Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River (TN) Speedway Results from Saturday, March 24
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 25, 2001 10:41 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River (TN) Speedway Results from Saturday, March 24

The weather is still a little cool but David Gentry couldn't be any
hotter as the Lewisburg chauffeur picked up his second straight Super Late
Model victory of the year, Saturday night, besting the "Decatur(AL.)
Raider", Mark Mears. Jerry Owens was third for the second week in a row,
followed by Jay Brinkley and Carnell Parker of Clarksville. TN.
Late Models
1) David Gentry
2) Mark Mears
3) Jerry Owens
4) Jay Brinkley
5) Carnell Parker
6) Tony Albright
7) Jeff Walker
8) Jeff Sanborn
9) Randy Gifford
10) Shannon Davis

In the new "Claimer" Late Model class, it looked like there would be
three different winners in three weeks as Fayetteville's Rick Curren won his
heat race then took the checkered flag in the main event. But alas, Curren's
#31 was disqualified on a rules technicality, moving Allen Carter into the
winners circle. The win was Carter's second of the new season and had
misfortune not thwarted Allen last week, he might well be looking at three
for three! Matt Brabender notched his second runner-up finish of the new
season edging Josh Lunsford who has finished in the "Show" spot every week
this year.
"Claimer" Late Models
1) Allen Carter
2) Matt Brabender
3) Josh Lunsford
4) Tommy Climer
5) Greg Harbin
6) Charlie Cates
7) Tony Morris
8) Jason Gregg
9) Dwayne Ward
10) Rick Curren (Disqualified)

If the Late Model crowd is concerned then the Open Wheel set is
borderline panic stricken. How to knock off King David ? David Gentry won
his third IMCA Open Wheel feature event of the season last night and if that
isn't cause for concern, his teammate Tommy Davis finished second. Plenty of
competition is lurking ahead though as Mark Haddon finally avoided his
recent plague of bad luck to grab a strong third ahead of quickly improving
Shannon Davis. Davis and Gentry were the heat race winners.
Open Wheel Modifieds
1) David Gentry
2) Tommy Davis
3) Mark Haddon
4) Shannon Davis
5) Henry Hanger
6) Barry Rochelle
7) Bud Collett
8) Josh Dement
9) Jeff Tate
10) Ken Martin

In the always exciting Super Stock division, Jaybird Marlin marched
to victory over Mr. Mopar, Clyde Bruce. Bruce has three top 5's in 2001 and
it's only a matter of time before he puts Chrysler back in victory lane.
Will it happen in NASCAR or at Duck River first? A strong run was turned in
by Murfreesboro's Dean Travis to notch the third spot ahead of last week's
winner, Tommy Davis and Larry Landers. Marlin and Travis were the heat
Super Stocks
1) Jaybird Marlin
2) Clyde Bruce
3) Dean Travis
4) Tommy Davis
5) Larry Landers
6) Donald Davis
7) Jay George
8) Jason Holt
9) David Marlin
10) Mike Johnson

Middle Tennessee's number one Outlaw is still on the loose and
nobody seems to be able to catch him. Steve Kennedy continued to stay in
front of the "Posse" and elude all persuers on his way to his third straight
heat and feature win Saturday night. Gwinn Jones pressured his rival but had
to settle for second as the ever improving Ricky Brown finished third. Brown
also won his heat race.
Outlaw Pony's
1) Steve Kennedy
2) Gwinn Jones
3) Ricky Brown
4) Jeff Roberson
5) Blake Carter
6) Jimmy Dale
7) Billy Polston
8) Bo Owens
9) Johnny Crowell
10) Michael Ashworth

The Pure Pony division saw it's third different winner in three
weeks as John David Todd picked up the victory over Billy Davidson. Last
week's winner Anthony Seibers was third in front of opening night winner,
Michael Chumbley Chumbley and Davidson were the heat race victors.
Pure Pony
1) John David Todd
2) Billy Davidson
3) Anthony Seibers
4) Michael Chumbley
5) Stanley James
6) Shane Hooper
7) Jimmy Calahan
8) Dudley Rogers
9) Jeff Maxwell
10) David Wallace

The Rookie Pony class also had it's third different winner last
night as Gary Reed won the heat race and main event, besting Dean Rader and
Charles Brewer.
Rookie Pony (eligible only for drivers with less than 3 wins)
1) Gary Reed
2) Dean Rader
3) Charles Brewer

Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives