Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   North Alabama Speedway, Racing results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 07, 2001 01:34 PM UIN: 16262997
North Alabama Speedway, Racing results
from Friday, April 6

Mike Harris led 14 other Late Models in Time Trials with a 15.098
clocking to pick up his first ever fast time award at NAS.
When the green flag waived for the start of the feature event Harris
took the early lead and held the spot for two circuits before fourth
starting Mike Holloway took control. The Muscle Shoals native was really
hooked up and began to pull away from the field as the Shoals charger
began lapping racers on the eighth lap. At the half way mark the top 5
were, Holloway, Harris, Chris Ragan, Mark Sartain and Mike Flannagan. On
lap 15, Flannagan pushed up in turns one and two and lost two spots to
Steve Reed and Dustin Reese. Meanwhile, Ragan was pushing Harris hard
for the runner-up spot but Holloway was sailing along all by himself in
front. With five to go Ragan slipped by Harris but appeared headed for a
runner-up finish with Holloway well in front. A caution flag o lap 21
sent Dwayne Oakley, Butch Spears and Mike Flannagan to the pits. The
caution also bunched up the field for the restart and this would be
critical for Holloway's effort to pick up his first victory ever. On the
Final restart Ragan charged alongside Holloway and the final three laps
had the crowd on their feet. With two to go Holloway still held a half
car length lead at the stripe but as the duo cam around for the white
flag Ragan was a nose in front of Mike. Holloway redoubled his efforts
and actually nosed in front going into the final turn on the high side
but Ragan fought back through three and four and both racers charged out
of the final turn side by side with Ragan denying Holloway his first
ever trip to victory lane by a mere six inches in a virtual photo
finish! Mark Sartain had another strong run to finish third ahead of
pole sitter Mike Harris and Dustin Reese.
Late Models
1) Chris Ragan (2nd win in 2001)
2) Mike Holloway
3) Mark Sartain
4) Mike Harris
5) Dustin Reese
6) Dustin Spears
7) Les Howell
8) Mike Flannagan
9) Dwayne Oakley
10) Butch Spears

The Open Wheel feature appeared more like a war than a race as over
half the field suffered damage ranging from sheet metal to severe. At
the Drop of the green flag, Toby Carruthers jumped in front for a single
circuit until Jeremy Morris assumed the point on lap two when Carruthers
got sideways and was collected hard by Tim Parker. Morris continued to
lead with Jason Sullivan and Randy Zeigler on the move. By lap eight
Sullivan was second with Zeigler third when Sullivan spun and was sent
to the rear. On the restart Zeigler charged after the lead only to
broadsided in turn two ending the Duck River Speedway Champions night.
By the half way mark, Sullivan had come from the rear to fourth and
grabbed second on the following circuit. Two laps later the Jackson,
Tennessee native had slipped by Randy Todd for the lead with Morris
third. With seven to go Morris had pulled back into the runner-up
position with Jason Maurer in third. The running order would remain the
same to the checkered flag. Morris and Carruthers were the heat race
Open Wheel
1) Jason Sullivan
2) Jeremy Morris
3) Jason Maurer
4) Toby Carruthers
5) Carl Langford
6) Randy Todd
7) Steve Reed
8) Randy Zeigler
9) Tim Parker
10) Mike Brassman

Heat winner, Roger Brewer led the first half of the main event before
last weeks winner, Dwayne Parsons finally prevailed and grabbed the top
spot. Parsons led the renegade field to the checkered flag with Ed Felks
garnering the second spot with two laps remaining.
1) Dwayne Parsons
2) Ed Felks
3) Jeff Wilson
4) Roger Brewer
5) Tim Adams
6) Tim Nash
7) Danny Butts
8) Doug Cross

In Street stock action, heat winners, Shawn Mitchell and Len ****s tied
up(literally) in an early battle for the front spot. If fact a complete
restart was necessitated when it took ten minutes to pull the cars apart
when ****s ran over the rear bumper of Mitchell. Mitchell led the first
four circuits before ****s slipped by and Mitchell exited to the pits.
With six laps remaining Bobby Joe Robinson edged by ****s to lead one
lap before ****s reassumed the lead one lap later. Robinson charged back
in front with three laps remaining only to spin on the following
circuit. ****s would lead the final three laps to pick up the win over
Aaron Brumbaloe and Lynn Wallace.
Street Stock
1) Len ****s
2) Aaron Brumbaloe
3) Lynn Wallace
4) Joey Harrison
5) Ray Moore
6) Robert Scott
7) Jay Keaton
8) Randall Scott
9) Bobby Joe Robinson
10) Bobby Smith

Mr. Mini Stock, Shane Parker was locked in an early battle with Athens,
Alabama's Tommy Wallace with Wallace leading the first four circuits
before heat winner Parker forged to the front. Parker would lead the
final eight laps with Wallace a close second.
Mini Stock
1) Shane Parker
2) Tommy Wallace
3) Logan Mize
4) Robert Holden
5) David Wallace
6) Cotton James
7) Logan Mize(DNS)

Racing continues this coming Friday night with the "Wild Hare 75".
Note: The Open Wheel drivers were advised that beginning, with the first
race in May(May 4th), a 2,450 weight limit will be impose on that class.

Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives