Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Shawn Chastainís Destiny Takes First Cleveland Win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted April 01, 2001 01:43 PM UIN: 16262997
Shawn Chastainís Destiny Takes First Cleveland Win

A new chapter in the history of Cleveland Speedway was opened up Saturday night, as Shawn Chastain finally seen his destiny and the checkered flag for the first time at the TN Valley dirt track. Chastainís five year plus quest for victory lane came less than one month after his debut with a new race team (a.k.a. Team Destiny) driving the black # 11 "Destiny Contracting, Bryant Construction" Chevrolet Monte Carlo. Glen Seaton III came back from a crash in his heat race to win the Claimer Late Model feature race. Doug Works (a.k.a. "The Workmeister") took the Hobby checkers, with Darrell Holloway winning the Pony Stock feature and Herbert Chambers winning for the second week in a row in the Street feature.

A full field, plus one sign in for Super Late Model action Saturday night despite threatening skyís above the Cleveland Speedway. In "Budweiser: King of Speed" Qualifying Time Trials Rick Standridge of Maryville TN clocked his # 41 "Standridge Racing, Aurora Bearing" Chevrolet Monte Carlo at 14:485 seconds to earn the pole for the first of two preliminary heat races. Fellow Maryville racer Brad Coffey was second fast qualifier turning a 14:588, with Chastain, rookie contender Chris Beavers, reigning track champion Andy Dill and Lamar Scoggins rounding out the "Quick Six Pack." Chastain made quick work of Standridge in the first heat, holding off Andy Dill. Mike Tinker rallied from eighth to third in the race, with Tim Richardson and R. Standridge rounding out the top five. In the second heat Lamar Scoggins proved to be one of the most dominate racecars this year by beating the front row starters Coffey & Beavers from his third place starting spot. Beavers and Coffey got entangled in a crash on the front straight away allowing David Smith to race to second. Brian Burke was third with Randy Burrows (in a newly purchased Jamie Perry # P4 racecar) in fourth and Bobby Mayse fifth.

With inclement weather threatening to intervene track officials moved the Super Late Model "A" Main race to the first feature race position on the card. A repeat battle of Chastain against Scoggins ensued as the field took the green flag. Chastain would race into the lead from the pole, with Scoggins putting up a hard fight on the outside before settling into second. Randy Burrows and Steve Gilbert reared the first yellow cloth as the two spun collecting Jimmy Hunt in turn three. Mike Tinker took the restart to work by David Smith for fourth with Dill trying to pressure Scoggins in second. Tinker and Dill raced hard for third as Chastain plowed through back marker traffic. On lap 19 the two locked up off of turn four, resulting in Dill rupturing his left rear tire. The final yellow rang on lap 26 as Gilbert spun while letting the leaders pass on the low side of turn one. As the checkers flew for Chastain, Scoggins held back Tinker for second with Smith fourth and Burke racing to fifth.

The Cleveland Speedway will hold itís first Wednesday night practice this next week (April 4th). On Saturday night (April 7th) the Claimer Late Model will have a special extended feature race, the 2nd Annual "Spring Fling Championship", a 30 lap "A" Main feature paying $500 to win. A full card of regular racing with the SLMís, Hobby, Pony Stocks, and Street will also be racing.

Super Late Model:
1.Shawn Chastain (# 11) of Murphy NC
2.Lamar Scoggins (# 32) of Georgetown TN
3.Mike Tinker (# 22) of Ringgold GA
4.David Smith (# 22D) of Chattanooga TN
5.Brian Burke (# B39) of Dalton GA
6.Tim Richardson (# 01) of Chattanooga TN
7.Bobby Mayse (# 22) of Harrison TN
8.Rick Standridge (# 41) of Maryville TN
9.Kent Hicks (# 15) of Cleveland TN
10.Chris Beavers (# 03) of Cleveland TN

Claimer Late Model: Winner Ė Glen Seaton III (# 92) of Cleveland TN
2.Chris Powell (# P9), 3.Mike Krizonavic (# 10), 4.Nick Yancy (# Y7), 5.Elgin Gray (# 32)

Hobby: Winner Ė Doug Works (# 35) of Cleveland TN
2.Chris Stewart (# 68), 3.Richard Dixon (# 3), 4.Jon Woodward (# 37), 5.Jim Twiggs (# 99)

Pony Stock: Winner Ė Darrell Holloway (# 9) of Dalton GA
2.Jimmy Brown (# 10), 3.Justin Winters (# J1), 4.Adam Roberts (# 94), 5.Josh Doss (# B28)

Street: Winner -- Herbert Chambers (# 31) of Cleveland TN
2.Anthony Hawkins (# 3), 3.Donald Forgey (# 71), 4.Jason Seaton (# 92), 5.Jim Irwin (# J8)

Back to the Archives