Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway results from Sunday
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted March 19, 2001 07:13 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway results from Sunday, March 19
Last week’s "Claimer" Late Model Feature came down to a last lap altercation that ended with Allen Carter taking the checkered flag while Jimmy Nowlin was left in the infield, wondering what happened? This week, the middle Tennessee veteran had some unfinished business to take care of and he did just that. After finishing third in his heat race Nowlin charged to the front and picked up the feature win over Matt Brabender. Heat winner, Josh Lunsford was third with Greg Harbin and Tommy Climer rounding out the Top 5. Last weeks winner, Allen Carter could only manage a sixth place finish in the new and competitive Claimer Late Model class.
Claimer Late Models
1) Jimmy Nowlin
2) Matt Brabender
3) Josh Lunsford
4) Greg Harbin
5) Tommy Climer

The Super Late Model feature was a real barnburner with David Earl Gentry nipping last weeks winner, Terry English. Former champion, Jerry Owens, wheeling the Donnie Pogue owned #11 flexed his muscle with a strong third place finish, edging out Jay Brinkley and Moe Harrison for third. The "Bluegrass Bandolero" English was the quick qualifier.
Super Late Models
1) David Gentry
2) Terry English
3) Jerry Owens
4) Jay Brinkley
5) Moe Harrison
6) Randy Gifford
7) Jeff Sanborn
8) Stan Amacher
9) Shannon Davis
10) Tony Albright

Lewisburg’s, David Gentry made it two for two by besting a stellar field of Open Wheel Modifieds. Chad Bone was the runner-up with Shannon Davis a strong third. Jason Maurer and Bryan Reed were fourth and fifth. Davis, Gentry and Henry Hanger all won their respective heat races.
Open Wheel Modifieds
1) David Gentry
2) Chad Bone
3) Shannon Davis
4) Jason Maurer
5) Bryan Reed
6) David Brannon
7) Steve Garner
8) Mike Grissom
9) Bob Jarrett
10) Tommy Davis

Tommy Davis became the first defending class champion to pick up a feature win in 2001 by taking the measure of Larry Landers and Donald Davis. Mike Johnson was fourth ahead of Clyde Bruce. Tommy Davis and last week’s feature winner, Jaybird Marlin were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Tommy Davis
2) Larry Landers
3) Donald Davis
4) Mike Johnson
5) Clyde Bruce
6) Dean Travis
7) Jay George
8) Tami George
9) Ken Keiser
10) David Marlin

In the Outlaw Pony division last years defending Champion Steve Kennedy joined Tommy Davis as defending champions that picked up their first victory of 2001. Keith Layne had a great run to nab the Place position with Shannon Hickerson in the show spot. Ricky Brown and Tommy Taylor were fourth and fifth. Blake Carter and Kennedy were the heat race victors.
Outlaw Pony
1) Steve Kennedy
2) Keith Layne
3) Shannon Hickerson
4) Ricky Brown
5) Tommy Taylor
6) Billy Polston
7) Jason Averitt
8) Tommy Johnson
9) Michael Ashworth
10) Bo Owens

The Pure Pony division was overflowing with racers but when the dust settled, Anthony Seibers topped heat winners, Stanley James, Billy Davidson and Michael Chumbly for the feature win. Doug Chumbley finished fifth.
Pure Pony
1) Anthony Seibers
2) Stanley James
3) Billy Davidson
4) Michael Chumbley
5) Doug Chumbley
6) Johnny Crowell
7) Dudley Rogers
8) Shane Hooper
9) Chuck Bates
10) David Wallace

In the Rookie Pony division, Andy Rogers just missed a trip to victory lane last week when he finished second. Close is good in horseshoes but to a racer it’s not the result these competitors desire. Well this week. Andy picked up the feature win besting Joshua Nichols and Charles Brewer. Gary Reed and Clay Lawrence were the heat race winners
Rookie Mini Stocks
1) Andy Rogers
2) Joshua Nichols
3) Charles Brewer

Dennis Bowling
4441 Lynchburg Road
Winchester, Tennessee
(931) 967-0047 (home)

Back to the Archives