - 18.
Heat winners, Butch Lambert, Mike Hilla, Jr.
Feature, Butch Lambert, Joe Kelley, Jeff Walters, Rob Kosecki, Chris Schneider, Rusty Martz, Tommy Dembowski, Jim Swezey, Jason Fosnaught, Randy Caldwell, Jeff Enos, John Hartman, Fred Pfeifer, Mike Hilla, Jr., Craig Lobb, Frank Novak, John Novak.
Did not start, Bill Finley.
Current Point Standings, 100, Butch Lambert; 98, Joe Kelley; 95, Rob Kosecki; 94, Jeff Walters; 92, Rusty Martz; 91, Tommy Dembowski; 89, Randy Caldwell; 89, Chris Schneider; 87, Mike Hilla, Jr.; 87, Jason Fosnaught.

Strictly Stocks - Car Count - 14.
Heat winners, John Mazey, Joe Starcher.
Feature, Henry Wilfong, Bill Hebenthal, John Mazey, Dan Mazzaferro, Dennis Ackerman, Joe Starcher, Don Rodgers, Mike Connor, Tom Taylor, Mike Mathews, Larry McBryar, Joe Rubcic, Mark Marian.
Did not start, Matt Hugill.
Current Point Standings, 98, John Mazey; 97, Henry Wilfong; 97, Bill Hebenthal; 96, Dan Mazzaferro; 95, Dennis Ackerman; 95, Joe Starcher; 91, Don Rodgers; 89, Mike Connor; 88, Tom Taylor; 86, Mark Marian.

Back to the Archives