Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 25, 2001 11:13 PM UIN: 16262997

MARCH 25, 2001

HAGERSTOWN, MD - Two-time defending champion Roy Deese Jr. of Odenton,MD
notice that he will be the driver to beat at Hagerstown as he collected back
to back wins in the
30-lap ITSI late model feature Sunday afternoon at the Hagerstown
Speedway. Deese quickly blasted his way into the lead from his front row
position coming off of the forth turn and then held off Charlie Schaffer for
the win.

Craig Von Dohren of Barto, PA won the 30-lap small block modified feature
and Erik McKinny won the 15-lap Modified Lite main event.

In the late model feature, Deese started on the pole in the heads up start
and never looked back. Charlie Schaffer, John Flinner JR and Gary Stuhler
followed Deese nose to tail for the full 30 laps.
C. S. Fitzgerald moved into fifth spot on lap four with Frankie Plessinger
in tow. Devin Friese took over seventh spot on lap 20 when Richard Irwin
went into the pits.
At the finish it was Deese, Schaffer, Flinner, Stuhler and Fitzgerald in the
top five. Plessinger, Friese, Doug Burkholder, Rodney Franklin and D. J.
Myers completed the top ten. Heat races for the 34 late models in the pits
were won by Deese, Burkholder and Schaffer. Jeremy Miller won the

Smokey Warren took the lead at the start of the 30-lap Small Block Modified
feature with Rich Scagliotta in tow. Brett Hearn who started in 8th spot
shot into the lead on lap 2. On the lap-6 it was Greg VonDohren who started
6th made the pass by Hearn to take the point. Von Dohren was never
challanged for the remainder of the event. Alan Johnson blasted by Hearn on
lap 14 to take over the second spot. Jamie Mills and Keith Hoffman made the
charge to pass Hearn on lap 23. At the finish it was Von Dohren, Johnson,
Mills, Hoffman and Hearn in the top five. Jeff Strunk who started 9th,
finished in 6th with 22nd starter Dorg Hoffman taking the seventh spot.
Smokey Warren held on to finish 8th, followed by Chad Marvel and Norman
Short. Heats for the 28 Modified Lites on hand were won by Alan Johnson,
Kevin Hithler and Richard Brown. Steve Paine won the concellation event.

Tom Curtis took the early lead in the 15-lap Modified Lite feature with 8th
starter McKinny on his tail. McKinny shot into the lead on lap 3 and never
looked back. Steve White finished second with Tom Callaway, Jim Kurpakus and
Rick Buttle making the top five. Sixth thru ten were Mike Vammino, Landis
Musser, Lynn Knepper, Josh Sigman and Tom Curtis. Qualify events for the 33
cars on hand were won by Vammino, Curtis and Buttle.

Next week, the DIRT modifieds and the late models in a double header program
Saturday night starting at 5:00 P.M. Gates will open at 3:00 PM. The late
models will compete in 25-lap $2,000-to-win feature event. The DIRT
modifieds will run a 100-lap main event.


30-LAP LATE MODEL FEATURE: 1. Deese; 2. Schaffer; 3. Flinner; 4. Stuhler;
5. Fitzgerald; 6.
Plessinger; 7. Friese; 8. Burkholder; 9. Franklin; 10. Myers; 11.
Sagi; 12. Kable; 13. Tomblin; 14. Miller; 15. Fries; 16. Elknis; 17.
Barbara; 18. Blose; 19. Bonebrake; 20. Irwin; 21. Smith; 22. Workman; 23.
Tomblin; 24. Johnson.

30-LAP Small Block Modified FEATURE. 1. Von Dohren; 2. Johnson.;
3. Mills; 4. Hoffman; 5. Hearn; 6. Strunk; 7. Doug Hoffman
; 8. Warren; 9. Marvel; 10. Short; 11. Colsten; 12. Weiss; 13. Brown; 14.
Dunning; 15. VanGorder; 16. Strickler; 17. Ryan Watt; 18. Kirby; 19.
Leibold; 20. Reimert; 21. Scagliotta; 22. Hirthler; 23. Albert; 24. Paine.

Back to the Archives