Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Lernerville Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 07, 2001 08:25 AM UIN: 16262997
Lernerville Speedway 724-353-1511 Fax 724-353-2650
278 North Pike Road Sarver, PA 16055

The 2001 season at Don Martin's Lernerville Speedway officially opened
with 113 cars in the pits and the Sarver oval lived up to its name,
"the action track"! The first victors of the new millennium were the
following; Triangle Gasoline Sprints-Ed Lynch Jr, Apollo; Friedman's
Supermarkets/Bi-Lo Foods Late Models-David Scott, Garland; Ferrante
Oldsmobile Modifieds-Lou Blaney, Hartford, OH and Dingbats Restaurant Pure
Stocks- Jim Swezey, Greensburg.
In a stellar field of 35 Triangle Gasoline Sprint cars, Ed Lynch Jr was
victorious in the 20-lap feature! The #2L"Apollo Rocket" was dialed
perfectly into the track. Soaring from an eleventh place start and then using
the inside line of turn four, Lynch passed leader Ralph Spithaler with two
laps to go. In victory lane, Lynch said, "The name of the game is the race
track." Runner-up Spithaler drove an impeccable race with only two caution
events to close the pack. On lap one, the first was for Marty Ling whose
Sprint barrel-rolled into the front fence and caromed back to the track. He
was uninjured. The second occurred on lap nine when the #9 of Kevin Schaeffer
slowed on the back straight. Andy Priest drove a solid third and was trailed
by Rob Eyler, Jamie Smith. Coming from the 18th slot, Jimmy Hawley placed
sixth and was followed by David Scott, Rod George, Gary Kriess, and Scott
Priester. Rob Eyler, Scott Priester and Jamie Smith won the prelims. Sixteen
year-old Brian Woodhall checkered his first race ever, the B-Main.
History repeated itself as the "Slow Ride" of David Scott used the
outside line to win one of the most competitive Friedman's
Supermarket's/Bi-Lo Foods Late Model events ever. At last year's opener,
Scott won his first 20-lap Late Model event by defeating **** Barton and Lynn
Geisler, respectively and this year was a carbon copy. Ken Schaltenbrand
drove a fantastic race, leading the first ten laps. At the start of lap 11,
Russ Kolesar slowed on the front straight and the caution came out. The #1C
of Geisler collided with Schaltenbrand on the back straight after the yellow
was thrown. Schaltenbrand had two flat tires and went to the pits but Geisler
did not stop and recovered in the second position. Barton had come from
eighth to second and was pleased to now assume the lead. At this point Scott
was is fifth On the restart, the second and last caution event occurred for
Mike Blose and Bob Puz. With three laps to go, using the cushion of turn
four, Scott passed Barton and warded him off to eventually win by two car
lengths. In victory lane Scott said. "I want to dedicate this win to my late
crew member, Tom Newride." Geisler nabbed third and was followed by the hard
charging John Flinner and Bob Wearing JR in the Fritz #1. Tom Kitchen
claimed fifth and was trailed by defending champ Nick Jones, Mark Osburn,
Greg Fenno and Rick Lias. Heat races were checkered by Bertges, Barton and
Modified legend Lou Blaney continues his winning ways after 42 years and
he's still going strong! Kevin Bolland and Blaney were in the front row of
the 20-lap Ferrante Oldsmobile Modified main event. Bolland took charge with
Blaney in hot pursuit. Bolland #777 spun around on lap 10 and he exited the
race. At the point the mighty #10 of Lou Blaney took the helm and remained
there to the checker. Having a superb outing, runner-up Bob Wearing Jr. came
within a few lengths of Blaney's bumper but could not muster enough "horses"
to catch him. He was pursued by Lonny Riggs, Dave Murdick, Les Meyers, Carl
Murdick, Phil Evans, George Hobaugh, Ron Took and Delmont Rougeux. Wearing Jr
and Riggs won the heat events.
Victory lane was like "Fantasy Island" for Mike Swezey who "swizzled" the
competition to claim that career first win! First place in the 15- lap
Dingbat's Restaurants Pure Stock main was like a "hot potato" and no one
wanted to hold it too long. Chris Schneider led laps 1-3 then exited the race
leaving Scott Bochek in charge laps 4-7. On lap 8, Bochek's #75 did a 360
rounding turn four and was charged with a caution. Bochek went to the end of
the field and Randy Caldwell inherited the front spot, leading lap eight.
Jeff Walters passed Caldwell to register first on lap nine but was involved
in a melee shortly after and was a DNF for the evening. For the second time
Caldwell inherited the top spot and maintained it until lap 12 when Bochek,
Caldwell and Kelley collided. This put Swezey, who had started fourteenth and
was running fourth, into the lead. Swezey drove the race of his life at this
point to not only survive in the top spot but also win his very first feature
event. He was followed across the line by Mike Turner, Scott Bochek, Roland
Hall, rookie Doug Graham, John Muron, Terry Faas, Tommy Dembowski, Joe
Kelley, and Randy Caldwell. Nick Reges, Schneider and Kelley won the
preliminary races and Rick Burris won the B-Main.

Lernerville Speedway Race Results
278 N. Pike Road Sarver, Pa 16055
Phone: 724-353-1511 Fax: 724-353-2650

Date: 4/6/01

Triangle Gasoline Sprint Feature: Feature Race Notes: Started: 11
1. Ed Lynch Jr., Apollo Wins: 1
Laps: 20
2. Ralph Spithaler, Evans City
3. Andy Priest, New Castle Lap Leaders:
4. Rob Eyler, Franklin Spithaler 1-17, Lynch 18-20
5. Jamie Smith, Economy Sprint Qualifying Race Winners:
6. Jimmy Hawley, West Middlesex 1st Heat: Rob Eyler, Franklin
7. David Scott, Garland 2nd Heat: Scott Priester,
8. Rod George, Kittanning 3rd Heat: Jamie Smith, Economy
9. Gary Kriess, Connoquenessing 4th Heat:
10. Scott Priester, Rimersburg B-Main: Brian Woodhall, Upper

Friedman's Market/Bi-Lo Foods
Late Model Feature: Feature Race Notes:
Started: 14
1. David Scott, Garland Wins: 1
Laps: 20
2. **** Barton, Ashville, NY
3. Lynn Geisler, Cranberry Twp. Lap Leaders:
4. John Flinner, Zelienople Schaltenbrand 1-10, Barton 11-16,
Scott 17-20
5. Bob Wearing, Sr., Callery Late Model Qualifying Race
6. Tom Kitchen, Saltsburg 1st Heat: Bobby Bertges,
7. Nick Jones, Pittsburgh 2nd Heat: **** Barton,
Ashville, NY
8. Mark Osburn, Conneaut , OH 3rd Heat: Ken Schaltenbrand, Sarver
9. Greg Fenno, Corry 4th Heat:
10. Rick Lias, Smicksburg B-Main:

Ferrante Oldsmobile V-8 Modified Feature: Feature Race Notes:
Started: 1
1. Lou Blaney, Hartford, OH Wins: 1
Laps: 20
2. Bob Wearing, Jr., Renfrew
3. Lonny Riggs, Volant Lap Leaders:
4. Dave Murdick, Slippery Rock Bolland 1-10, Blaney 11-20
5. Les Myers, Reno Modified Qualifying Race Winners:
6. Carl Murdick, Butler 1st Heat: Bob Wearing Jr.,
7. Phil Evans, Greensburg 2nd Heat: Lonny Riggs, Volant
8. George Hobaugh, Karns City 3rd Heat:
9. Ron Took, Evans City 4th Heat:
10. Delmont Rougeux, Frenchville B-Main:

Dingbats Restaurant Pure Stock Feature: Feature Race Notes: Started:14
1. Jim Swezey, Greensburg Wins: 1 Laps:
2. Mike Turner, Butler
3. Scott Bochek, Cheswick Lap Leaders: Schneider 1-3, Bochek 4-7,
4. Roland Hall, Cabot Caldwell 8, 10-12, Walters 9, Swezey
5. Doug Graham, Butler Pure Stock Qualifying Race Winners:
6. John Muron, Freedom 1st Heat: Nick Reges, Butler
7. Terry Faas, Tarentum 2nd Heat: Chris Schneider, Tarentum
8. Tommy Dembowski, Monroeville 3rd Heat: Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant
9. Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant 4th Heat:
10. Randy Caldwell, Cabot Consy: Rick Burris, Saxonburg

First Career Win for Swezey
4/13 "Fab 4 Racing" Points Start!!
4/20 World of Outlaws Gumout Series Sprint Show plus Pure Stocks
4/27 "Fab 4" Racing
5/4 "Fab 4" Racing
6/1 World of Outlaws Sprint Cars

Back to the Archives