Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Billy Moyer Jr. Annihilates James King Memorial Field!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 09, 2001 12:03 AM UIN: 16262997
Billy Moyer Jr. Annihilates James King Memorial Field!

Columbus, MS- Batesville, Arkansas Billy Moyer Jr. put on a driving display
at Columbus Speedway totally decimating one of the best field of cars to
ever grace the 3/10's mile high banked clay oval's grounds in the 9th Annual
Rinehart Trucking James King Memorial. Moyer driving his Clements powered
Petroff Towing and J and J Steel sponsored GRT Monte Carlo would lead all
100 laps and to claim the $10,000 first place prize. Moyer was followed by
fellow Batesville pilot Wendell Wallace who were the only two cars left on
the lead lap before the standing room only record crowd on hand.

The new Columbus Speedway was very different on Saturday night, as it was
extremely heavy with a large cushion at the rim of the high banks. Moyer
never left the high side in his flawless run to victory lane. There was a
high attrition rate simply due to the stress on the machinery because of the
tacky conditions along with overheating issues from mud blocking off cooling
systems. The end of the 100-lap test would have Moyer and Wallace followed
by third place finisher Steve Russell of Pontotoc who charged from 20th,
Ellenwood, GA's Mike Head, and Vossburg's Scott Dedwylder in fifth.
Completing the top ten were Bill Frye who started 25th and had worked his
way up to 4th at one time, Jay Brinkley, James Dean, Tony Gray, and Columbus
veteran Eddie Rickman.

There was also a Heat winners Dash to determine the top six starting
positions on Saturday night. The 10-lap race was won by Knoxville, TN's
Freddy Smith followed by Moyer, Mark Mears, Wendell Wallace, Ronnie Johnson,
and Mike Head. Friday night's action saw Billy Moyer claim the Pole Qualifying award with a 13.944-second lap around the
3/10's mile high-banked clay oval over the 54 car field on hand.

Official finish:
1-Billy Moyer
2-Wendell Wallace
3-Steve Russell
4-Mike Head
5-Scott Dedwylder
6-Bll Frye
7-Jay Brinkley
8-James Dean
9-Tony Gray
10-Eddie Rickman
11-Rodney Wing
12-Mike Boland
13-Anthony Rushing
14-Mark Mears
15-Dale McDowell
16-Randle Chupp
17-Mike Bowers
18-Freddy Smith
19-Jason Smith
20-Johnny Stokes
21-Brian Rickman
22-James Cline
23-Ronnie Johnson
24-Rick Rickman
25-Scott Bloomquist
Special thanks to Mr. Ed Rinehart and Rinehart Trucking for their event
sponsorship and sponsorship for future Columbus 2001 events to be announced
later with full details.
Another record breaking standing room only crowd for the 9th Annual James
King Memorial witnessed great racing in all divisions along with a festive
night with the New Hope High School cheerleaders on hand and a rousing
fireworks display as the Super Late Models rolled off for their 100 lap main

Local Divisions:

Pro Street

1-Fran Cox
2-Bill Sudduth
3-Paul Robinson
4-Bill Tedford
5-Glenn Roberts

Mississippi Modifieds

1-Brian Hollis
2-Randall Reedwood
3-Robert Eaton
4-David Eaton
5-Rodney Etheridge

Street Stock

1-Lee Ray
2-Tommy Gore
3-Tim White
4-Jonathan Edwards
5-Tommy Reed

Mini Stock

1-Buddy Glover
2-Greg Glover
3-Marty Oliver
4-Sybil Busbin
5-Dennis Stacey


1-Brad Fortner and Chad Fortner
2-Matt Price and Kevin Conn

Pro 4's

1-Jimmy Beachler
2-James Blakny
3-Ray Taylor
4-Darrell Goins
5-Steve Lowe

Columbus Speedway will host a Full racing Program this Saturday night
April14th. The event is a make up event from March 31st. There should be a
strong field on hand as over 100 cars were in the pits before the rains
interrupted the racing programs. All rain checks from that event will be
good for the April 14th event.

For more Columbus Speedway information please visit the Internet home of
Columbus Speedway at or call the Speedway event
hotline at 662-241-5004.

Back to the Archives