Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River (TN) Speedway results from Saturday, April 7
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 08, 2001 12:01 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River (TN) Speedway results from Saturday, April 7

Saturday night at Duck River Speedway, Late Model ace and former track
champion Jerry Owens set quick time during time trials with a 14.645
clocking then drove away from a fine field of Late Models to pick up the
feature win. Although Owens clearly had the field covered on this night
an excellent battle ensued behind the Alabama veteran. No less than a
half a dozen cars were embroiled in a nip and tuck battle for positions
two through seven with Clarksville's Carnell Parker grabbing the third
spot just past the halfway point. Carnell then put the pressure on
Cullman, Alabama's Jon Miller for the runner-up spot in hopes of going
after the flying Owens. It was not to be however as Miller and Parker
tangled on lap 18 bringing out the caution and sending Parker to the
rear. The final restart saw Owens pull away from Miller with Kelly
Hanvey a close third.
Late Models
1) Jerry Owens
2) Jon Miller
3) Kelly Hanvey
4) Jimmy Nowlin
5) Anthony Burroughs
6) Jeff Sanborn
7) Carnell Parker
8) David Seibers
9) David Thompson
10) Grant Helms

The Claimer Late Model race, as has been the case every Saturday night
this season, had the fans in a frenzy as former Nashville asphalt ace
Tommy Climer(son of Nashville Speedway star, James Climer) made his
debut on dirt as he waged a 20 lap battle with two time winner Allen
Carter. These two reminded people of the great battles of Richard Petty
and Bobby Allison as both cars had damaged sheet metal on all sides when
the checkered flag was waived. Young Josh Nowlin had a terrific run
himself, at times showing some of the prowess of his more famous father,
Jimmy Nowlin. Young Nowlin nearly knocked down the front straightaway
wall with 3 laps remaining and had to fight an ill handling race car the
final laps to hold off Josh Lunsford and Matt Brabender for third.
Brabender won the heat race.
"Claimer" Late Model
1) Tommy Climer
2) Allen Carter
3) Josh Nowlin
4) Josh Lunsford
5) Matt Brabender
6) Charles Cates
7) Jason Gregg
The Open Wheel Modifieds time trialed and were led by Johnny Crowell
who edged Randy Zeigler. The Quick 6 ran an eight lap "Dash for Cash"
with Mark Haddon shedding his early season woes by taking the Dash then
leading start to finish in the main event to grab the win over Bryan
Reed and Josh Dement who had a fine run. Jason Mauer backed up his third
place run Friday night at North Alabama Speedway(NAS) with a fourth
place finish. Defending class champion, Randy Zeigler continued his
night mare weekend as he DNF'ed for the second night in a row. Randy was
challenging for the lead Friday night at NAS when he was broadsided with
heavy damage being the end result.
Open Wheel
1) Mark Haddon
2) Bryan Reed
3) Josh Dement
4) Jason Maurer
5) Bob Jarrett
6) John MaArthur
7) Tim Demonbreun
8) Carl Langford
9) Ken Martin
10) John Schetomph

Jaybird Marlin continued his great season by winning the heat race and
then taking the main event over Clyde Bruce. The win came after a race
long battle with the MOPAR driving Bruce who led the first eleven
circuits before Marlin went by when Bruce slipped coming off turn four
on the twelfth lap. Bruce pushed Marlin to the checkered flag but had to
settle for the Place position. Jeff Shields came from well back in the
pack to grab the Show spot in the waning laps. Larry Landers won the
other heat race.
Super Stock
1) Jaybird Marlin
2) Clyde Bruce
3) Jeff Sheilds
4) Jay George
5) Mike Johnson
6) Kevin McCreary
7) William Bennett
8) Butch Pruitt
9) Larry Landers
10) Donald Davis

Middle Tennessee's most wanted Outlaw, Steve Kennedy was finally
cornered Saturday night and it was his coconspirator in crime, Gwinn
Jones who did it! Jones stole this show with defending class champion,
Tom Russell garnering the runner-up slot. Kennedy did manage a close
third in front of 15 year old Blake Carter. Russell and Jones were the
heat race winners.
Outlaw Mini Stocks
1) Gwinn Jones
2) Tom Russell
3) Steve Kennedy
4) Blake Carter
5) Mike Dale
6) Jason Averitt
7) Jeff Robinson
8) Tommy Taylor
9) Tammy Johnson
10) Dion Gordon

The Pure Pony feature was taken by Tim Cunningham who bested Michael
Chumbley in a battle that lasted most of the event. Chumbley fought back
after giving up the early lead to Cunningham but had to settle for
second in front of Billy Davidson. Davidson and Chumbley were the heat
race victors.
Mini Stocks
1) Tim Cunningham
2) Michael Chumbley
3) Billy Davidson
4) Stanley James
5) David Wallace
6) Tony Gentry
7) Doug Chumbley
8) Joe Morgan
9) Jeff Weaver
10) Eddie Hartley

In Rookie Pony action it was Clint Crowell getting the best of heat race
winner Charles Brewer and Tim Hartman. Andy Rogers won his other heat
"Rookie" Mini Stock
1) Clint Crowell
2) Charles Brewer
3) Tim Hartman

Back to the Archives