Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jimmy Hiett Earns First Ever TST Super Late Model Victory
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 08, 2001 11:54 PM UIN: 16262997
Jimmy Hiett Earns First Ever TST Super Late Model Victory

Talladega, AL-Jimmy Hiett from Oxford, Alabama earned his first ever
Kilpatrick Chevrolet Super Late Model win at TST by topping an eighteen car
field on the brutally fast high banked 3/10's mile clay oval. Action began
with Munford's Ted Lackey setting fast time with a 13.67-second qualifying
lap which is a D-55 tire rule TST Track Record, during
Pole Qualifying. The new Quick Six Qualifier's Dash for Cash would follow to
determine the top six starting positions in the main event. Lackey would
draw a zero, calling for no inversion of the Dash. Jimmy Hiett would win the
Dash to claim the Pole Position for the main event followed by Birmingham's
Chris Mullinax, Lane Culver, Ted Lackey, Skip Freeman, and Stacy Holmes.

The 30 lap main event would see Jimmy Hiett go flag to flag in his Executive
Sales and Sandy's One Stop sponsored Tommy Saddler powered Singer chassis
Monte Carlo to claim the prestigious win at one of the South's top dirt
racing facilities. Hiett who is a former IMCA Modified National Rookie of
the Year along with being a former IMCA Gulf Coast Region Champion was
followed by a great run by Talladega's Bubba Lackey, another strong showing
by Mullinax, hard charging Tim Roszell, and Anniston's Ronnie Norton in
fifth. Rounding out the remainder of the top ten were Destry Ford, Casey
Bratton, Ted Lackey, Stacy Holmes, and Jimmy Hudjins.

The Sportsman division would have a familiar name in Victory Lane as the
Leed's Richard Ogle continues his mastery of the class. Ogle driving his GRT
Monte Carlo would win another victory followed by Ricky Stinson, Ivan Meeks,
Dennis Collins, and Gary McDonald completing the top five.

Anniston's Eddie Brannon who is off to a stellar 2001 season picked up the
Gulf Coast Region IMCA Modified win. Brannon was followed by second year
IMCA driver Jeff Harry, Jamie Gowers, Jamey Wynn, and Doug Lackey.

The Southern Division IMCA Stock Car victory was earned by Margaret, AL's
"Charging" Charlie Chapman who was followed by Jeremy Hurst, Steven
Forsythe, veteran James Layfield, and son Eric Layfield.

Jonathan Chapman topped a large field of Pony Stocks for the feature win
followed by Dean Martin, Randy Martin, Alan Glaze, and Chris Knight
completing the top five. The Truck feature event was won by Robby Goodman
and the Cruiser event was won by the team of Goble and Greenwood.

TST will host a Full Racing program next weekend as preparations continue in
the newly remodeled facility for the invasion of the World of Outlaws Sprint
Car Series on Friday and Saturday night April 20th and 21st. The Kilpatrick
Chevrolet Super Late Models will also be on the card each evening with the
World Famous Sprint Car professionals. For more information please visit or call the TST event hotline at 256-831-1413.

Back to the Archives