Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 14, 2001 11:55 PM UIN: 16262997

HAGERSTOWN, MD - After a big win last week, Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, WV
turned back the best the Mid-Atlantic Racing Series had to offer to record
the biggest win of his career in the 35-lap Shorty Bowers-Bull Durham
Memorial at the Hagerstown Speedway Saturday night. Anderson pocketed $5,000
for the win.

"I still can't believe it," said the young driver for the Bob & Cindy
Owens owned Rocket Chassis/Mill Road Concrete Construction late model. "When
the race first started and I fell back there, I was really concerned whether
we would get back up there. Then we started to get better and took off. But
when that caution came out (on lap 21), I guess the tires cooled off and the
car got tight and I just tried to keep Mike (Balzano) down there until we got
going. He raced me clean. I just don't know what to tell you. This is really

In other action, Marvin Winters overcame a rough going early in the race
to come back through the field to keep his win streak alive at three in the
20-lap Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic late model sportsman feature, Steve Long of
Chambersburg, PA fought off Brian Miller to win the 15-lap Ernie's Salvage
Yard 15-lap main event and Marcus Van Meter of Cresaptown, Md scored his
first win of the season in the 4-cyl pure stock feature.

In the MACS late model event, Andy Anderson started on the outside pole
but found himself back in third behind polesitter Andy Friese and Mike
Balzano at the end of the first lap. But Anderson fought his way back to
second past Balzano on lap six and later passed Fries using the low groove
for the lead on lap ten. Balzano took over second from Fries on lap 14 and
started to close the gap as Anderson started putting the slower cars a lap
down on lap 16. But once Anderson cleared the slower cars, he opened up some
daylight over Balzano and the rest of the field. Andrews put Fries down
another notch on lap 17 and Fries fell back to fifth when Jeremy Miller made
an inside move.

Anderson's comfortable lead was wiped out when the first caution of the
race was waved on lap 21 putting Balzano on the leader's bumper for the
restart. Balzano quickly closed in on Anderson, but once Anderson got some
heat in his tires, he was able to pull away to win by 10 car lengths.
Following Anderson and Balzano was Rick Eckert, who came on strong from his
ninth starting spot. Andrews and Miller rounded out the top five. Fries
finished sixth with Gary Stuhler and Scott Haus next. Roy Deese Jr. came from
17th for ninth and Devin Friese finished out the top ten. Heat winners for
the 38 cars were Bo Feathers, Balzano, Fries and Haus. Deese and Charlie
Schaffer won the B-Mains.

Marvin Winters started 10th in the 15 car field as Mike Yeakle took the
lead from the pole. But being in the wrong place at the wrong time found
Winters at the rear of the field following the caution on the fifth lap. Bob
Friese grabbed the lead from Yeakle after the restart with Richard Walls
moving in front on lap seven. As Walls was trying to hold off Barry Miller,
Winters was gradually working his way through the field. By the half-

way mark, Winters was in third and two laps later took the lead away from
Walls. Winters easily pulled away from the rest of the field to score his
third straight win of the year. Walls held on for second with Miller and
Wayne Walls, Jr. next. Dave Neff came from 15th to fifth for the St. Thomas
Towing/Checker Flag Lube Hard Charger Award. The next five spots went to
Yeakle, Richard Clipp, Mike Walls, Robert Friese and Dave Rice Jr. Heat
winners were Yeakle and Winters.

In the pure stock feature, Brian Miller grabbed the lead from pole-sitter
Ronnie Dennis after the first lap. Steve Long, who started fourth moved into
second and raced even with Miller for three laps before taking the lead on
lap seven. Miller came right back to pull even on lap 12, but Long pulled
back in front the next time around and picked up the win by two car lengths
over Miller. Bruce Leibowitz came on strong at the end from his 12th starting
spot to finish third with Kenny Dillon and Kim Ramer rounding our the top
five. Eugene Conlee, who started 28th, won the Turner's Bowling Centers Hard
Charger Award after finishing ninth. Heat winners for the 29 cars were Rick
Stouffer Jr., Dillon and Leibowitz.

Two-time winner Josh Angle set the early pace in the 4-cyl pure stock
feature as Marcus Van Meter started back in ninth spot. Van Meter blasted his
way into the second spot by the end of the first lap and closed in on Angle's
bumper on lap six. After racing even for two laps, Van Meter moved in front
of Angle for the lead on lap nine and pulled away to a four car length win.
Following Van Meter and Angle were Eric Mellott, Ronnie Garlock and Glen
Gipe. There were 14 cars signed in.

Next Saturday, Hagerstown Speedway will host the ITSI late models,
Hoosier Tire late model sportsman, Ernie's Salvage Yard pure stocks and the
first enduro dash of the season in a four-feature program. Race time is 5:30


LATE MODELS: (Heat 1) 1. Bo Feathers; 2. Devin Friese; 3. Rick Eckert; 4.
Richard Irwin. (Heat 2) 1. Mike Balzano; 2. Todd Andrews; 3. Gary Stuhler; 4.
Larry Wright. (Heat 3) 1. Andy Fries; 2. Jeremy Miller; 3. Scott Cross; 4.
Brent Smith. (Heat 4) 1. Scott Haus; 2. Andy Anderson; 3. Matt Urban; 4. Doug
Burkholder. (B-Main #1) 1. Roy Deese Jr.; 2. Tom Myers; 3. DJ Myers. (B-Main
#2) 1. Charlie Schaffer; 2. Buck Tomblin; 3. Alan Sagi. (Provisionals; Lynn
Geisler, Nathan Durboraw) DNQ: Chris Shuey; Frankie Plessinger; Bob Wearing
Jr.; Jack Pencil; Mark Elksnis; Shane Beegle; Mike Blose; Terry Neitz; Glenn
Ray; Donnie Farlling; Rick Wilson; Dan Armbruster.

3. Eckert; 4. Andrews; 5. Miller; 6. Fries; 7. Stuhler; 8. Haus; 9. Deese;
10. Friese; 11. Schaffer; 12. Feathers; 13. DJ Myers; 14. Cross; 15. Urban;
16. Smith; 17. Sagi; 18. Geisler; 19. Tomblin; 20. T. Myers; 21. Wright; 22.
Irwin; 23. Burkholder; 24. Durboraw.

20-LAP LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN FEATURE: 1. Marvin Winters; 2. Richard Walls; 3.
Barry Miller; 4. Wayne Walls Jr.; 5. Dave Neff; 6. Mike Yeakle; 7. Richard
Clipp; 8. Mike Walls; 9. Robert Friese; 10. Dave Rice Jr.; 11. Ryan Donley;
12. Scott Palmer; 13. Charles Hageage; 14. Daryl Kendall.

15- LAP PURE STOCK FEATURE: 1. Steve Long; 2. Brian Miller; 3. Bruce
Leibowitz; 4. Kenny Dillon; 5. Kim Ramer; 6. Ronnie Dennis; 7. Hans Stamberg;
8. Steve Kent Jr.; 9. Eugene Conlee; 10. Mike Warrenfeltz; 11. Phil Madagan;
12. Steve Lowery; 13. Denny Sanders; 14. Jeff Bennett; 15. Mark Vegh; 16.
Dave Mikolajski; 17. Mike Sanders; 18. Greg Moats; 19. Harold Prince; 20.
Kevin Shade; 21. JR Rudy; 22. Rick Stouffer, Jr.;, 23. Brian Pearrell; 24.
Jeff Johnson; 25. Sam Kaiser; 26. Greg Hockensmith; 27. Frank Dibella; 28.
Jesse Coleman.

10-LAP 4-CYL PURE STOCK FEATURE: 1. Marcus Van Meter; 2. Josh Angle; 3. Eric
Mellott; 4. Ronnie Garlock; 5. Glenn Gipe; 6. Ike Fix; 7. Mike Kershner; 8.
Randy Kline; 9. Mike Hawbaker; 10. Bobby Jones; 11. Troy Horner; 12. Larry
Baker; 13. Ashley Gordon.

Back to the Archives